We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in baton rouge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in baton rouge”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Excellent facilities, bar, dinner, gym. Very comfortable stay, staff is in it's toe all the time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKSglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear RKSglobetrotter,

Thank you for the great review! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Peter J Dunn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    128
    36
    26
    14
See reviews for
126
88
8
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and two teenage daughters stayed over the Christmas holiday for two nights. We were in town visiting friends. The hotel is brand new- decor is upscale and beautiful- modern and inviting. The rooms are very large and plush. We were always happy to return to our luxurious beds at the end of each day. The rooms are so reasonably priced, we ended up booking two rooms upon arrival rather than our one booked suite. Staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. Pool and bar areas are nice- guests were out by the pool even in December. As another reviewer mentioned, they did consider the occupancy too low to set up the breakfast buffet. I did book rooms that included breakfast. They gave us the option to change our rate or order right off the breakfast menu for four. The food was excellent and a good value. We thought the service was excellent at the restaurant as well. All in all, we were extremely satisfied.

Room Tip: City view- nice sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allisonsavvytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Allisonsavvytraveler,

Thank you for the kind review and the mention of the friendliness of our staff.

Please make sure to include us in your plans from next Christmas if you are back in town!

Sincerely,

Peter J Dunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The decor from the second you walk in the front door of this hotel is upscale cosmopolitan. Very well done, with pinks, whites, greens... The lobby is one of the nicest I have seen in a long time (and i spend a ton of time on the road). I was given a suite with also had the same upscale cosmo vibe going on with sliding barn style doors going into the bathroom, a wall of french/cajun words and definitions, white leather tuffed head board and modern lighting. There were Aveda bath products but lacked the little container of extra's i have come to expect, ie, cotton balls, Q-tips etc. The towels were of good quality and the duvet's were very warm, in fact so warm that i needed the thermestate of the room to go lower than the traditional 65 degrees during the night. The furniture choice in the living room area was, to me, a little odd. There was a sectional facing the doors going into the bathroom with a large TV off to the left which made it impossible to view from the couch. I would have placed a loveseat or couch on the bedroom wall facing the TV with an occational chair creating a seating group. Oh well, nobody asked me to decorate when they opened the hotel, although I think they should have!

The food in the only restaurant was very good. I had lunch and dinner there on different days. Both were outstanding.

I did, however, have issue with the concierge breakfast. The coffee creamer that I enjoy empty after I took the last 2 in the bowl and there were no spoons to be found in order to eat my oatmeal. After searching in all of the cupboards, i ended up taking the spoon meant for spooning brown sugar onto the oatmeal. Ewwww. I would have loved a second cup of coffee but alas the whole time i was eating nobody showed up for me to ask for more creamer. I ended up giving up and simply leaving. My last morning i missed the breakfast all together as it shut down at 9:30 (not 10 as I traditionally experience).

The staff at the front desk and bar were extremely friendly.

I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNConstanttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear TNconstanttraveler,

Thank you for the review. I am thrilled that you find lobby one of the nicest you have seen in a long time! My apologies about the concierge breakfast, definitely not what we planned for. We will correct those issues immediately!

Come back and visit us soon!

Sincerely,

Peter J Dunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed five nights at this amazing hotel. First, the transformation from a vacant building to this stunning architecture should be praised. Secondly, the service in every capacity aimed to make sure our stay was warm. Sure they are just getting started but I see only success with this new additon to beautiful Baton Rouge and lively Bluebonnet! Caongratulations!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for the great review!! Hopefull,y this is an annual visit for you and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

Peter J. Dunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

New hotel,but friendly staff, great rooms, great food, and we will return. Not too pricey

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pastortop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Pastortop,

Thank you for the nice review....please come back and see us again!!

Peter J Dunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting relatives in Baton Rouge. We paid for the "concierge room" price which their web page says includes access to the concierge lounge in the evenings and breakfast in the mornings. When we arrived, we were told that due to "low occupancy", the concierge lounge is not open at all this week. Then the girl at the front desk gives us a breakfast ticket for the breakfast buffet in the Tallulah restaurant instead. When we got to the restaurant in the morning, we are informed that there is no breakfast buffet due to "low occupancy" and that we can order off of the menu. After being seated, we ordered coffee and water which never arrived. I waved the woman over to our table and she says that the guy she told to bring beverages to our table, evidently brought them to the table of people who came in after us. Then when I ordered an omelette with mushrooms and spinach, after a long wait, a waiter brings an omelette with ham and spinach. I asked the woman, who turned out to be the restaurant manager, why is this place so inefficient, she said she did not know. This hotel owes us a huge refund because they do not know what they are doing and are offering things on their web site that they cannot provide. Oh, and the carpet is hideous in the hallways between guest rooms.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Aline L,

I am sorry to learn of your displeasure with your recent stay at the Renaissance Baton Rouge.

The decision to close certain services such as the Concierge Lounge is predicated on the anticipated level of business. However, when the decision is made to close such services, we always make plans to offer alternate services so that our guests receive the value of the service they purchased. It appears that we did provide you with complimentary breakfast and you should have also received coupons for complimentary appetizers in our bar, both of which you would have received in the Concierge Lounge.

I would be welcome you call to discuss your stay in greater detail, please call me at 225-215-7000 at your convenience.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Peter J. Dunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed at this new hotel over Thanksgiving weekend (in Baton Rouge to visit family). Brand new nice comfortable rooms. Easy check-in with close parking. Rooms are equipped with white comforters and lots of pillows ( following "W" hotel trend) Nice flat screen television and well appointed bath. Ceilings felt a little low (believe this building was originally built to be bible college dorm) . All in all rooms very nice.

Service could have been better. Ordered room service one morning and took over an hour to receive food that was just cereal and pot of coffee. Had to call numerous times before order was finally delivered. Also had to call twice for towels. Housekeeping insisted on just putting 2 towels rather than 4 in our room each day.

In summary, a nice business or weekend (lsu game) hotel. It just seems like some of the kinks (service) have not been worked out since it is such a new property. However, Baton Rouge should be thankful that this hotel has opened due to the shortage of nice ones in this city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Captain Texas,

Thank you for the review. We are working diligently to get those 'kinks' worked out! COme back and visit.

Sincerely,

Peter J Dunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
7.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
4.5 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#15 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel

Property: Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Address: 7000 Bluebonnet Blvd, Baton Rouge, LA 70810-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury destination in the Louisiana Capitol, the Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel is ideally located near Louisiana State University, the Mall of Louisiana, and Perkin's Row. Experience the upside of everything as our Renaissance hotel puts you in close proximity to all attractions, businesses and entertainment that Baton Rouge has to offer. You're aware of it the moment you walk through the entrance doors of this breathtaking Baton Rouge hotel with a captivating environment that engages your senses and arouses your curiosity. Design-forward interiors, alive with irresistibly inviting details at every turn including intriguing discoveries presenting fresh twists and unexpected takes on the region's flavor, charm, and culture. Taking in the panorama of wonderful sights, scents, and sounds before you, there's no mistaking the fact that you've arrived at a truly one-of-a kind place. After all, this is no ordinary hotel - This is the Baton Rouge standard for style and comfort in upscale hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing