We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Beautiful spacious suite. Large lounge/kitchen with mod cons. Little things like washing up liquid, popcorn, coffee, salt n pepper etc were left in the kitchen, which were lovely finishing touch.
Very friendly staff from reception to housekeeping, we had a flat battery whilst staying and there was no hesitation in helping us start the car when we asked.
Complimentary coffee was available throughout the day.
Complimentary breakfast was excellent with choices of fruit, waffles, bacon, pastries, toast, yoghurts etc - this was constantly being replenished although the weekends are a little short on staff so mugs/plates were disposable instead of pottery.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah S, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your review and we are happy to know how much you enjoyed your suite and amenities.

Thanks,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    53
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
47
22
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

On sheer convenience alone, it hit a home run. I have stayed here twice in 2013 alone. Love the convenience to the Lsu Campus. Rooms are plenty large enough for a family of 4. There was a problem one day while we were there with the room not being cleaned well enough. After complaining to front desk, problem was rectified in a timely manner. No problems since. Free internet and parking. I plan on staying here a lot the next 4 years that my daughter will be at LSU. Probably booked years in advance for football games. You can see Tiger Stadium from hotel lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Postalsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah S, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your review and we are pleased to know that your suite was everything you expected.


Thanks,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our suite was absolutely spotless, quiet, and well-appointed. All employees were extremely friendly and courteous. We also thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. The location is about a mile south of the LSU campus and football stadium.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stableman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property, Stableman! We are glad you enjoyed our complementary breakfast and our suites, designed specifically to make you feel at home. Its also great to hear that our staff shined with southern hospitality during your stay!

We look forward to your next visit to Baton Rouge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Staybridge Suites by LSU are worth consideration on your next trip to Baton Rouge. The rooms seem to be designed for the single traveler or even a couple on an extended stay. Each suite includes a full kitchen/dining area, living room and bedroom. For our family a four it was a bit too small to be completely functional. The furnishings were good quality including the mattresses and bedding which would have made for a good nights sleep if the beds were queens rather than full size.

There are plenty of extras too including a decent morning breakfast and mid week (T,W,Th) socials with food beer and wine. There is a pool though it isn't much to speak of, a fitness center, business center etc. The coffee is bad.

The location is just within walking distance of LSU, perfect for fans and there are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. It should be noted that they have you sign a "No Party" agreement when you check in.

Service was polite and quick though they only offer housekeeping services on the weekend by request.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, bmp68! On your next stay with us, I invite you and your family to try one of our deluxe suites - complete with 1 or 2 separate bedrooms. These room types are built for a family of four and will give you the extra space you desired. We are glad that your enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booked a room here through priceline. Never heard of this hotel before then. The front desk was very friendly and our suite was beautiful and clean. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and included the best hotel coffee I've ever had. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for your review, TRPW! We are glad that you were pleasantly surprised with your accommodations at our property and that you enjoyed our famous Wolfgang Puck coffee. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great, friendly staff, clean rooms. Felt as much like home as a hotel can feel. The hotel is within walking distance of LSU and several shops and restaurants. I can't say enough about how warm and friendly the staff was.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheltodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks for your review, Sheltodd! We are so glad that you felt like home at our hotel and that our staff treated you like a member of the family. We look forward to you staying with us on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
277 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Checked in at 8:30 pm for a 2 night stay for my sons freshman orientation at LSU. OK stay, except for bedtime. There was a loud noise coming from the air vent that was located in the wall at the foot of the bed. It woke my son and I up several times during the night. When I told the guy at the front desk he said "I'll have to tell someone to look at it". No one ever came so night #2 was bad as well. After staying 2 nights, I went to the front desk and asked for a late check-out. (Check-out is at noon.) I requested a 1:00 or 2:00 check-out. I was told "No". I asked why and was told that freshman orientation was going on so they were booked that night. Since we were there for freshman orientation, I knew orientation ended at 4:30 pm that day - hence my request for a late check-out. They weren't booked the 2 nights orientation was going on, so I found it odd that he claimed the hotel was booked the following night AFTER the conclusion of orientation...because of orientation. Front desk boy seemed to be on a power-trip. In the future, I will give my business (80 nights over the next 4 years) to another BR hotel. This was my first and LAST stay at this hotel. I have traveled extensively and have NEVER been refused a late check-out of 1 - 2 hours after paying for a 2 night stay. I do not recommend this hotel - especially if you need any form of customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank starbunker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaclyn D, Manager at Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Starbunker. We apologize that you experienced an issue with the customer service of our front desk during your stay for LSU Orientation. In the future if you feel like an issue has not been resolved adequately by our front desk staff, I urge you to reach out to our management staff and we will make sure that we have exhausted all options to make your stay a great one.

Additionally, we do our best to accommodate late checkouts for all of our guests, but there are days where we may be sold out in a specific room type or when the hotel is sold out for a special event when we cannot accommodate these requests. On these days, the hotel will do our best to extend your check-out for as long as possible (i.e. an extra 30 minutes) and/or offer to store your luggage while you are out and about. I apologize if this option was not offered to you during your stay.

I understand your first stay was not to your satisfaction, but I hope you will try us again so we can show you why we are a great option for you and your family when you visit Baton Rouge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
333 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
3.3 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate

Property: Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
Address: 4001 Nicholson Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baton Rouge
#8 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
#11 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest hotel to LSU's campus - perfect for parents visiting their LSU students, fans attending LSU Athletic Events, or a weekend getaway to Baton Rouge! We are within 5 miles of L'Auberge Baton Rouge Casino, the newest casino in Baton Rouge, and within 3 miles of downtown Baton Rouge. We offer a free hot buffet breakfast daily and a light dinner with beer and wine Tuesday-Thursday nights. Full kitchens in all of our suites complete with full size refrigerator/freezers, 2 burner stoves, dishwashers, and microwaves. Free wi-fi, gym, and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate Hotel Baton Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing