We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The étouffée was great!”

Capital City Grill Downtown
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital City Grill Downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,032 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The étouffée was great!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere for dining alone. The fried fish was also delicious - it was cooked perfectly and nice and hot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avagohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    75
    31
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We ordered the Spinach Queso appetizer which comes with tortilla chips and was quite good. It would have gone up a notch if they had served it with bruschetta instead, but we didn't complain. Our party order the Fried Crawfish Salad, Grilled Chicken Sandwich and the French Dip sandwich. Everything was very good...the sandwich orders came with string fries which were a nice addition and also good. Our server was a little delinquent considering that they weren't busy this particular Friday afternoon, but we remained pleased overall. Capitol Grills are usually quite good and we would recommend this particular one based on our experience here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandLite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent food, large portions”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The food was good though not outstanding. The portions were gigantic. The price was reasonable. The waiter was pleasant but brought us the wrong wine, which he graciously corrected when pointed out. All of our food came at once--appetizers, salads and entrees, which was inconvenient.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsStarV21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“fun food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

gumbo and also artichoke soup are outstanding....all dishes we had could be easily repeated by us....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhcnmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
630 reviews
421 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Billy our server was the only grace”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hostess was lackluster and lacked intellect - a first EVER in any of my Baton Rouge visits. The bar tender, hostess, they just looked in pain and not wanting to be there. The dirty martini was salt water, and Billy took it back. A new one came - exactly the same. The worst crab cakes I have ever had. It was painful. The little fried crab claws were good (Billy's choice). We got up and left - went to IPO and had a great meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital City Grill Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Capital City Grill Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing