We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Storybook Trip to Versailles”
Review of A Storybook Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Versailles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Storybook Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Versailles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Storybook Trip to Versailles”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Gorgeous Bed and Breakfast in the middle of thorougbred country. This Inn exudes class. Absolutely beautiful rooms and grounds. The Innkeeper, Elise, is gracious and really knows her business. She loves to prepare and present meals right out of your favorite food magazine. Unbelievable! Her staff is personable and accomodating. We have family in the area so we will be back to visit the inn again as long as we have a reason to go see the horses and visit family. We highly recommend the Storybook to anyone looking for style and elegance away from home. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
141
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis, indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Wow, what an amazing anniversary weekend! The inn is beautifully decorated, and feels so luxurious. The breakfasts were so delicious! We were also able to indulge in late afternoon treats and wine! It was so lovely to have an in room massage, it just made it that much more relaxing. All of Elise's restaurant recommendations were great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieo2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

First of all, I am NOT a B&B type person. But my 3 sisters are. We gathered from California, Virginia and West Virginia for the first Christmas we have all been together in years. What an amazing place. Elise is a master of her craft of inn keeping. We stayed in the guest house so we would have a place to gather and not bother others (we can be a little loud when we all start talking at the same time!) This 3 bedroom HOME was perfect. Well appointed kitchen (in case we chose to cook), the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, fantastic furniture, air-jet tubs in all 3 bathrooms, and the decorations for the holiday were perfect! It is an easy walk to the restaurants and shops of Versailles. Even in the dead of winter the grounds were beautiful.

Now on to breakfast...there are simply not the words to describe it. Fresh fruit, freshly squeezed OJ, the best bacon I have ever had in my life in addition to a delicious breakfast dish that I didn't get the name of with asparagus and cajun sweet potatoes. The second day I had french toast so fantastic I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

Thank you Elise and staff (Sarah...you are the sweetest thing!) We are planning a return trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank horsinaroundwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I took my mother to the Storybook Inn for their Christmas Tea. It was easily the best I've ever been to. The rooms - living room, hallway, conservatory- were beautifully and cleverly decorated for the holidays. Everywhere you looked you saw little touches that added to the overall ambience. The food was delicious and well presented. I had Earl Grey and my mother the orange cinnamon tea. Both were very good, but I would've liked to have more of a selection. My only other negative comment was being tucked away, the two of us, in the living room by ourselves. Away from the revelry of the other guests. The food was plentiful and beautifully presented. A top notch class act. I would love to go back and stay sometime when it's warm enough to enjoy the grounds which looked beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamacsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

First of all, the grounds of this circa 1830 estate are restful, quiet & peaceful. A Storybook Inn itself is absolutely beautiful with lush, yet comforting public rooms on the first floor, a gorgeous conservatory in which to partake of breakfast or afternoon teas when offered (Christmas as example). The second floor suites are wonderfully themed from films and decor is chosen to reflect the theme of each suite. The suites (we stayed in the 'Casablanca' Suite) not only have charm, but the utmost in comfort with access to a refrigerator, coffee/tea station, and snacks on the floor and wonderfully comfortable beds, fine linens, and plenty of room with sitting areas to relax with a book, a drink or watch TV or a DVD/Video.

Now to the ultimate breakfasts! The delicious breakfasts are organic & as healthy as they come. The food is outstanding, at least everyday we were there (4 days) with the best breakfasts one could imagine! Much of the food contents are from local farms/vendors and the selection is awesome! Relax, indulge & look over the gardens from the conservatory, bathed in sunlight.

We have traveled & stayed in some fine hotels & B&B's in the US and the UK, but this is the best B&B in which we have ever stayed in the US. It is in the midst of horse country, amid the rolling hills of beautiful Kentucky near Lexington. There are many historic sites to explore, villages of shops (also antiques) and restaurants in which to indulge yourself.

Although we didn't have the time, Elise can also arrange a massage for you as well as dinner reservations at local restaurants. I may be forgetting some of their amenities, so it is best to check the website for A Storybook Inn.

Lastly, the staff is excellent. The Innkeeper, Elise, does a splendid job and is the epitome of Southern charm and warmth. The rest of the staff along with Elise will be sure to make you feel nurtured and rested and their pride in A Storybook Inn shows in their faces & actions. This is a place of warmth, comfort & a respite from the world and I cannot highly recommend a stay at A Storybook Inn in the countryside of Kentucky!

Room Tip: The Casablanca Suite was on the second floor and a good size complete with a sofa & chair at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Please DO NOT HESITATE to make your reservations and stay at A Storybook Inn if you are in the Lexington area. The attention to detail, level of service and wonderful dining are just the start of what we experienced. Elise, Veronica and the staff made a stress-filled previous 3 months melt away upon arrival. It is our new destination location when visiting the Blue Grass State!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A Storybook Inn is named perfectly. This is a charming B&B. It has been beautifully restored and updated. It is extremely well maintained and many details have been met. The rooms are beautifully decorated with warmth and flare. Elise, the owner, brings her own warmth and flare as well. She is committed to providing her guest with the hospitality of Kentucky. You will absolutely drool over the breakfast she prepares. We loved our stay and we were just so comfortable there. This is a B&B you don't want to miss if you are anywhere near Versailles.
You will come away with wonderful memories of great joy and pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivebirds55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Versailles
11.6 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#17 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
13.0 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#3 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Best Western Lawrenceburg Inn
Best Western Lawrenceburg Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrenceburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rabbit Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Storybook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Storybook Inn

Property: A Storybook Inn
Address: 277 Rose Hill Ave, Versailles, KY 40383-1223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Versailles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, historic...A Storybook Inn is upscale in every way! A Select Registry Property. Excellence in style and service! There is a reason that our wonderful guests give us 5 star reviews! Incredible culinary delights! More like a small European luxury hotel say our well-traveled guest! At A Storybook Inn, our emphasis is on you! This dear old place envelopes one with a delicious sense of calm! Minutes from the world famous Keeneland Race Course, world class Thoroughbred Horse Farms. We can arrange a tour for you! A Storybook Inn is a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the world. We have hosted guests from around the world, including ambassadors and European royalty's entourage. But we also host the local events with the same distinction. Our 50 foot glass conservatory with the garden view is a splendid place to have your multi-course breakfast. Come see why A Storybook Inn is "close to everything but world's apart!" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing