We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here on a two night stopover on a long trip. Kitchen was fully stocked - dishes, silverware, popcorn, soap, the whole 9. Everything was in great condition. Location is fantastic, very close to LSU campus, although turning left out of the parking lot can take awhile at certain times of the day, because of the traffic. Mike Anderson's is less than 5 minutes away (if you can turn left quickly) - best meal I had all year.

Parking spaces are a bit tight, and even though we were there during the week, we had to park a bit further away if we got back later at night, but nothing horrible, and the parking is FREE. Breakfast was great and had everything we needed.

Our family of five (two adults, three kids all under age 8 including a toddler) fit nicely in a 1 bedroom suite with plenty of space. The price was fantastic for the value we received. If we're ever coming through town again, we'll definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtcourt257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah S, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thanks for your review we are so glad that you felt like home at our hotel. We look forward to you staying with us on your next visit.

Thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 161 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed her a few times. Very consistent. Two bedrooms are very spacious, well equipped. Location is awesome for LSU.

Breakfast wasn't as good as prior stays, not bad, just not as good. There at 7 am and they were already out of stuff or hadn't restocked.

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank jrbdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah S, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thanks for your review. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and offering our brand of southern hospitality, so we appreciate you taking the time to recognize our efforts.

Thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I always choose this hotel to stay when I am in Baton Rouge. It's convenient to downtown....don't have to get on the freeway to get to the capital buildings. The rooms are always fresh and clean and the staff is super nice! The reception with hors oeuvres is nice on Tuesdays thru Thursday.

Room Tip: I've experienced several rooms at various parts of the building and all are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah S, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thanks for selecting our location for your place to stay when you travel to Baton Rouge. Your review is appreciated.

Thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Beautiful spacious suite. Large lounge/kitchen with mod cons. Little things like washing up liquid, popcorn, coffee, salt n pepper etc were left in the kitchen, which were lovely finishing touch.
Very friendly staff from reception to housekeeping, we had a flat battery whilst staying and there was no hesitation in helping us start the car when we asked.
Complimentary coffee was available throughout the day.
Complimentary breakfast was excellent with choices of fruit, waffles, bacon, pastries, toast, yoghurts etc - this was constantly being replenished although the weekends are a little short on staff so mugs/plates were disposable instead of pottery.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah S, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thanks for your review and we are happy to know how much you enjoyed your suite and amenities.

Thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

On sheer convenience alone, it hit a home run. I have stayed here twice in 2013 alone. Love the convenience to the Lsu Campus. Rooms are plenty large enough for a family of 4. There was a problem one day while we were there with the room not being cleaned well enough. After complaining to front desk, problem was rectified in a timely manner. No problems since. Free internet and parking. I plan on staying here a lot the next 4 years that my daughter will be at LSU. Probably booked years in advance for football games. You can see Tiger Stadium from hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Postalsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah S, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thanks for your review and we are pleased to know that your suite was everything you expected.


Thanks,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our suite was absolutely spotless, quiet, and well-appointed. All employees were extremely friendly and courteous. We also thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. The location is about a mile south of the LSU campus and football stadium.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stableman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review our property, Stableman! We are glad you enjoyed our complementary breakfast and our suites, designed specifically to make you feel at home. Its also great to hear that our staff shined with southern hospitality during your stay!

We look forward to your next visit to Baton Rouge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Staybridge Suites by LSU are worth consideration on your next trip to Baton Rouge. The rooms seem to be designed for the single traveler or even a couple on an extended stay. Each suite includes a full kitchen/dining area, living room and bedroom. For our family a four it was a bit too small to be completely functional. The furnishings were good quality including the mattresses and bedding which would have made for a good nights sleep if the beds were queens rather than full size.

There are plenty of extras too including a decent morning breakfast and mid week (T,W,Th) socials with food beer and wine. There is a pool though it isn't much to speak of, a fitness center, business center etc. The coffee is bad.

The location is just within walking distance of LSU, perfect for fans and there are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. It should be noted that they have you sign a "No Party" agreement when you check in.

Service was polite and quick though they only offer housekeeping services on the weekend by request.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thanks for your feedback, bmp68! On your next stay with us, I invite you and your family to try one of our deluxe suites - complete with 1 or 2 separate bedrooms. These room types are built for a family of four and will give you the extra space you desired. We are glad that your enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#6 of 77 in Baton Rouge
357 reviews
5.2 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#11 of 77 in Baton Rouge
562 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU
3.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate

Address: 4001 Nicholson Dr, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-8432
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baton Rouge
#8 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
#10 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range: $117 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest hotel to LSU's campus - perfect for parents visiting their LSU students, fans attending LSU Athletic Events, or a weekend getaway to Baton Rouge! We are within 5 miles of L'Auberge Baton Rouge Casino, the newest casino in Baton Rouge, and within 3 miles of downtown Baton Rouge. We offer a free hot buffet breakfast daily and a light dinner with beer and wine Tuesday-Thursday nights. Full kitchens in all of our suites complete with full size refrigerator/freezers, 2 burner stoves, dishwashers, and microwaves. Free wi-fi, gym, and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate Hotel Baton Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing