We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Informative tour, and a taste of bourbon to boot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodford Reserve Distillery

Woodford Reserve Distillery
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bourbon distillery
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
197 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Informative tour, and a taste of bourbon to boot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We very much enjoyed our tour of the Woodford Reserve Distillery. Our tour guide was very informative and had more information than we could remember. The tour took about an hour and started with a short bus ride. We walked through several buildings on the historic registry and were amazed and how long they had been producing bourbon in this location. Tour ended with a little taste of the fine product.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ntd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    260
    72
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BE SURE TO SEE ELIJAH THE CAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We visited here on Saturday, May 19. The tour was a good one and we all liked our tour guide. He took note of the 16 year old cat, Elijah at the base of one of the warehouses. He is quite the animal to behold!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Small Batch Discovery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Like others , I thought this was a nice tour in a beautiful part of Kentucky.

What I was disappointed in ,though was that Woodford does small batch bourbon- in otherwords , they might mix different aged barrels, they said they can take 6 year barrels that have aged faster and mix it with 9 year barrels - they mix " by flavor" not age.

I then noticed , they don't list an age on their bottle.

They don't rotate their barrels, so the top barrels in storage might age faster because they get exposed to warmer temperatures being higher in the storage area for several years.

This just seems like a big difference in the aging process. Several bourbons list the age and market as a 9 year or a 10 year, this adds to the lure, I think.

Great setting and able to handle crowds - looked like on the day I was there, they had 4 tours in approx 90 minutes , with at least 20 per tour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank wallywilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

One of the best tours I have ever been on. The distillery is very small, but thats a good thing. While we were there thsy were on the final days of fermenting there latest Masters Collection, which should be ready in about 7 years.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice quaint grounds, no crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stopped at the distillery 2 days ago. Tour was $7 but was very interesting. This distillery is very old and historic and makes bourbon the old fashioned way. On the way, if you are coming from the Louisville direction turn on Grassy Springs Road, just past the sign to the distillery (mapquest gave a different direction). The road is paved and very smooth with nobody on it. If you're on a motorcycle, perfect. It goes past horse farms. The distillery is nice, small, not a large commercial property, but is owned by the company that ownes Jack Daniels. The tour is informative. This place has real copper stills that makes the product. This is not a mass produced bourbon. The grounds are nice, there is a terrace where you can have lunch, but overall you will spend maybe an hour and a half here, then move on.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank khill603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodford Reserve Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Woodford Reserve Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing