We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel
Ranked #66 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Lexington, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lobby”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

When you walk into the hotel you feel like you are in a 4 star property. The beautiful atrium gives such a spectacular entry. The rooms were average. Slept good, got a hot shower and left in the morning. We were just driving through to our destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethintheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erick A, Owner at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanks for the compliments on our lobby. It's good to hear that we were able to give you a generally good stay during your road trip. That said, I wish our rooms would've done a better job of impressing you. If you have any comments on what could be better, we'd absolutely love to hear.

All the best,
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    58
    94
    108
    128
See reviews for
71
74
34
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice hotel. Rooms clean and quiet with modest furnishings. Nice gift shop area serving free coffee in the mornings. Unfortunately the hours of operation most days seemed erratic and the restaurants didn't open during the weekdays/weeknights only on the weekends. The casino seemed really far to walk to and you needed to actually leave one building and go into another to get there. A few good restaurants in the area. U.S.S. Kidd museum within walking distance.

Room Tip: Get a room above the seventh floor otherwise the view kind of stinks if you are south facing highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Property is in decline and security is loose at night: Here is what we found:

Mold around bathtub and floor level
Carpet throughout filthy
Staff untrained and not helpful
Late at night people are in the hotel roaming around that are not staying there
Restaurant buffet only and on Friday and Saturday only.
Small snackbar for coffee, candy etc free coffee in morning
Sit down restaurant is about 1200 feet walk from hotel and staff is untrained. (we asked the waitress if they had a certain type of beer and she said we should ask the bartender because she did not know)
We had military reunion at hotel and the bar was open on Friday and Saturday only. Otherwise go to restaurant or Casino

Room Tip: I would not stay there at any price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyjackxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baton Rouge hotels

Florida
Level Contributor
362 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Fortunately we did not stay here but just decided to visit the casino. Talk about dark and smoky smelling! You could tell that at one time this was a grand place to stay/visit. But it has seen it's day! The casino was one of the darkest I think I have ever been to! We parked in the wrong lot so we had quite a walk to the casino and it was a long quiet walk. We walked by one of the buffets but you could tell that it had not been used in some time. There was no one in site.
It is very sad because it looked like at one time this was a happening place but not any longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Attended a conference at this hotel, and was excited to stay at a casino hotel because of experiences I'd had at Tunica, MS and other locations.
My expectations were soon dashed completely by the condition of the hotel. The room did look good when we checked in (thumbs up on this), but the problems started the second day. There was only one housekeeper for the entire floor who went from the elevator to the other end of the floor cleaning the even number rooms and then returning in reverse cleaning the odd number rooms, ours was the next to last room cleaned each day which meant it was ready sometimes after 6:00 pm. (Four thumbs down on this item)
By that time on a couple of days they had ran out of clean fitted bottom sheets and put flat sheets on that weren't large enough to tuck in properly. So for two nights I slept with a sheet that wadded up under my butt each time I turned over. (Middle finger up on this!)
Then, Friday morning we decided to eat at the Atrium buffet, BAD MISTAKE! I’ve had better breakfasts at the Motel 6 and didn't have to pay $10. per person for it. Lesson learned on that one. (Two middle fingers up on this one)
The room itself was about average size with a huge old style flat screen TV but did have a comfortable office chair/desk combo and a separate wingback style chair with an ottoman. (Two thumbs up on seating)
Internet connection the first couple of days was spotty at best, afterwards it was depending where you sat in the room as to reception, (thumbs down on this)
The bathroom was so small that you couldn't shut the door without stepping between the toilet and vanity unless you weighed a 100 pounds or less and are known to your friends as "Skinny-mini," a grown person had to be a contortionist to accomplish this simple task. Of course if you’re by yourself then this is not a problem except to shower. (Thumbs down on this)
On the first day, I called the front desk and asked for an additional "Suitcase Jack." The front desk clerk said "A what?" After explaining that I wanted a stand put an additional suitcase on, the response was "I don't think we have any more of those." I asked that it be referred to housekeeping but never received one. I guess the one housekeeper per floor didn't have time for frivolous requests. (Two thumbs down on this!)
And then there are the trains, if you like being woke up at various hours by a freight train blowing an air horn that could be heard by Helen Keller or someone in Alaska, then you'll love this place. The engineer of the train is a real sadist in that he loves to push that horn button and wake everyone within a 10 mile radius up just because he is working the night shift. (Four thumbs down and four middle fingers up and waving at the train jockey)
Another problem was two elevators out of service a couple of days and one was out of service the entire stay. For the first three days it was hung at the top of the elevator shaft and made a continuous thump thump noise that resonated throughout the hotel wing. (Thumb down and middle finger up)
I was going to assign a one rating but am kicking it to two because of the seating and the desk.
Would I go back? Not if I were paying for the room! In the sense of full disclosure I stayed five nights of which the conference paid for three and I paid for two at the group rate. So, if you get a free room, by all means go, but if you’re paying retail price check other options.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

First, the staff was unfriendly. As someone out of state staying at the hotel that the event we attended recommended, our questions appeared to be a bother to the staff; at times they were just rude. No coffee pots in the rooms. Coffee was available only during certain hours only in the lobby - no considerations that some people are early birds and prefer their coffee before 6:30am. Rooms were not clean. But the thing that happened that caused us to state that this place is not a safe place to stay is upon returning to the hotel around 6pm after being out all day, we found our room propped opened with no staff in site. We never received any communications from the management of the hotel even with several requests. Their solutions were to tell us that this is procedure for the maids to leave the doors propped opened until the inspector comes through and to give us a free buffet. No one ever followed up with us even though we asked. And the buffet - don't waste your money. Very poor food. We will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I was here as a working airline crew member. There are NO coffee makers in the room. Which is odd since they have both a mini fridge and a microwave. When your transportation time to the airport is 0430 and you have no access to coffee, you can almost expect tragic results. When I posed this dilemma to the front desk, the response I received was, "coffee service in the lobby starts at 0630"

The rooms were clean and the bathroom acceptable. I have taken one meal in the restaurant and it was good. Service was slow and painful. I would never pay money to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estevanico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
0.4 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
7.1 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#15 of 77 in Baton Rouge
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel

Property: Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel
Address: 103 France St, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-6208 (Formerly Sheraton Baton Rouge Convention Center Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Baton Rouge, our casino & hotel is the ideal place to stay & play. Exciting, fun gaming action 24/7! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Of Baton Rouge Hotel Baton Rouge
Belle Of Baton Rouge Casino And Hotel
Sheraton Baton Rouge Hotel
Baton Rouge Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing