We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sandwiches and desserts”
Review of Wallace Station

Wallace Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Wallace Station, just outside Midway in the heart of Bluegrass horse country and on the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, is a scenic stop for homemade sandwiches, soups, salads, an irresistable bakery case, and breakfast.
southern IN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent sandwiches and desserts”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This isn't a fancy place, but it is an excellent sandwich and dessert stop, and I stress excellent. The inside out hot brown sandwich is such a wonderful rendition of Kentucky goodness, and the bean soup and cornbread are simply tasty. All of the bread at Wallace station is top notch and the desserts do not disappoint. Chocolate pecan bourbon pie was amazing and my husband was a big fan of his giant gingersnap cookie. It is worth the drive to eat here. Indoor and outdoor seating are available.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank m0mt0five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    155
    27
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, NC
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“1st Triple D stop..Disappointment”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Wanted to try this place due to Diners Drive Ins and Dives show ...Everything looked so scrumptious on tv and We drove a beautiful scenic road to get to this out of the way place...its old and filled with college aged kids making quick sandwiches. .nothing like what was advertised on Triple D...it was packed...had to sit out back..order the Big Brown Burger...not big at all...and definitely not appetizing...very disappointed ..basically no flavor and I ordered supposedly a homemade brownie...It was cold and dense and hardly edible...threw it in the trash after one bite...never have I thrown away a brownie. ..my friend order the pimento and ham pannini ...it was way better than mine...probably wont visit again...Triple D Show lied somewhere...

Helpful?
2 Thank jdanaya22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a neat place”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I took my family here for lunch and we all enjoyed the food. It was a little expensive, but worth it. The drive there through horse farm country was a great part of the experience. I will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricopolatzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One sister two dogs”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We try and stop here on our way to Columbus, OH. It is an out of the way place in an old building that I think use to be a store. We stop so that I can get a sausage cheese biscuit. They are great. I also like their pimento cheese, homemade so I pick up a sandwich for lunch. They make a Cuban that my sister loves and they have some desserts that are just great. So if you swing by try them they have a varied menu we take things that will travel well. You can eat inside or if the weather is nice outside. It is horse and farm country and very pretty.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very rich, greasy at times but good food. Mostly sandwiches and soups. The desserts look amazing. I have always been too stuffed to try one. A bit pricey.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wallace Station also viewed

 

Been to Wallace Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing