We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and charming!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Wilmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay for 3 nights during a family reunion! Suzanne, the owner, is warm and welcoming. The breakfasts were beautifully presented and quite delicious along with the breads and cookies throughout the day and evening. The location was convenient for us with just a short drive to our family in Nicholasville. Although the baths were down the very short hallway, it was not an issue for us. Robes were provided and we were very comfortable. WiFi was nice. We will definitely be back when we are up that way again!

Room Tip: We chose the Poplar Room (named for the wood floor) because it had a shower in the bathroom versus a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartleyIA, Owner at 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your efforts and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Wedding season is busy in Wilmore, so I was happy to see that 1898 Red Bud B&B was available this weekend. Here's the highlights:

Pros:
-Really close to Asbury University/Seminary.
-Suzann the owner is great, and provided excellent service.
-Flexible breakfast times, and the cooking was delicious.
-The front porch is great place to hang out on a summer night.

Cons:
-The bathrooms are down the hall from the rooms. However, robes are provided.
-No WiFi access in room, so you'll want to plan for this.

Overall I was very pleased with my stay here, and plan on coming back here next time in the Wilmore area.

Room Tip: There's two rooms available, but only one has a bathroom with a shower, so you'll want to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartleyIA, Owner at 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We always like to hear about what you liked and to see how we can improve. We have recently upgraded our WIFI and it is now available throughout the property. At the time your stay WIFI was only available in the breakfast room as stated on our web site. We apologize for any inconvenience. You will be able to stay connected in your room on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Lovely, comfortable, spotless, tastefully decorated home with extra comfy bed and gourmet breakfasts. Wrap around porch with swing and rockers is perfect for watching fireflies at night. I had the last strawberries from her own garden in a truly delicious breakfast. Suzanne is a gracious hostess and takes wonderful care of her guests. Hope I can stay there again. One of the best B&Bs I've stayed at.

Room Tip: The bathroom with the shower only is modern, the bathroom with the tub only is original.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartleyIA, Owner at 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. We appreciate the kind words and are glad you enjoyed your first firefly experience. We hope you make it back to KY on one of your new adventures! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

May 2, 2012. I just stayed this week at the 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast. To sum it up, FANTASTIC! I hated to leave. I had not felt so relaxed in such a long time. It was quiet, the place was spotless and the bed was so comfortable. Suzann is an amazing cook. Not only would she make gourmet breakfast in the mornings, when I would return at night there would be banana bread, cookies, tarts or scones (all homemade) waiting for me. I loved the porch and made it a point to eat dinner outside every night. Red Bud is in a great location and is close to Lexington and other surrounding areas. Suzann was great with suggestions of things to see in the area and she will accommodate all of your needs. I plan to return very soon. Suzann, save my chair for me!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shauna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartleyIA, Owner at 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to do such a nice review. I'm so glad you enjoyed yourself and "your" chair will always be waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed with Suzann for three nights and felt right at home. The house is beautifully decorated and very comfortable, and the gardens are lovely. The breakfasts were delicious, with tea and cake or cookies an extra treat in the evening. Her recommendations for enjoying the races at Keeneland, driving around horse country, and touring the nearby Shaker Village were very helpful and made our stay very memorable. We look forward to another trip to bluegrass country in the near future.

Room Tip: Either room is fine. One has a bath with a shower, and the other has a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheRoadAgain1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Our gaggle of 4 HS friends stayed here last weekend (halfway) and had a great time. Suzann is a great hostess and saw to our every need. The house has a programmable lock which was very convenient so we did not have to remember who had the key. Breakfasts were whenever we requested annd utterly delicious. Fresh baked goods and hot water for tea were readily available. The bedrooms and baths were spotless and perfect for our use as one was a tub and one was a walk in shower. Our one friend slept in the parlor on the first floor and it was quiet and comfortable. The wi-fi is a bit weak so maybe a new router might help. We have already talked about returning and i have my hubs jonesing for a bourbon tour and stay here! (He is gluten free...) thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LettyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartleyIA, Owner at 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your efforts. We are hoping to upgrade to a new service our cable company is offering in regards to the wifi. This should result in a stronger signal. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Wilmore, KY is a very small quaint town in the heart of Kentucky horse country. Looking for lodging that would accommodate our family of 6 and let us roll in at 2:30 in the morning seemed like mission impossible. However, after checking several sites on line we called the 1898 Red Bud B&B, and they were very friendly and willing to help us out. It was easy to find in the middle of the night, the rooms were wonderful, the food was all homemade, fresh and delicious and the hospitality was outstanding. We have traveled to 3 continents and 10 different countries, this place would rate in our top ten for hospitality, comfort and great food!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but if on your own, take the "poplar" room as that bath room has a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjbbackdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HartleyIA, Owner at 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast

Address: 600 N Lexington Ave, Wilmore, KY 40390-1137
Location: United States > Kentucky > Wilmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmore
Price Range: $75 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our restored historic 1890's home sits on over an acre of beautifully landscaped grounds. Located in the heart of the "Garden Area" of central Kentucky in the quaint village of Wilmore, home of Asbury University. Keeneland, Lexington, horse farms, vineyards, and historic sites such as Shaker Village are just a short drive away. Small town charm and hospitality await you at the 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing