We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I am a person that comes to Baton Rouge almost monthly... I am also a person that takes shots on a daily basis & it must be refrigerated. We arrived & the 1st thing the front desk told me was that it was a $25 charge to have a fridge in your room. We left.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathiandrepont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Kathiandrepont,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you wear disappointed with the refrigerator charge as we do value your stays with us monthly. We certainly hope you look past the minor inconvenience and hopefully we can rectify this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    114
    24
    10
    13
See reviews for
56
107
13
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Nice Hotel in Downtown Baton Rouge. Convenient to all of Downtown, LSU, and indeed, the whole city (as long as you travel the opposite of rush hour to downtown). The rooms are a bit small with 3 or more people, but fine for 1 or 2. They are extremely clean: nice beds with cloud like comforters and pillows. Downstairs, the bar is good, but there are many local bars and restaurants very near the hotel. Parking is easy in the garage next door, or make use of "Wild Bill", the nicest, most efficient, and informative Valet. (Only took 1 day for him to learn my name and car.) BTW, there can be excellent live music in the parks near the hotel on weekend evenings.

Room Tip: South side rooms can be noisy when the trash is emptied across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Michael A,
Thank you for your informative review of our hotel. We are grateful that you had a great stay and we hope that you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Staff is excellent. Clean and very well maintained. I always try to stay here when in downtown Baton Rouge. The bar has a good selection to chose from and there always seems to be friendly folks down there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAN_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear EAN_Diver,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We would like to thank you for making it a priority to stay with us during your trips to Baton Rouge. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Indigo on January 19th during a very busy weekend in Baton Rouge. We were warmly greeted by the valet and to our surprise given a great "option" of parking around the corner for $ 3.00 per night. I'm from Chicago and you can't park a minute for $ 3.00 ! The front desk was busy but efficient and professionally friendly. The room was not large, but nicely appointed. The beds were very comfortable. If you find yourself looking for a place to stay in downtown Baton Rouge, you will be satisfied with the Indigo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sturwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Sturwold,
Thank you for sharing your thought of our hotel by writing a review of our hotel. We hear at Hotel Indigo Downtown Baton Rouge are delighted that you had a pleasant experience during your stay and we hope that you stay with us again during your next stay in the Baton Rouge area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We came for a annual Mardi Gra Ball and the hotel couldnt be nicer.. The staff was very friendly including the friendly car valet,,.Our room was perfect and the bartenders great...It is located with some great restuarant near by if needed but the hotel does have a place to eat.. We didnt try..
Yes we would come back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ragusecastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear ragusecastro,
Thank you for staying with us during your Mardi Gras vacation. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay. We hope that you stay with us again during your next visit to the Baton Rouge area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
638 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

There are approximately 30 Hotel Indigo brand hotels in the US, China, and Canada which are part of the large InterContinental Hotels Group corporation who also owns such brands such as Crowne Plaza and Holiday Inn. Thus, frequent travelers can earn Priority Club Rewards points by staying here. While I enjoyed my stay here in Baton Rouge, I still view the experience more as "boutique-like" than "boutique." I stayed in a standard Guest Room in a north facing 5th floor room. Liked the best: very helpful, friendly, staff; the spa-like walk-in shower with strong water pressure; bedroom decor; and the room heating system. Not my taste or preference: wood flooring (small rug at foot of beds); small size of room; small desk for work; color scheme and "metal" decor in bathroom; lack of a comfortable chair for watching TV (couldn't fit anyway due to small size of room). There is one chair, but it's for the desk. A note on the staff: everyone I met was extremely professional and genuinely friendly. They all made an impression that was positively noticeable. The area around the hotel is interesting and nice to walk around. There are a few bars and restaurants in the area; but not a wide variety of options. The hotel has pet-friendly rooms; offers bicycles for rent; valet parking at $16/day; easy to find exiting off I-110. In my opinion, the outside architecture is non-descript; looks like a government office building. Then again, it is located in the capital city of Louisiana!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keystone_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Keystone_Traveler,
Thank you for your informative review. We really do appreciate you for taking out the time to review our hotel. We certainly hope that you had a great experience here at Hotel Indigo Downtown Baton Rouge. Hope to see you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Ala.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a boutique hotel without the boutique price. The property sparkled, the rooms were compact and clean and the large bathrooms were luxurious. There are even free bicycles in the lobby for guests who want to tour downtown! Never got the free WiFi to work, though it could have been the iPhones and iPads we were using.

To me, valet parking was a negative--I would rather spend the $16/day on something else. There is a self-parking available nearby, but don't expect to get your car if you need it before 8 a.m.

When we came to breakfast one morning, we were outnumbered by kitchen staff sitting in the restaurant, leaving us with the impression we were interrupting something. Being asked, "May I help you?" rather than "Would you prefer a table by the window?" confirmed that.

There are a number of restaurants nearby if you choose to venture out instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YankeeEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis G, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear YankeeEagle,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Your inconvenience with our breakfast services has been brought to our attention and it has been noted. We will make sure to improve on our services. We hope than you had an overall great experience besides this and we hope you stay with us again during your next visit to the Baton Rouge area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
7.1 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#8 of 77 in Baton Rouge
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront

Property: Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
Address: 200 Convention St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown-Riverfront is located in the heart of Downtown Baton Rouge overlooking the Mississippi River. The Hotel is steps away from many local attractions including the Historic Old State Capitol, Riverfront Convention Center, Shaw Center for the Arts, and just one block from the entertainment of Third St. The Hotel is minutes away from Baton Rouge shopping including the Mall of LA, Towne Center at Cedar Lodge and Perkins Rowe of Bluebonnet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing