We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of an outdoor experience”

Daniel Boone National Forest
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Winchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Boat, fish, hike and hunt to your heart's content in this scenic national forest.
Denver
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A jewel of an outdoor experience”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Middle Fork Campground in Natural Bridge State Park. Very clean and convenient to several trailheads in Daniel Boone National Forest.
The trails are litter free and well-marked. All ramps and stairs are well made and sturdy.
Several available trails to see all the beauty this park has to offer.
Rangers very helpful. During our stay there were severe thunderstorm warnings. Early on a ranger came by our RV to ask if we would be more comfortable staying in one of the shelters.
We decided to ride out the storm in our motor home. During the storm it was comforting to the see ranger drive up to check on the level of the creek. We felt confident the rangers were looking out for our well-being. Our only regret is that we did not schedule more time. We will return.
After a long day of hiking, we rode the tram up to the Natural Bridge. It was exquisite and we were sorry we were just too worn out to hike any more, because there were several areas we would like to have explored.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hikesleepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Gull Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Part of National Forest Red River Gorge but...”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Come prepared with maps and a clear plan of what you would like to do.

Daniel Boone National Forest has 707,000 acres - it is divided into sections. We drove on a day outside of Lexington KY.

trip and didn't do complete research on what we wanted to do. That is definitely our mistake.

The trails where we turned on and seemed to be most popular where crowded with cars - and gravel roads.

The trailheads are very well marked but not with length of the trail - from what we learned some trails can be a couple of feet some can be a few miles.

It is an amazing beautiful forest - come prepared with maps - duh on our part - hopefully giving some information before your visit.

The rest stop that promised visitor information - very clean but provided more information on Cincinnati rather than local information.

Don't be discouraged reading this review - it is an amazing rough ride through a great National Forest.

We didn't do our research or find the maps we needed.

We did have a great time and hike

Do your research and come with maps and unless you want a limited amount of fast food - pack a lunch and water.

Great time but come prepared

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Maggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, IN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Natural Bridge”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It is worth the trip up to natural bridge. Kentucky is such a pretty state and it has very nice state parks with nice hiking trails

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie-5Greensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Got winter cabin fever?”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Roads were in excellent condition considering temperatures rapidly dropping. River views impressive. Fort has winter hours 10 AM - 4 PM

Helpful?
2 Thank Mom2ArmyRangerMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Forest primevil”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We took the skylift to the Natural Bridge after hiking half way there. The skylift was quite a ride! The Red River Gorge drive thru the forest was beautiful. Be sure to stop at the Creekside Café for a tasty burger.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daniel Boone National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing