We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel
Ranked #67 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Schriever, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight so he could go to a concert at The Varsity Theater. The Belle is about 2 miles from the Varsity, so we chose it for its convenient location. I booked online, so the room was $50 cheaper than if I booked it over the phone directly with the hotel. So if you do stay here, book online. Check-in time was 3:00. We literally got there at 2:52 and they would not let us check in. So we stayed in our car in the 98 degree heat, along with other people in their cars, and waited. The workers outside for valet parking and helping organize the chaos of cars pulling up to check-in were very nice. There is no parking lot that you can access in the front of the hotel while you are checking in, so you are basically waiting in line on the street. Very strange and I was afraid my car would be crashed into at any moment. Check-in went smoothly and there is a gated parking lot in the back of the hotel for guests. I did like that it was gated because the area didn't seem at all safe. Our room was small, but clean. There were fresh clean towels in the bathroom and the bed had what appeared to be relatively new sheets on it. The bed and pillows were comfy and the air conditioner kept us cool. The only complaint about the room was there was a chair that had a very odd smell. I don't know if it was some sort of disinfectant or what, but I smelled it immediately upon entering the room. There was no guest binder with attractions, restaurants, hotel accommodations, etc. We phoned the front desk and told there was no room service available. We had a long walk back to our car every time we left, and I didn't feel safe at any time. We took a little walk around to see if there were any restaurants in the hotel, considering it is a casino as well. There are a couple of places to eat, but none of them were open. When we checked out the next morning, we received no receipt, no thank you, no nothing. When we asked for a receipt, we were told we could get it from the place where we booked it. So, you don't book over the phone, because who would pay $50 extra to book over the phone, there's no room service, you don't print receipts...exactly what do you do as you're sitting there at the front desk? I guess there aren't any serious complaints, but I did not feel safe there and we ended up leaving around 8:00 the next morning. I will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    59
    96
    109
    134
See reviews for
72
74
35
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel bid for this soccer event. Front desk staff unprofessional and unfriendly. Rooms ok because we were in 10th floor. Security and staff harassed kids continuously. Would say one thing, next minute different answer or rule. Instead of increasing your rates $60 /night you
should have improved your staff so that they understood customer service. The evening supervisor was so unprofessional it was ridiculous. The pool closed at least 2-3 times a day. The only good thing about this place was the housekeeping staff and support staff throughout hotel. I don't understand a hotel bidding for an event when they clearly showed that they did not want us there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baton Rouge hotels

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at the hotel June 11-15, 2014. We had excellent service. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel were very professional. I'd like to commend Ms. Gaynell and her staff on the excellent service we received as well as Ms. Muriel in housekeeping.

We had other guests with us who also stayed and commented on how good the service was. They made comment that their rooms were very clean and they had a beautiful view of the river and city.

The restaurant had excellent seafood and was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erick A, Owner at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thanks for the glowing review! We're thrilled that your stay was so enjoyable, and we will certainly pass you warm words on to all of the staff. We really appreciate you staying with us and hope to welcome you back very soon!

Take care,
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

The moment I walked in and to the check in counter Ms. Marion had a very unpleasant attitude. She spoke down to a lot of guest including me and just didn't act in a professional manner being that she is the "Supervisor". She literally stood over and micromanaged the two young ladies who worked front desk. I can tell Ms. Marion had been a security guard or cop or something just because of her disposition and the way she talked to people was literally unbearable. On top of that vh1 showed but no volume so disappointing being that it was a Monday night 6/23/ . On another note customer service was at an all time low on this visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Second night of a 4 night stay. We rented a suite, air conditioner broken in sitting room so now we have to keep that room locked off. They can't fix because of 2 floors flooding last night due to sprinkler system going off. That is completely understandable, but my closet is missing a door, no light bulbs in 2 of the lamps, a lamp shade missing, toilet will not stop running, burn holes in the carpet. Not to even MENTION the 4 inch cockroach that crawled across the bathroom floor in the restaurant downstairs. I would highly recommend staying somewhere else. Oh, and pool was closed yesterday. "Sorry for the inconvenience". Did I mention they can't locate a package I had mailed here?

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

When you walk into the hotel you feel like you are in a 4 star property. The beautiful atrium gives such a spectacular entry. The rooms were average. Slept good, got a hot shower and left in the morning. We were just driving through to our destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethintheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erick A, Owner at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanks for the compliments on our lobby. It's good to hear that we were able to give you a generally good stay during your road trip. That said, I wish our rooms would've done a better job of impressing you. If you have any comments on what could be better, we'd absolutely love to hear.

All the best,
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice hotel. Rooms clean and quiet with modest furnishings. Nice gift shop area serving free coffee in the mornings. Unfortunately the hours of operation most days seemed erratic and the restaurants didn't open during the weekdays/weeknights only on the weekends. The casino seemed really far to walk to and you needed to actually leave one building and go into another to get there. A few good restaurants in the area. U.S.S. Kidd museum within walking distance.

Room Tip: Get a room above the seventh floor otherwise the view kind of stinks if you are south facing highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#25 of 77 in Baton Rouge
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel

Property: Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel
Address: 103 France St, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-6208 (Formerly Sheraton Baton Rouge Convention Center Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Baton Rouge, our casino & hotel is the ideal place to stay & play. Exciting, fun gaming action 24/7! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Of Baton Rouge Hotel Baton Rouge
Belle Of Baton Rouge Casino And Hotel
Sheraton Baton Rouge Hotel
Baton Rouge Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing