We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally Clean, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilder
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wilder
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Clean, Good Location”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

As a Hilton Honors member, I frequently look for Hampton Inns when traveling, especially on business. I wasn't disappointed with this property.

Right off I275, this hotel was quiet and very clean, with a super-friendly staff.

Great location for events at Northern KY University (NKU) or the Bank of Kentucky Center. Close to Newport on the Levee and downtown Cincinnati, although I think the Hampton Inn in Covington is a better choice if you're planning to visit many attractions on the riverfront because it's right on the river and on the free trolley route to Cincy and Northern KY attractions. (Be sure to check out the Newport Aquarium, the Underground Railroad Museum and the Hofbrhaus for lunch or dinner. )

Nice courtyard and pool area, typical Hampton Hot Breakfast selections.

I was put in a "Cityview" room, but would not recommend paying extra for one. While you can see the Cincy skyline, it's a good distance away and the view is obstructed by a cliff, some cranes at a nearby construction company and light pollution at night.

I would stay here again on visits to the NKU area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWHopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    144
    37
    21
    11
See reviews for
241
116
24
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This Hampton worked well for a recent overnight business trip. It's located in northern Kentucky, close to NKU and a very reasonable distance to downtown and eastern Cincinnati. Restaurants and a movie theater are an easy five or six minute drive in either direction off I-275. Newport on the Levee is about a ten minutes drive, with downtown Cincy just beyond that.

Besides location, the best qualities of the hotel include cleanliness, safety, well-lit parking lot, ease of check-in and check-out, good business rate, comfy beds, good lighting, coffee 'round the clock, nice landscaping, quiet interiors (note that my room was on the top floor), music channels available on the tv, and bright white linens and duvet covers that are washed between guests. Internet speed was decent. Desk reps were polite. Maids encountered in the hall were pleasant. The small courtyard right off the elevators and pool was beautifully landscaped; the front entrance was clean and the spring pansies were a nice touch.

On the negative side... In the room... While water pressure in the shower was great, there was virtually no pressure from the sink faucet. The bathroom door featured a frightening crack each time it was opened or closed (WD-40, perhaps?), and a ventilation fan would be wise. TV channels were not logged in on the remote (so that guests must scroll through dozens of "you are not subscribed" screens) and the in-room tv guide list was in alpha order, rather than channel number. The HBO booklet was from the previous month. Noise was not a problem, but by 8:00 am, the traffic at the interchange was definitely noticeable. If you want to sleep in, request a city-view room. The hotel and room decor was pretty cool when first opened, but now it appears a bit tired -- although, again, very clean.

Complimentary breakfast was just adequate. Bacon was good, juice was not watered down, cereal choices were okay, yogurt and fresh fruit were available. However, the small pastry selection was poor and the eggs were, well, horrendous (itty bitty pieces of very dry scrambled eggs -- inedible). The breakfast area was clean and spacious, and the attendant was an extremely personable gentleman who appeared to enjoy people and his work -- which helped make up for the eggs.

While there were some negatives, they would not prevent me from staying in the future; the dependability and cleanliness and location of his Hampton make it a 4.

Room Tip: For quiet, ask for top floor, city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goseedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RALEIGH, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The property is located off the highway ... at the crossroads of nothing & nowhere! The entire 2nd floor stunk of smoke. The room stunk of smoke. ... It's 2013! Since when do hotels offer smoking rooms?? As a former smoker I always preferred a non-smoking room anyway. I'm not down on smokers but you're better off sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Wilder, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am so sorry that you were inconvenienced by some issues. I truly apologize if your room smelled like smoke. I am glad to announce that very soon we will be converting to a non-smoking facility. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and we will definitely take your comments into consideration to improve our in-property experience.

Again, I apologize you went through any inconveniences and hope that you will consider saying with us next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, AL, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This Hampton is a very convenient, extremely clean, nice hotel. The staff was extremely professional, the hotel and pool were as clean as a new one. The only negative was the dry, bland breakfast, but I really can't complain for a free buffet style b'fast. We'll stay here again if ever in the area again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joshua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, TN
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Loved our stay, here. Had a small family reunion here. Wonderful pool and hot tub. Rooms were clean, and staff was very helpful. My son was accidentally given a room that was not ready yet and they quickly changed his room. Breakfast was very good, and although, it was a busy weekend there they were great to deal with. Hotel is situated by itself, which is not a problem.

Room Tip: Wehad rooms 217, and 219 that were city view....best rooms, all by themselves and out of path of tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel in a room at the end of the hall and it was very quiet and spacious with a nice view over the city. The location was a bit tricky to access at first but we got used to it after a while. Over all it was a comfortable stay, no big issues to mention.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Slow water flow in lavatory; broken chair (replaced with another malfunctioning chair); inadequate response by staff to issues; inadequate instructions for connecting to the internet if a HHonors member.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilder
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilder
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport / Cincinnati
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 5 in Newport
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cincinnati Airport/Erlanger
4.3 mi away
Hotel Covington Cincinnati Riverfront
8.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Cincinnati Airport/Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Wilder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Wilder

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Wilder
Address: 10 Hampton Ln, Wilder, KY 41076-9729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Wilder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wilder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Wilder 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Wilder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Wilder Hotel Wilder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing