We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
LOTS of info, good staff too!

We don't hike. Wife has limited mobility and I'm lazy! So, we were driving through the gorge... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2018
FLYBYU
,
Western Kentucky
Informative

Learn about the geology and history of this beautiful part of the country. Nice exhibits and video... read more

Reviewed June 30, 2018
JQuilter
,
Noblesville, Indiana
via mobile
Read all 13 reviews
  
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
8
3
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
3
1
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018

We don't hike. Wife has limited mobility and I'm lazy! So, we were driving through the gorge. The staff quickly pointed out some of the more scenic drives and overlooks and made suggestions at to activities we could enjoy from the car. Tons of good info there and the staff was more than courteous--they were down-home friendly and acted interested in our trip!

Thank FLYBYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Learn about the geology and history of this beautiful part of the country. Nice exhibits and video. Clean restrooms. Helpful rangers

Thank JQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

We stopped in a few times during our stay. Got some good information and the visitor's center is super clean!

Thank klynn1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

The visitor center was clean and organized, lots of information about the geology and history of the area, and it is free. Staff was knowledgeable and friendly, they knew all the good attractions to stop and see. If you are new to the area, stop here first to help plan your visit

Thank wagnekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

Very helpful and knowledgeable and nice place to learn about the Red River Gorge area. Lots of displays here and maps.

1  Thank letsdotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017

Stop in - a lot to read and see. The ladies working were so nice and helpful - they provide maps, give you points of interest to see and answer any questions. We were on motorcycles and wanted to avoid gravel, needed good points of interest with not a lot of hiking since we were in full leather and also told us places to find gas, to eat, etc.

1  Thank sm99220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017

Ranger was very helpful but only for trails in her area. Remember that Daniel Boone is a couple hours drive from north to south so it is broken up into districts.

1  Thank BMaud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

Great place to get some info on the area. Also displays with historical information as well as some interactive stuff for kids. Check hours to make sure it's open.

1  Thank Blondbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

Informative, great for kids, lots of information on the area. Ranger was helpful on trails. You could spend 30 minutes to an hour. It's air conditioned too!

1  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017

The Center was without AC when we visited, so the restrooms were hot, but they were clean and with running water. There is a very neat relief map of the area and several animal displays. There's also an area especially for kids with crafts they can make. I think one of them was a butterfly feeder. In addition there are staff members there to answer your questions and help with hiking and map questions. If you are a serious hiker I believe you should purchase a good map; the freebies have very resolution.

1  Thank G4238HLmichaeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews