We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I used to stay here a lot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I first stayed at this Sheraton right after they had opened and liked it so much, I continued to stay here. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the food in the restaurant was always good. On my last trip through, I could not say the same thing. The room was not very clean, especially the bathroom which had long black hairs in the tub. The bed felt like maybe it needed to be retired and overall, it just felt well used, which would be a good thing, but it seems the tempo and the upkeep are not in line with each other. I am not sure I will be back.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleofBR, Marketing at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

GoodFood88,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience in this past August. We have done several renovations and would love for you to come back and stay with us. We hope your next visit at the Belle will be positive and leave you wanting to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 448 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a really strange hotel, especially with the public areas. You walk into a vast lobby with a ridiculously high glass ceiling which serve no purpose at all. The receptionist was very blunt but we did get check in quickly. The room is basic with nothing special but does serve a purpose if you are just looking for something to lay your head down for a night. We did wander around the hotel but it just does not make sense and feel a bit like someone stuck a hotel in the middle of what is intending to be a theme park. We did not go to the casino but note that it is a little walk as it is located on an old steamboat on the river (something to do with the laws in Louisianna).

The barman gave us some great recommendations of places to eat outside of the hotel which I am glad we did so our trip through Baton Rouge was not totally bland. If I were to return to Baton Rouge I would spend more time researching something with a little more character.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleofBR, Marketing at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

IntrepidMe,

We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay at the Belle. We have done several renovations since your stay and would love for you to come back and stay with us again. We are happy to hear you were guided to restaurants by a Belle employee, and hope your stay in Baton Rouge will be even better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I paid for two nights with a credit card for Dec. 27 & Dec 28 2012 to attend the Bayou Duals High School Wrestling at the Baton Rouge River Center. I paid a total of $310 plus for a two night stay.
Upon check in I noticed that the girl swiped my credit card even though the room was paid for already.
Upon returning from the 1st day of the Wrestling Tournament at 5 PM my room had not even been cleaned. I saw a Housekeeping employee and requested cleaning service which I never received. I stayed in room 801 and there was a noise that sounded like a cart being rolled on the floor in the room above me. Also the north wind was blowing very hard and the window A/C & Heating unit was making a whistling noise which meant that I would not get any sleep.
I decided to check out early and then up[on arriving at home I check my bank account and found that at check-in the girl charged me an additional $50.00. I have no idea what this $50.00 charge is and I plan to call the hotel to request a refund!
I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL AT ALL. It was very cold and damp in the lobby and the room was very old and needs updating. The bathroom door was damaged up[on check in.
I plan to stay anywhere but the Belle of Baton Rouge!

Room Tip: No rooms are worth staying in in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelleofBR, Marketing at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

John G.,

We apologize for your negative experience with us. We hope you decide to give us another try and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Security is horrible at the casino. Locals wacth tourists and wait for oppornities to steal winnings. Although the casino has cameras nothing is done to prevent it. I suggest tourist try other casinos where they are safe and secure. Apparently locals are aware that they are allowed to get away with sealing from tourist.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank mamajo571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to the Buffet on Friday, that was a joke. The buffet was horrible, crab legs tasted like they were boiled in salt water, The person carving the prime rib didn't know how to curve it, gave me the top with all the seasoning on it. The salad dressing tasted spoiled. I witness one lady bring her nasty plate she had eaten off of back to the buffet to get more tilopia & touch the spoon to her nasty plate. That is unsanitary. You have to get your own driks, which I think is rediculous after paying $20 for a buffet. Some of the food on the buffet looked like it had been there for days. No one came by to pick up the dirty plates, you just stack them up on your table. The silverware was nasty & the staff looked nasty. I work in the catering business & this place just doesn't look clean at all. The whole experience was horrible. The board of health needs to go there & check it out. I would not recommend anyone to eat there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Felt very leary based on the reviews, but chose to stay here anyway based on the location. Very convenient short walk to the National Bowling tournament. We had a room with a king bed. The room was just OK.....but not the quality you would expect for the price! The buffet breakfast was included in the price. We ate there two mornings, one morning they were out of milk and the other morning they were out of orange juice.....not sure how this happens! This hotel is very overpriced for the room quality and the food quality. Would not choose this hotel.....only did based on location. I did use the pool outdoor pool and it was very enjoyable.


Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank ddnagshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Hotel stay only - there for a conference so location was OK, not great. Older refurbished hotel, but very adequate. Service from the staff was a highlight of the staff - very professional, went out if their way to make sure we had what we needed. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrbdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#27 of 77 in Baton Rouge
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge Downtown
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Baton Rouge - College Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#17 of 77 in Baton Rouge
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel

Address: 103 France St, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-6208 (Formerly Sheraton Baton Rouge Convention Center Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range: $78 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Baton Rouge, our casino & hotel is the ideal place to stay & play. Exciting, fun gaming action 24/7! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Of Baton Rouge Hotel Baton Rouge
Belle Of Baton Rouge Casino And Hotel
Sheraton Baton Rouge Hotel
Baton Rouge Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing