We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Versailles Tradition”
Review of Wallace Station

Wallace Station
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Wallace Station, just outside Midway in the heart of Bluegrass horse country and on the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, is a scenic stop for homemade sandwiches, soups, salads, an irresistable bakery case, and breakfast.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A Versailles Tradition”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you are looking for authentic local food this is the place. This place is a favorite of the horse crowd workers, NOT owners and high rollers but the people that do the daily work of raising, training and racing horses.

Excellent food, noted for their large breakfast and large lunch sandwiches. A unique little place, full of history and tradition.

Service is not the best but the prices are reasonable, and the food is great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GilB867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    155
    28
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Restaurant - Worth Stopping In”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

During my research phase of planning for our Bourbon Trail trip, I had stumbled upon this restaurant while looking at Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. It is well worth stopping in and tasting their delicious foods.

While driving in the car, with our GPS chirping away, I said to my wife, "I think I typed in the wrong address, because its just endless horse fences here!" We crested a hill and there it was. In the middle of a long country stretch, sat this very old building that had many purposes throughout its life. The most recent of which, being a very tasty restaurant!

The line was to the door but moved fast. We drooled at the gigantic cookies and pastries in the counter while waiting to order (but we resisted!). After ordering the Hot Brown Burger and a french fry appetizer, we sat down and waited. After 25 minutes, I approached and asked if it took that long to make the burgers. I thought, maybe they were that long because they are just that good hehe. Well, a computer error didn't print out an order slip for the cooks. The gentleman at the counter looked at me, apologized, and said that they take care of their customers there because that is what matters. The entire meal was refunded, as I sat there with a wide mouth and a stupefied look. I would have been content with a discount. We were promptly served our order and enjoyed the burgers and fries immensely. The employees are top notch, the food is outstanding, and customer satisfaction is #1 on their list. It is truly a hidden gem on a long Kentucky country road.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoBerrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun place...add it to your Bourbon Tour!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were referred to Wallace Station by some locals....they clearly knew what they were talking about!
A small, lively place (with a casual outdoor area), we had a great meal of salads and sandwiches.
It's not fancy but it is good.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“on the bourbon trail”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

had heard of the restaurant from a person who had local knowledge. It is kind of out of the way, a very local restaurant, but soooooo worth it!! Great lunch, the bakery case looked amazing, but after having the truffle fries, and sharing a pannini sandwich (apple, brie and ham) could not have another bite. These people know how to cook. Go there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onabeachincabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Got to visit and eat here ”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Whether it's brunch, lunch or supper this is a very special place. Most food is homemade. Try the meatloaf sandwich. Out of this world. Hey you may have to sit outside or crowded inside but either way it's worth it. I always look forward to a Wallace Station Visit.

Helpful?
Thank Philcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wallace Station also viewed

 

Been to Wallace Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing