We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“best in baton rouge!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“best in baton rouge!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

very stylish, brand new hotel.
Quiet rooms, far enough from the interstate to not hear it which is rare for baton rouge!
far from downtown, but near the mall of louisiana and tons of places to eat
highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We are in a great location like you pointed out and our partners at the Mall of Louisiana and Perkins Rowe keep our guests very active. We appreciate the feedback you have posted and hope that we see you on your next visit! Happy Travels!

All My Best,
Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    118
    35
    24
    13
See reviews for
119
79
7
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night one business. The hotel is new, updated, and very comfortable. The lobby is cool, the rooms very nice and comfortable and the bar/restaurant are very good. The bed is comfortable and the linens are high quality. My only miss would be the prices in the restaurant. It good, but Ii don't know if its THAT good. Still a nice place. Would definitely stay again. Certainly the nicest hotel in BR.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islander_66_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at this property January 18-20th,we were in town for our son's sporting event. Hotel was very nice, staff was great and the room was very nice. We accidentally left our laptop at the hotel and did not realize it until we were back in Houston. Called the hotel, staff assured me they would find it if it was there. A day later, I received a phone call that they had found it was shipped back the next day...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are so very glad we found your lost belongings and that you received them in time! Thank you so much for staying with us and posting your review. We hope your son was victorious at his sporting event as well! We hope to see you back very soon in Baton Rouge!

All My Best,
Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the ease of check in and beauty of the hotel. Rooms are lovely and quiet. Bed is luxurious!!
No fridge or microwave in the room but when requested, staff brought them up, quickly.
Room service was hot and delicious. Worth the price. This hotel is next to 2 great shopping areas- mall of Louisiana and further down Bluebonnet- great restaurants and another smaller shopping center w a movie theatre!
Caveat: why would your hotel not offer free wireless in the room? Seems silly and cheap given your name!

Room Tip: Low floors, away from elevators were quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mng1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are so very pleased that you enjoyed multiple amenities here at the Renaissance in Baton Rouge. We are happy to see that everything was to your satisfaction and we hope that you got to do some excellent shopping while you were here. The internet issue continues to be something that many bring up to us. We are addressing it internally but appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much again for the positive review and we hope that you visit us again very soon!

All My Best,
Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel was amazing! Everyone from the front desk to the bell staff and the restaurant servers were incredibly accommodating and pleasant. Whenever I needed a taxi, one was promptly called and arrived within minutes. The food was probably the best I've ever had in a hotel and better than the actual "authentic" Louisiana restaurants I visited.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the review of our staff and our indigenous cuisine. It is great to hear that our staff was friendly and accomodating and that we may have won you over in the food department. Our Chef Andy Papson has worked in the New Orleans/Baton Rouge area for many years and has designed many culinary treats with the most wonderful southern flair. Our wonderful state of Lousiana prides itself on the amazing quality of food from home kitchens to the many restaurants and bars so we are very honored at your comment. We hope you come to visit us again soon and thank you again!

All My Best,
Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Watch out for incidentals put on your credit/debit card. They charge $48.16 per night to your card and reservations doesn't tell you about the additional charges. Then they charge you for a bottle of water in the room (which isn't labeled as a charge). They try to make things right when they get caught. However, the bank want reverse charges for 3-5 business days. For two nights they charge you $419.70 for a room which is $119.48. The food is expensive too. A simple breakfast is $20.84: eggs, bread, juice, milk/coffee, potatoes, sausage/bacon. The good things are the room is nice, the bed sleeps well, They've got those things that you might forget. They do give you another pillow if you are allergic to feathers. They do put a refrigerator in your room (free). They try to accomodate you, but forget to look at the comments. I'm on a gluten-free diet and told them. They try to use excuses about not seeing the additional comments.

Room Tip: All rooms are great as fas noise goes. They could have a party next door and you wouldn't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ksandifer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are sincerely apologetic about the issues you experienced here at the hotel. We take these items very seriously and try to inform every guest about our process regarding method of payment upon check in and assist with the details they provide us in the reservation process. We apologize that you were not made aware but want you to know that the amount that we hold for any purchase of incidentals is only authorized and not used until the items are posted. We are so very glad you enjoyed the room and you were taken care of in regards to your allergies. We hope you choose to stay again with us in the near future and again our apologies for the miscommunication!

All My Best,
Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very nice hotel. Paid for 3 rooms for 4 nights. Looks new. Friendly staff. Concierge lounge adequate. Exercise room adequate. However... we attended a wedding reception where we, and 2 other quests had cell phones missing (stolen?) late in the evening when only close family was left in the room plus the cleanup help. A manager offered to question the help (a lot of good that would have done). We should have called the police. They really need to do a better job screening the help.

So, if you use this hotel, and attend a function, keep you valuables locked up in your room. Nuf said.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPeter_144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We would really appreciate you contacting us directly at your convenience to discuss the issue you have mentioned in your review. We are very apologetic that you encountered this experience in the hotel and take issues like this very seriously. Thank you for the very nice words regarding the rest of the amenities but we understand the enormity of the situation and would like to address in person. Thank you!

Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
hm@renaissancebatonrouge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
4.5 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#11 of 72 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
7.1 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
1.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
7.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel

Property: Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Address: 7000 Bluebonnet Blvd, Baton Rouge, LA 70810-1619
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury destination in the Louisiana Capitol, the Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel is ideally located near Louisiana State University, the Mall of Louisiana, and Perkin's Row. Experience the upside of everything as our Renaissance hotel puts you in close proximity to all attractions, businesses and entertainment that Baton Rouge has to offer. You're aware of it the moment you walk through the entrance doors of this breathtaking Baton Rouge hotel with a captivating environment that engages your senses and arouses your curiosity. Design-forward interiors, alive with irresistibly inviting details at every turn including intriguing discoveries presenting fresh twists and unexpected takes on the region's flavor, charm, and culture. Taking in the panorama of wonderful sights, scents, and sounds before you, there's no mistaking the fact that you've arrived at a truly one-of-a kind place. After all, this is no ordinary hotel - This is the Baton Rouge standard for style and comfort in upscale hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing