We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tour was great!”

Woodford Reserve Distillery
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bourbon distillery
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Truly beautiful drive to get there. Well worth the time. Highly reccomend if you are a Bourbon fan. Will do it again soon.

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank Bwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bourbon trail"
in 268 reviews
"horse farms"
in 124 reviews
"great tour"
in 173 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 215 reviews
"gift shop"
in 189 reviews
"bourbon ball"
in 79 reviews
"tasting room"
in 84 reviews
"beautiful drive"
in 39 reviews
"double oaked"
in 30 reviews
"bourbon chocolate"
in 31 reviews
"beautiful property"
in 33 reviews
"rolling hills"
in 38 reviews
"great bourbon"
in 54 reviews
"mash"
in 48 reviews
"shot glass"
in 27 reviews
"visitor center"
in 58 reviews
"making bourbon"
in 36 reviews
Filter

1,491 - 1,495 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We completed our bourbon trail passport in two days, visiting all seven of the distilleries now included. Woodford Reserve was by far the best tour of the seven. The guide, Bill was passionate about his bourbon and well versed in all components of the process of making bourbon. This was the most beautiful place and the most informative. Bill was perhaps a but pretentious but in the end, he had every reason to be. This was also where we purchased some of the best bourbon candies...especially the bourbon caramel.

Date of experience: November 2012
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

this place is great - the tour is easy walking and very informative on how this fine bourbon is made and the tasting is the highlight at the end. Our tour guide Keith made the tour enjoyable as he interacted well with the members of our group. Like the walking headsets they have you use so you don't miss a thing! Location is beautiful - right in the middle of beautiful horse country! Don't miss this even you aren't completing the entire bourbon trrail - it's the best of the 7 places!!!

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank SusanM622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We took the corn to cork tour at Woodford Reserve Distillery,$25. Steve B. was our guide who gave the history and step by step processes of making crafted bourbon from mashing, distilling and aging. The setting of the historic distillery was nestled in the lush green of Kentucky horse country and, in my humble opinion, the center of the bourbon making universe! The passion and in depth presentation was worth every cent or should I say every sip, for it included a tasting of the sour mash, white lightning and the aged Reserve straight from the barrel. This incredible tour was the high light of our vacation. Not only do I highly recommend but consider it a must see.

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank Tim066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Out of all the distilleries on the trail Woodford has some of the oldest and most interesting buildings. The choices of bourbon are a lot less than other places but the scenery and history make up for. Fall is a beautiful time to visit.

Date of experience: October 2012
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodford Reserve Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Woodford Reserve Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing