We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner and a show!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tokyo Cafe

Tokyo Cafe
Ranked #315 of 1,025 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner and a show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Many large hibachi grills that you sit family style around. They also have regular tables. I don't know if you can order hibachi at the regular tables. Knife tricks and flames for fun. Noodles come with the dinners. Charge extra for fried rice, but it is worth it for the show. If you want steak upgrade to the filet.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
“Great freshest tasting sushi.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I love this place, I only eat cooked sushi. The menu is huge. The staff and owners are so friendly, my friends and I keep returning. The only down side is the price is on the high side. You always pay for what you get and this is one of my top 5 places to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Tokyo Cafe is one of the best places to get sushi in Baton Rouge. The hibachi is really good too. If you sit at the section where the bar is, you will get free soup. The miso is fabulous!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I had never eaten at a restaurant with an Hibachi grill cooked to order. So I was looking forward to the experience. From the time we were seated until we got up to leave, it was delightful. The chef was entertaining and fun, and the food was totally awesome. Everything was seasoned to perfection. It was enough food, honestly, for two or three people, and we enjoyed taking leftovers home. I can't wait to go back to Baton Rouge and eat at this restaurant again. A++++ for sure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank decoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nicest & Best Japanese Sushi & Hibachi Restaurant in Baton Rouge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This time rather than sit and eat at the Sushi Bar, we decided to enjoy the Hibachi Grill! And of course, we did! The chef at our table was engaging and funny, had an excellent routine, and fantastic aim flipping shrimp to our mouths. Proportions were, as always, a bit too much and we took home a bit from everyone's meal.

My daughters surprised me with ice cream and a candle which Tokyo supplied. The staff came out beating a drum, singing a Japanese birthday song and clapping. The ice cream wasn't even on the bill!

Many times I have enjoyed Tokyo Cafe's Sushi Bar and except for a new waitress issue once, have never been disappointed. Prices are on par with all the other choices around, but the added plus is the decor, staff, selection.

The Sushi is always Fresh, Cold, Well Presented, and Tasty! The Sushi Bar Menu is quite large, offering many typical Rolls and Boxes, however the Sushi doesn't stop there. If you can ask for it, they will make off menu items for you! I've never been disappointed there.

Twice when we came in during early evening, the Sushi Chef made my 12 yr old daughter Food Sculptures! Once it was a very cute melon based Turtle and the other one was a fantastical Bird. Both creatures accompanied her Shrimp Tempura Roll as a wonderful platter decoration!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Trifik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing