We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lowest quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel
Ranked #66 of 78 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel fails on so many levels. No coffee pot in the room (first for this business traveler), wake up call 30 minutes late, extremely slow service at the restaurant (even though not busy), bellman sent to wrong room despite repeated requests, overpriced buffet, incredibly loud "riff raff" clientele making noise in hallway all night.

The room and public areas look ok and some staff are nice, but it is not remotely worth the money they charge. Security, which was well-needed, did seem to be alert.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 436 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel needs to be kept up better with better casino and Buffet. LACKS THE STAR QUALITY IT ADVERTISES Staff was not very friendly or helpful. Pool not open. Room not what we. Booked. Just disappointed. But was located in Great area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriss W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here besides the negative reviews because of the proximity to the convention center for an weekend event we were attending. Room was adequate the bed being comfortable, AC workable. The bathroom was extremely small and tight. There is no microwave or mini refrig so take out food or preserving leftovers or keeping things cold was out of the question. The floor we were on had a broken ice machine so you had to go to two floors up to find a working machine. The hotel is apart of the Belle of Baton Rouge Casino and thus there are a couple of eateries available, however the food was just ok and over priced. In fact the buffet had limited hours. The Hotel itself is in dire need of updating. The carpet, walls, drapes, furniture are extremely outdated. There are parts of hallways that have musty/ mildew/ dirty smells. The swimming pool is NOT covered as in the pictures and in fact is a age 18 only allowed swim. The location is easy access from I-10. Overall the rooms and hotel are not represented by the overall look that you see from the beautiful open atrium that you go in to check in. Overall would not stay again unless it has been completely taken over by new ownership and completely redone.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The staff is great and our room is very nice but we spent 2 hours in the casino and never saw a waitress. I asked twice for a waitress but we never even saw ONE. Our guess is this casino has been sold and/or will be moving. Too bad. The location is great!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

If the only room available in Baton Rouge is here, then just keep traveling!!! We stayed here because of the proximity to the convention center, as it is recommended on their web site. Don't be fooled. This place is pitiful. The first hint should have been when the bellman did not even help us with our luggage. The staff was not friendly and acted as though it were an imposition that we were there. My room had cigarette burns on the carpet as well as on the bedside table even though there were signs everywhere saying "No Smoking!" Coffee was not to be found early. There were no coffee makers in the rooms, as I'm sure they were stolen by the hoodlums who stayed there previously. The only thing worse than the hotel was the restaurant. There we encountered some of the worst service and food I have ever had. I'm sure that the biscuit that I was served came from the pyramids of Egypt. It was as hard as stone and probably could have been at least 2000 years old! Run, don't walk away from this place!!!!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Clarksvilleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed there because it is right by the convention center, at which we would be attending an event this weekend. The room was clean, but there are absolutely no amenties available. Even thought the advertisement said that you could reserve a small refrigerator, at an extra expense, there were non available when we got there. There was also no breakfast available, and no coffee pots in the rooms. There was a restaurant a ways down, but they did not have much to offer. We were not very satisfied with our experience. I would not stay there again and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24zenhen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you are planning a special party event, bachelor or bachelorette party, birthday or anniversary (etc.) with a group of people, this is your place for ADULT FUN, days and nights of gambling, drinking and general merriment! This is NOT a place for children!!!! BUT, if you are just there to stay @ the hotel with your children and have plans elsewhere in town, it would be perfectly fine. The hotel lobby is phenomenal - open space atrium with plants and sitting lounges/sofas (one with a TV, which we stayed a while to catch up on the news of the day and to sip on our coffees, even though there was a TV in the room). It is true that there is NOT a coffee pot in the rooms, but there is a perfectly adequate dining area in the atrium, with coffee. We also stayed for the champagne brunch the next day which was OK (with a live piano player who was very good and not intrusive at all). We were driving home, so we did not partake in any champagne, but other diners seemed to be enjoying the libations (a LOT of folks were dressed in their Sunday best, since it was a Sunday). It was quite pleasant and relaxing. There was also another little pub and grub within the hotel, but we did not participate, but other guests seemed to be enjoying the atmosphere and food. The casino is smoky, small (cozy), dirty and crowded, just perfect for some late night celebrations (which is exactly what we did!). There also was a small food stand in the back of the second floor (??, maybe the third floor) for a late night drunken snack if necessary. We had a fun-filled late night with gambling, drinking, vocalizing and socializing! Just what we had planned! The only aesthetically pleasing location was the atrium (which is huge). Parking was fine, well lit and felt safe (check in first and get a room key, because you'll need the key to access the private parking). We walked past the pool, which was VERY small, and "closed for maintenance," (Really? On a holiday Saturday night? Otherwise, we would have taken a dip, but never got the chance. Probably would have been too crowded anyway, since it is a large hotel and it was tiny). The room was comfortable and clean (but not quiet), but perfectly all right (ask for extra towels, only one per guest, for our room anyway). Service staff was adequate enough, no complaints in this department. VERY EASY to get to and from the freeway, just follow the signs, there and back. Again, leave your children with grandma and grandpa and go and have a good time!!!!

Room Tip: My friend had stayed there before and she said to choose a room on the highest floor, more private a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge Downtown
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#25 of 78 in Baton Rouge
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
0.4 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel

Address: 103 France St, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-6208 (Formerly Sheraton Baton Rouge Convention Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 78 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range: $72 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Baton Rouge, our casino & hotel is the ideal place to stay & play. Exciting, fun gaming action 24/7! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Of Baton Rouge Hotel Baton Rouge
Belle Of Baton Rouge Casino And Hotel
Sheraton Baton Rouge Hotel
Baton Rouge Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing