We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Right Place”
Review of A Storybook Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Versailles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Storybook Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Versailles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We were en route to my father's memorial service when we were too drained to go one step further. After an exhausting day, this was the perfect place to stop - beautiful, comfortable and peaceful. Beautifully appointed rooms, spotlessly clean with just the right mix of old and new, we slept like babies and awoke to an amazing breakfast in her new solarium. Elise is a wonderful host and cook, providing just the right touches. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank appalachiandiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AStorybookInn, Owner at A Storybook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Thank you for your kind words! Would love to have you back again in the future.
Elise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for A Storybook Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 234 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2011

We went to A Storybook Inn in Versailles, Ky for Valentines Day. The inn is an antebellum mansion nestled in the heart of horse country and would be a great place to stay during the racing season! We stayed in the Somewhere in Time suite. The innkeeper, Elise, just reopened after an amazing renovation. From the moment I entered, I felt like I had been transported to Tara and I was Scarlett O'Hara! The smallest attention to detail was paid at every turn. The decor is fantastic, the room was so clean and the grounds were beautiful (even in winter!). Elise had a complimentary bottle of champagne and 6 dark chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us when we got there. The suite was complete with a roomy jacuzzi tub and warm terrycloth robes! Breakfast was served in the conservatory - a beautiful room with plenty of natural light from the windows overlooking the grounds. For breakfast we had fresh fruit, wild blueberry muffins, and a yummy egg frittata with bacon and asapargus. Elise owns her own farm and the eggs came right from her own chickens! It tasted great! I have stayed at several B and Bs in the states, France, and Italy and this is by far the best! We will be back, hopefully soon!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeannaTz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AStorybookInn, Owner at A Storybook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

So glad that you had a wonderful time at A Storybook Inn for Valentine's Day. And that you loved the extra touches. Thank you for your very kind words!
Elise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The "Storybook Inn" was a very speacial way for me to say thank you for 30 year's of following your soldier husband all over. Vesailles, KY. is just a 2hr. car ride from our home and it was a perfect little get away for the two of us. It's 19th century charm and decor along with the most personalized service we have ever had was just the beginning. The food was 5star and the accomidations were truely a storybook setting.
It seem's every member in our family that is of marrying age has there heart set on tieing the knot here at the "Storybook Inn".

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AStorybookInn, Owner at A Storybook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

You two were a delight to host. We loved blessing our veterans in this way. We would love for your family to come visit here or "tie the knot" at the inn.
Blessings!
Elise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

This is the first review I have written. I have written it because it is so well deserved. The Storybook Inn in Versailles, Kentucky is well located between the historic Woodford Reserve Distillery and Keeneland Racepark. The suites are expertly equipped and easy to get a good nights sleep. Regarding their decor, a romantic time can be shared for its occupants with ease. The scenery is lovely outdoors, the decoration inside is beyond compare and the waitstaff very helpful and gracious. The food is very well done including the hor doerves in the afternoon. Lastly, the proprietress is extremely knowledgeable about the area in completely hospitable to her guests. I would recommend this establish without reservation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AStorybookInn, Owner at A Storybook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2010

Dear M.A.

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us at A Storybook Inn. We sincerely loved having you.

We joyfully look forward to your return!

Elise, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Storybook Inn was everything I had expected -- and much more! It is everything one could hope for in a Bed and Breakfast. The chef catered to everyone's individual tastes in providing a gourmet breakfast. The newly renovated inn and cottage were impeccable. Don't forget to ask for a tour; the inn has a rich history. It's a quick 10-15 minutes to Keeneland Raceway. I've already booked my visit for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cho29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AStorybookInn, Owner at A Storybook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review! And we look forward to welcoming you back to Storybook!

Elise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We really enjoyed our two nights at The Storybook Inn; Elise and the whole team made us truly welcome and our room - Casablanca - was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Breakfast was a delight, delicious and perfectly presented. The Storybook Inn is well located for discovering the Bluegrass region of Kentucky and for Keeneland; Versailles is a charming little town. We heartily recommend The Storybook Inn - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AStorybookInn, Owner at A Storybook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

We hope that when your travels bring you back in our direction that you will always opt to stay with us. And I hope to get over to your side of the big pond once again some day.

The best to you!
Elise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Wow. My husband and I had our socks knocked-off by this lovely small "inn". We stayed in The Huntsman's Cottage. It was scrupulously clean, with tons of space, full kitchen and laundry. The furnishings were amazing - I honestly can't think of any place other than a private home or truly top 5 star hotel that would have the quality and the gorgeous interior design we enjoyed. The on-line pictures do not show how big, spacious and nice it is - totally the reverse of what you would expect! Meticulous care is taken to make it gorgeous and welcoming, from fresh flowers, bowl of fresh fruit, fridge stocked with water and soda (lots, so you don't feel guilty using it!) to daily homemade snacks and sweets quietly left for you. Yum! And convenient...we grabbed a piece of fruit, muffin at breakfast, and bottles of water to take on our meanderings. The main house is beautiful, and we were lucky enough to sneak a peak at one of the suites offered - Somewhere in Time. Even inside, the rooms are large, bright, fresh, and sumptuously decorated. I am a B&B fan, but find too frequently that you have small squashed rooms, perhaps a bit fusty, with a mish-mash of furniture. That is certainly fine...but the Storybook Inn is truly a luxury experience without the snobbery and stuffiness of a super posh hotel. The folks were warm and inviting, and the food...oh, the food. If your favorite chef and baker surpassed him/herself on a special occasion - this is the everyday at the Inn. Seriously...don't pass up the offer of treats. Breakfast was just delicious every day and you will leave stuffed (if you choose). Also, while many B&B's require group dining, here you will find a large, bright conservatory with individual tables for seating. So if, like me, you are a bit shy of group experiences, you can sit quietly with your companions and enjoy coffee, newspapers, and the view of the garden and water feature without being required to chit-chat. Really a treat to stay here. We immediately thought of the Kentucky Derby and how much we would like to share our "find" with family", and are already planning our next retreat. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AStorybookInn, Owner at A Storybook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Wow! Wow! Wow! What an incredible review! So thorough...so wonderfully complimentary by two very lovely people. Thank you! Thank you!

Would love to host you again!

Elise and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Versailles
11.6 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
13.0 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
356 reviews
13.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Rabbit Creek Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Charred Oaks Inn
Charred Oaks Inn
#3 of 7 in Versailles
25 reviews
5.9 mi away
Chateau Annette
Chateau Annette
#5 of 6 in Lexington
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Storybook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Storybook Inn

Address: 277 Rose Hill Ave, Versailles, KY 40383-1223
Location: United States > Kentucky > Versailles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Versailles
Price Range: $199 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, historic...A Storybook Inn is upscale in every way! A Select Registry Property. Excellence in style and service! There is a reason that our wonderful guests give us 5 star reviews! Incredible culinary delights! More like a small European luxury hotel say our well-traveled guest! At A Storybook Inn, our emphasis is on you! This dear old place envelopes one with a delicious sense of calm! Minutes from the world famous Keeneland Race Course, world class Thoroughbred Horse Farms. We can arrange a tour for you! A Storybook Inn is a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the world. We have hosted guests from around the world, including ambassadors and European royalty's entourage. But we also host the local events with the same distinction. Our 50 foot glass conservatory with the garden view is a splendid place to have your multi-course breakfast. Come see why A Storybook Inn is "close to everything but world's apart!" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing