We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed Twice Now....Getting Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stayed Twice Now....Getting Better”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Having now stayed twice at the Indigo, two weeks apart, I agree with others that this is a contemporary European-eqsue hotel - smallish but stylish rooms throughout with larger Priority Club "executive" rooms on the 7th floor. The people are very nice. The food is not great -- no surprise but again, doesn't matter much - it's Baton Rouge, but they should at least have decent bar food (no fries available??) because the bar is indeed hopping at times.

The challenge here is that there are surprising things that people who run hospitality businesses should be paying attention to, and not after the fact. The physical plant works fine - but the filters hang out of the air conditioners visibly onto the floor. The desk in my room was cheap veneer on the second stay (no matter at all) -- had end pieces split off and hanging. When reported, timely "repair" occurred and I had a beer on the house. The first time I stayed, though, I had hair in my sink, no bathmat and trash from prior occupant.

Both the management and staff are very attentive and very nice folk.
Hmmm....I really wonder if some part of this Indigo's business is outsourced to a third party and they are the reason for ongoing challenges...just a thought.

I guess the real surprise is that this Indigo, the chain is part of the Intercontinental chain that includes Holiday Inns, seems closer to a Holiday Inn versus the Intercontinental end of the spectrum.

I can't give a Very Good rating here yet, but we shall see.

Room Tip: Join the Priority Club and see if an executive room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Russ K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I'm glad to hear our staff was friendly and attentive during your stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I’m very disappointed to hear about your room cleanliness on your prior stay. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    114
    24
    10
    13
See reviews for
56
107
13
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
madison
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Walk to art museum, town center, old capitol museum, downtown trolley and restaurants. Long walk to the capitol and Louisiana museum. Staff were terrific. Food was so-so, but there are good restaurants in the area. Across the street from the Hilton, which is considerably more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiemMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel is downtown, 1 block from the Mississippi. The staff here are fabulous. Soooo nice, but also helpful in every way. The rooms are not huge, but very nicely done. Great flat screen, great bathroom with shower. The restaurant is much better then it needs to be. We enjoyed 2 dinners there, plus b'fast. Dinner is great LA cuisine. The bartender Kevin is amazing. Some rooms have a good view of the river. They also allow dogs in some rooms. It was fun to go out every morning and the doorman opened the doors for me and my dogs to head down to the river for a walk. There are also great restaurants nearby. We loved staying here, and would stay again anytime we visit Baton Rouge. (Matter of fact, my husband already has stayed again when there for business. We are hooked!)

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RXCONSULTANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stay at the Indigo regularly when I am in Baton Rouge on business. It has become my 'home away from home'. Because this is a new hotel they are still working out minor wrinkles. However, the management and staff are very responsive and take action on recommendations. They are engaged and work hard to make sure guests have a great experience.
The rooms are just the right size. The bed is very comfortable. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the bar scene at night is frequently lively.
The Indigo is an excellent value for business travelers and families.
Highly recommended....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarlanPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Valet staff is great and informative hotel clean and easy walking distance to any activities, event, Resturants in GBR.
Historical building but contemporary design inside hotel

Cons: pay to park , no comp coffee

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larose, LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and clean. The bar is very cool to hang out in. We stayed for 1 night in February, and it was full! The food in the evening was good, but room service breakfast was not at all good. We'd stay there again, but go some place else for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Mighty Mississippi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Courtney P,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology you did not enjoy the breakfast, but am pleased to see you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Baton Rouge.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed here for business for almost 2 weeks. It is a nice hotel that is well layed out with modern furnishings. The staff are very friendly and try to be as helpful as possible. Other than that however, the location itself is not that great. There are only a few restaurants within the downtown area along with a handful of pubs/nightlife spots, so a car is definitely required to venture further out.

There was an issue with our booking but was easily resolved. This did mean however that we had to stay one night at another hotel, and re-book back into another room. Both rooms were spacious enough for single occupancy, and a higher floor can give you some nice views out to the Mississippi. The rooms themselves were nicely furnished with ample space in the bathroom. The walls must be quite thin as you can easily hear people walking down the corridor. If you need absolute darkness in the night, the blinds provided in both rooms don't fully cover over the windows so light comes in from the surrounding street and buildings. In one of the rooms, the bed faced the entrance so light would also come through from the hallway.

The price paid for the majority of the stay seemed a little excessive. A nice thing is that free wi-fi is provided for guests and isn't limited to just one device. Breakfast is a la carte and the choices do get limiting for a 2 week stay. Compared to other hotels, the breakfasts were on the expensive side and unfortunately there are very few other options for breakfast in the area. The waitstaff are friendly, but the service can be slow. On a couple of occassions we were waiting 15 minutes to place our breakfast order with only a few patrons in the restaurant. The food itself wasn't too bad, but the quality differed dramatically between days.

There is a small fitness centre with a couple of treadmills, free weights and walking machines. It is located on the ground floor and looks out onto the sidewalk. If running is your thing, I would recommend heading down to the river for some scenery on your run. The business centre is small but provides free use of PCs and there are printing facilities as well. The laundry service is prompt with same day delivery if dropped by 8:30am.

Overall, it was a mixed stay. The rooms were nice and the staff friendly. However, its location and the lack of things to do, coupled with the hit and miss service of the restaurant and nightly rate are certainly strong points to consider. There are several other hotels on the otherside of the LSU campus which I would probably choose next time if visiting Baton Rouge.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 215 and 216. There are air conditioning/ventilation units located on the roof of the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetter_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
7.1 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#7 of 77 in Baton Rouge
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
0.1 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront

Property: Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
Address: 200 Convention St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown-Riverfront is located in the heart of Downtown Baton Rouge overlooking the Mississippi River. The Hotel is steps away from many local attractions including the Historic Old State Capitol, Riverfront Convention Center, Shaw Center for the Arts, and just one block from the entertainment of Third St. The Hotel is minutes away from Baton Rouge shopping including the Mall of LA, Towne Center at Cedar Lodge and Perkins Rowe of Bluebonnet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing