We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who knew???” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taylorsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taylorsville
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Who knew???”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wow!! Just returned from a girls weekend at Edgewater Resort. We had a 2 bd/2bath and it was perfect....clean (just a few small details had been overlooked), spacious, wonderful lake view and the best part.....not having to drive 4.5 hours to the Smokies!! Who knew that 30 minutes from our doors such a beautiful resort existed?? The massage and salt scrub at the spa were among the best I have ever had.....Benjie was the best!! We are already looking to return in Feb. and again in April. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceann407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    23
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had our annual girl's trip here. It's a good location if you want to "get away", yet it is close enough to Louisville or Bardstown if you want some city action. There were five of us in a 2 bedroom (,1 queen bed, 2 twins, and a trundle), 2 bath cottage (#17) and we were very comfortable. The cottage was immaculate, well stocked, and nicely decorated. Having a hot tub on back patio with lake view was nice; they had it already turned on and heated upon our arrival. Pool was nice. Beautiful, relaxing, nature setting. We all had spa treatments in the charming spa with extremely skilled therapists.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have been vacationing in Cabin # 4 at Edgewater and it has been wonderful. The cabin was ready when we checked in and spotlessly clean. The kitchen and baths were both well stocked. The cabin was very comfortable. We have been touring the area enjoying the distillery tours, restaurants, Louisville Slugger museum, Churchill Downs, and a Louisville Bats baseball game. Each evening when we get back from visiting attractions we have enjoyed a glass of wine on the deck in the hot tub taking in the beautiful lake view. This resort is a real jewel.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about the lake view when reserving. We have really enjoyed being able to take in tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisHavinfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

7 adults expecting relaxation mixed with fun. Relaxation factor was awesome, but fun was extremely limited. A staff member called off! 1! and we couldn't rent our kayaks, we could not use the pool. Office stated they could not control weather - we had a storm the evening before and no one person available to test the water, clean it, or anything! Plugged toilet, called office - did not answer phone or listen to their messages. After returning from Pontoon boat day ( 8 hrs) still no fixed toilet. Had to get plunger do ourselves! So on a scale of 1 to 10 staffing rated a 1. No fire pit - staff did not know if county ban was lifted. Could not answer anything or do anything! If you do use pool - it closes at 7:00. to many rules for adults! On the positive side, hot tub was awesome, comfortable living, and okay nature trails. Probably will not go back here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a five family reunion with all ages represented. The cottages were clean and well stocked for cooking etc. The pool was nice and we also rented a pontoon at the lake. Between the two everybody stayed entertained and happy. We played games outside during the evening in the cul-de-sac. The management is friendly and helpful. We had a great two night reunion.

Room Tip: Families should ask for a cul-de-sac cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights from 04/13-04/15. We stayed in Cottage 22. I thought it was very charming, romantic, and allowed you to be far enough from city life, yet close enough to enjoy Louisville a bit. The hot tub was fabulous and I was able to enjoy it most of the weekend. The downfall I would say would be all the charges you could accrue if you didnt watch yourself all the time. (ie, $25 fee if you didnt load the dishwasher before you left)

My husband, on the other hand, pointed out that the front porch was wobbly and boards were coming loose, the front lock was slightly crooked, there was an unfinished wall in the bathroom, the toilet was loose, and there were no shades in the back windows of the cottage.

::sigh:: But my husband is a perfectionist. (And apparently partially a chick.)

We completely appreciated the additionals. We went on a 90 minute kayak ride, which was so much fun. (Even though it rained the whole time) We had little chocolates as we walked in, and lots of winery discounts. We went into Louisville for the day and went to the 21C museum, walked downtown, and ate at The Sandwich Shoppe.

Next time, I would def come back.....but maybe with a girlfriend. :)

Room Tip: Lower numbers have a better view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank froggieprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I took advantage of a Living Social deal and stayed for 2 nights in March. The resort is comprised of a number of cottages, most with a nice view of Taylorsville Lake. Ours was located on the end of a cul de sac with a beautiful view. The cottage was very impressive for the price and well maintained.

We decided to get massages but were worried that it wouldn't be that great as Taylorsville Lake is somewhat remote. We were both pleasantly surprised as they were pretty good.

I'm into fishing and found out from the manager that I could access the shoreline from the resort grounds. Must have been a good spot as I ended up pulling in 9 fish in about 2 hours.

When we go back to Taylorsville Lake we'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BradyE_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taylorsville
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Property: Edgewater Resort
Address: 1238 Settlers Trace Rd, Taylorsville, KY 40071-9632
Location: United States > Kentucky > Taylorsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taylorsville
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Taylorsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing