We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3-Day Weekend!”
Review of The Woodford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Woodford Inn was wonderful. We ate dinner one night in the restaurant and breakfast was provided with our package. All the food was great. The grits were divine and we have already told all our friends and family about the pimento cheese stick appetizer. (Amazing!) Our room and bathroom were extremely clean and comfortable. We highly recommend this inn if you are visiting Lexington/Versailles. Don't miss the antique mall out the front entrance of the inn. Mary Ann, the owner is a wealth of knowledge about the area and provides wonderful recommendations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 263 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our room was large and comfortable The front porch rockers comfortable (though one was noticeably in need of reoair) and the grounds attractive. We were told by a local shopkeeper that "new management" at the inn was making strides. We hope these things are on the "to do list": security floodight right outside our room was on all night, both nights; ceiling fan light did NOT work. The house was dark and no one present when we arrived on a Sunday at check-in time; trash on front porch from previous guests was still there the next morning; no staff ever present Sunday night so no ice available from the locked up bar/kitchen; no coffee or cups in our room for "make your own" on day 2 and no coffee station visible anywhere else.
We ate dinner one night, breakfast 2 mornings: meals were inexpensive n served hot but no water, no spoons, no refills on tea/coffee. The young dinner wait staff was very friendly and equally willing to help IF you could flag them down. On dsy 2, the morning cook staff were very busy prepping 2 catering orders but as time allowed they took our order, brought spoons for coffee (again, why not put them with knife n fork in the napkin roll) n cereal. Breakfast was plain, simple fare. No staff, except very busy cooks, on site when we checked out, so no one with whom to share our comments. We'll keep an eye out for future good reviews of WI and as things continue to improve we'll consider a return visit. We are rooting for ya!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eB0LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Versailles and the lovely inn. They were very hospitable and could not do enough to help us get acquainted to the area. Our room was lovely and they had a new Tempur-Pedic mattress on the bed which made our nights rest great. We ate both evening meals at the inn (Addie's) and the food was fantastic and so reasonable. We enjoyed driving through the beautiful horse country. They made reservations for us for a tour at the "Three Chimney's Horse Farm". We would definitely recommend going there to see the farm and the beautiful stallions.

Room Tip: Room 7 had a great bed and room was very nice and the bath had been re-done. We faced the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandcking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stumbled across this Inn by accident and were very pleased with our overnight stay there. The inn itself was decorated lovely and had a real welcoming and homely feel about it. The room we had was so comfortable and looked over the front gardens. We had dinner on the outside terrace and thoroughly enjoyed it. At all times the staff were so friendly, welcoming and helpful. They advised us of a nice drive around the bourbon trail, which took us past from lovely properties. Overall it is a lovely place to stay and would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianneba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I just returned from two nights at the Woodford Inn. Located in the heart of the Bluegrass on the famed Bourbon Trail, the historic Inn offers a quiet retreat with clean, spacious guest suites. The in-house bar enables guests to have a drink without driving; Addie's (restaurant) offers such Southern favorites as Hot Browns and Shrimp and Grits. We spent one day shopping in Lexington. The next day, we enjoyed the beautiful drive to nearby Irish Acres Antiques Gallery. The road from Woodford Inn to Irish Acres winds between stacked-stone fences and among picturesque horse farms. Irish Acres was amazing, including the gourmet lunch in The Glitz. A family-owned and operated business, the Woodford Inn is a snapshot of Southern hospitality. The staff was gracious and accommodating. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: We had No. 5, a corner suite with windows on two sides, one set of windows overlooking a park. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The property is located on a quiet corner in the small town of Versailles. We stayed 3 nights in room #6. Nice big room with a memory foam bed. The bathroom is good sized and well appointed. Note for light sleepers, the a/c is very quiet. The weather was extremely hot during our stay but the room stayed very comfortable. We checked in with Kayla. She couldn't have been nicer. All of the staff made us feel at home. The Woodford Inn is a short drive from the Lexington airport and the "Bourbon Trail".

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReisenAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was really nervous about the idea of staying in a B&B. I have social anxiety and the idea of interacting with strangers during all my meals gave me hesitation. Lucky for me Woodford Inn is more like an inn than a B&B as it was listed, at least from what I've read.

The grounds are beautiful, and the property is adjacent to historic downtown, full of interesting shops, and a very large park with playgrounds and walking trails. Our room was very nice, and the bathroom was large and welcoming - the inn provided locally produced goat milk soaps made by a young boy who raises goats. This might sound weird to some people but it was right up my alley.

We had dinner in the sunroom, the food was amazing, and it is a really pleasant place to dine. Lots of people that were not staying at the inn came in for dinner. They have a very nice beer menu and decent wine selection. Breakfast was pleasant, but we were the only people eating, so the staff was very focused on us. This made me a little nervous, but I think most travelers would enjoy the pampering.

Our bed was very comfortable, staff was friendly and welcoming. We spent some time in the evening sitting in rocking chairs on the porch watching thousands of fireflies flash around the front lawn.

We had a very pleasant brief stay, and would recommend the Woodford Inn for a relaxing getaway.

The only issues we had were a burned out lightbulb in the tableside lamp, and the jacuzzi tub did not work. Everything else was perfect, and these were really non-issues for us. I'm sure if we had asked one of the staff about it they would've fixed it.

Room Tip: The staff asked about our visit and chose a room for us overlooking the park because it has a nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seajewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Versailles
11.4 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
628 reviews
11.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lexington
Staybridge Suites Lexington
#28 of 71 in Lexington
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#5 of 10 in Frankfort
201 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
12.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodford Inn

Address: 140 Park St, Versailles, KY 40383-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Versailles
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a sponsor of the famous Kentucky Bourbon Trail, The Woodford Inn is a twist from your "traditional B&B" and provides a lively and personal experience the moment you walk in the door! Addie's Restaurant & Bar is located on the first floor, which also includes our outdoor pavilion for dining and live music during warm weather. It is a staple for not only the customers staying at the Inn, but for the local community as well. If you are looking for beautiful rooms, great dining and fun staff, look no further than The Woodford Inn for your next stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing