We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilder
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wilder
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hard to find.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

the reason for my review is to tell people that this place is NOT easy to find. There isn't any signage that we could see telling you where to turn. The address (10 Country Drive) has a different name according to a staff member that told us he gets that complaint a fair bit. Our GPS couldn't find that address. The other thing is, it is down in a valley and not visible from the highway. You need to turn in at Thornton's gas station and go right at the stop sign. You will see it then. I think the exit you take coming from the north is 77 B if I remember . We arrived in the dark and all the lights were out??? Having said all this........the hotel is fine and really is a great place to stay outside Cinci if you need to go there and want a cheaper option. It took as about 8 minutes from our hotel to Newport on the levee parking garage. Really not far at all. Park on the levee at the parking garage for $2 for the WHOLE day. Unbelievably cheap. Then walk over the bridge to Cincinnati or take the trolley for $1........Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilder, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review your stay. You are correct that we are not the easiest hotel to find. Because of local ordinances, we are unable to provide signage that provides directional assistance for our guests. However, because we are not located directly off of the interstate, our guests do not have to deal with the traffic noise that guests may encounter at other hotels. If someone that is unfamiliar with our area is planning a trip to our hotel, with a quick call or an email we will provide you with everything you need to find us easily.

I would also like to take this opportunity to apologize for the fact that our lights were out when you arrived. We had an electrical problem that caused all of our exterior lights to malfunction. But we quickly made repairs to that system, and our lights now shine brightly to welcome our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review, and for staying with us. We hope to see you again should you decide to travel to our area again. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    91
    33
    24
    15
See reviews for
175
44
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We always visit this area often because we have family in northern Kentucky. We always stay here through out the year they have great friendly service very clean which I always look for. They have DVDs for the kids and cookies at front desk and good free breakfast too

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Likevaules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were in town for a Reds game and this was one of the only hotels in the area that had a one bedroom suite-- a must if you have little ones. Great location and it was a short drive into Cincinatti. Service was good and the room was clean. The only bummer of our trip was that the pool heater was broken so our kids couldn't swim. We are already planning a return trip to the area soon and will plan on staying here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcy520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on July 8th. Was going to a concert at Riverbend that night and then to COney Island the next day. We stay at Country Inns when at all possible and this hotel did not disappoint. Front desk staff was awesome as always, and we had 2 boys, so they used the pool. Even when we came in late at night, the staff made sure to speak to us and the next morning the maids spoke as well. The only thing, was that some of the breakfast items was not being refilled and we had gone down to breakfast before 9 a.m. But this would not deter me from staying here. The whole hotel was very clean and plenty of towels in our room for 4 people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, MI
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here on our way from Cleveland to Gatlinburg. As always the Carlson group didn't let me down. The room and employees were the best. The whirlpool was in great shape. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed from 18-20 May 2012 for two nights.

We were only one of the many rooms that were in the various names of wedding attendees.

But we certainly appreciated the cordial and helpful nature of staff (quickly provided the local Catholic church and times)

The establishment was clean and convenient (we had lunch at Gold Star, ice cream from Dairy Queen and even pizza from Mellow Mushroom).

The amenities of value (the cousins, nieces and nephews enjoyed the pool) and breakfast was filling and a great family meeting time (we had quite a few tables together on the Sunday morning!)

Thanks to all staff, from housekeeping to breakfast and front desk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I just returned from my stay at the Country Inn and Suites in Wilder, KY. I would certainly recommmend this property to anyone looking for a nice clean place to stay. It was only maybe 10 mins from downtown Cincinnati, even with the road construction on the highway. The check in girl was very nice and pleasant. Our room was clean, bathroom clean, altho the tub could have been wiped clean better. The beds and pillows were awesome and we slept wonderfully. The free breakfast in the morning was actually really good, with both hot and cold choices. My recommendations on this is get there early, we were fairly late to breakfast and things were dwindling and the potatoes were dry. Also, a note to the person doing the food-a little less rosemary on the potatoes would be sooo much better. =) Otherwise everything was good, and the area was clean. Check out was easy and the lady at the desk was also nice and pleasant. I would definatly stay here again if I'm in the Cincinnati area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieNoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilder
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilder
5.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 5 in Newport
361 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Inn Florence
Best Western Inn Florence
#3 of 28 in Florence
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cincinnati Airport/Erlanger
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport / Cincinnati
5.4 mi away
Aloft Newport on the Levee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilder

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilder
Address: 10 Country Dr, Wilder, KY 41076-8847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Wilder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wilder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilder 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Northern Kentucky, we are within minutes of Downtown Cincinnati, Newport on the Levee, CVG airport, Northern Kentucky University, and Riverbend music venue. Our 65 rooms provide a refrigerator and microwave, in addition to free high-speed Internet service. Be Our Guest for complimentary breakfast each morning. Food and entertainment options are located within easy walking distance. Whether you are traveling for business, leisure, or just need a quick get-away, we are here to welcome you as our guest! Find out why You'll Love Every Piece of this Country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Wilder
Country Inn & Suites Wilder Hotel Wilder
Country Inn Wilder
Wilder Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing