We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but a little dated and tired” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice but a little dated and tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The first night we arrived we met the most incredible desk person I did not catch her name but she was so much fun we looked forward to our return. The breakfast was always nice. Hot and plenty to eat. The property though felt tired though. You almost felt sorry for the elevator. It was so slow thatit was quicker to walk down the hall and up the stairs!The whirlpool was so cool it was not enjoyable. Overall it was clean and a decent place to stay, but you won't fall in love with it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pichinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Fairfield Inn and Suites-Baton Rouge South! It was truly a pleasure having you as our guests. I appreciate you bringing the elevator and spa issue to our attention; we recently had our local vendors repair the problems to increase our guests’ satisfaction. Your business and concerns are important to my team and me so thank you for the polite and honest review. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Thank you,
Jessica Mitchell-General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
21
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
461 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel has recently been renovated and the rooms are nice and clean. Exercise room is typical for this brand of hotel and there is an indoor pool for the kids. Breakfast was "full" and tasted fine. The person who checked me in was not having a good day and a smile would have been appreciated after a long drive but I can over look that. Everyone one else was friendly, including the gentlemen taking care of breakfast in the morning. Will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: I always get a room on the top floor facing west due to noise from the street and I-10 that is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bandman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review about your experience while staying at the Fairfield Inn and Suites-Baton Rouge, La. I deeply apologize for your unpleasant check in experience and will address the importance of making a GREAT first impression to our guests when they arrive to the hotel with my front desk staff.
It was a pleasure to read that the rest of your experiences during your stay were more pleasant. We will be honored have you as our guest again during a future travel to the Baton Rouge area.

Thank you for being our Guest
Jessica Mitchell-General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent one night in Baton Rouge en route to New Orleans and stumbled across this place. It was cheaper that some really awful motels we had stayed in and it was a hundred times better. The whole hotel was ultra modern and really clean.

The reception staff were really helpful and friendly and when we couldn't work the phone in our room, allowed us to may a long distance call from reception free of charge.

We had a free hot breakfast the following day and the choice and range was very good. Although we didn't see much of the city, the hotel was close to local amenities.

I would recommend this place to other Baton Rouge vistors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrksBefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We chose this hotel through priceline and got a decent deal. The hotel was clean and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
I found the rooms, even though we were in a "suite" very choppy and small feeling. The vanity area was so small only one person could fit there at a time. The bedroom "area" felt small and crowded. The breakfast was not good at all and again because the space was oddly designed it felt small and each morning we were there it was very crowded and hard to get your food. We left and ate somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Smoke free but nice shaded picnic tables on the side of the building and outside the indoor pool on the outside patio you can smoke. Very nice clean hotel. Serive was exceptional. 7 miles from blue bayou.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyannmadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The front desk staff was nice. The rooms were clean, but walls are very thin, and you can hear your neighbors. The hotel has an indoor pool and a small patio area outside. I couldn't stand being in the pool area - the chlorine smell was so strong, it was hard to breathe. The complimentary breakfast was nice with a good variety of options. The low rate was nice too, but I would probably spend a few extra bucks and stay somewhere with an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
749 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed overnight heading to New Orleans. The price was great for the room. The hotel had the best water pressure for the shower and a top notch hair dryer that you normally see in the Ritz Carlton. The hotel offered a hot breakfast that was good. Overall a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank French S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Baton Rouge/I-10
Hyatt Place Baton Rouge/I-10
#15 of 77 in Baton Rouge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Baton Rouge
Wyndham Garden Baton Rouge
#22 of 77 in Baton Rouge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South
Address: 7959 Essen Park Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated on 1/29/13 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel Baton Rouge
Fairfield Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing