We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Springfield Inn(Springfield)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$90
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Inn(Bardstown)
$122
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Harrodsburg)
$53
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
361
38
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
361
38
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbourbon trailbed and breakfastother guestscivil warbreakfast was deliciousjacuzzi tubhouse is beautifulthoroughly enjoyed our stayhome away from homelincoln libraryroad tripclara bartontylerllamasrelaxationdistilleriesfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 408 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed here from April 18th-20th 2014 with a party of four. To begin, our host Todd was exceptional. He not only went out of his way to make sure every need was taken care of, he was also a fantastic resource for area attractions and the rich history of the home. We stayed in the Clara Barton room which easily accommodated 4 adults. There was desert each night we were there (blondies, bourbon pecan pie, and pineapple upside down cake) and each one was delicious. They also provide complementary beverages 24x7. The breakfast was one of our favorite parts and left you feeling very full before your day with exceptional food. After breakfast we would stroll the grounds watching the alpacas and llamas graze the fields, adding just another touch to our stay.

Maple Hill is conveniently located near a number of local attractions. The Lincoln Birthplace state park is only a few miles away (although we didn't make it here). We did the Bourbon Trail and were able to make it to all the distilleries we had planned (Makers Mark is only 15 minutes away). There are also a number of wineries in the area that are close by. Springfield is a quaint little town only a few minutes away and offers a few restaurants we greatly enjoyed (Snappy Pizza, Mordecais).

We would absolutely stay here again and would definitely recommend it to everyone. The historic home coupled with the outstanding service and attention made this a truly unforgettable vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HokieAaron88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd A, Owner at 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you Aaron and Family for your recent stay and informative review. We enjoyed hosting your family and look forward to having you back soon! Thank you again, Todd & Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The host, Todd, was wonderful. The inn was fabulous, like staying in a museum, with 14 foot ceilings and period furnishings throughout. The rooms were huge and the beds were very plush and comfortable. We spent the days visiting various historic sites related to Abraham Lincoln and his family. Then we spent the night in our beautiful Lincoln-era rooms. This is only my second stay at a bed & breakfast, and it was a wonderful experience. I will definitely try it again, and I recommend Maple Hill Manor.

Room Tip: My room was at the top of the stairs, and it was completely quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 848Mira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd A, Owner at 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you 848Mira! We appreciated your "wonderful" comments. Thank you for mentioning all the Lincoln sites around our location, as there is an abundance of Lincoln sites to enjoy. Springfield's new Lincoln Legacy Museum in our historic Courthouse is incredibly well organized and educational. The Lincoln Homestead State Park just 5 miles away showcases the log cabins where the Lincoln Family lived...it all started right here for Thomas Lincoln and Nancy Hanks, parents of our most favorite U.S. President! Not far away, is the Lincoln Birthplace National Park - an amazing place, that is FREE TO TOUR! Knob Creek is considered Lincoln's Boyhood Home, a log cabin located in an incredibly beautiful valley location - it's one of my favorite places to just sit, relax, and think about what it must have been like in Lincoln's early years and the education and perception that was formed at this simple setting, surrounded by such a majestic landscape! Thank you again, Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The manor is beautiful, and the history is equally as fascinating. It has some interesting ties to the Civil War, and that added to its allure.

Even more charming than the property (which is almost impossible to out-charm) is the graciousness of the service you will receive here. You will feel quite comfortable in the presence of one of the most polite and genuinely nice people you have ever met.

The innkeepers have also raised 2 very friendly dogs you will encounter on the property...they were raised so well that our 6-lb diabetic and shy Chihuahua actually played with them outside for awhile. He hasn't made friends with any dogs outside our home...ever! What wonderful memories were made.

We also appreciated the easy drive into Bardstown-a straight shot and just what we needed for a relaxing getaway. No maps or getting lost, just easy country living.

There is so much to say, but most has already been said here. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which has a private entrance and deck at the back of the manor. Perfect place to run in and out with our little dog.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtneyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd A, Owner at 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you Courtney for posting such a glowing review of your stay at Maple Hill Manor. It was a pleasure hosting you and your lil one ... our dogs loved your Chihuahua! We look forward to seeing all three of you again soon! Thank you so very much! Todd & Tyler, Owners/Innkeepers, Maple Hill Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Exceeds Expectations in every way that a B&B possibly could.
Great Home, Outstanding Service and good eats!
We tied this 3 night stay in with the Kentucky Bourbon Trail including a side day trip to Keeneland.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd A, Owner at 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you Ken for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Maple Hill Manor. It was a pleasure hosting you and your group for the Bourbon Trail as well as racing at Keeneland. We are centrally located among the Bourbon Trail Sites...and only 40 minutes from Keeneland Race Track. We look forward to having you and your group back, as there is an abundance of things to see and do in our area! Don't forget about the Kentucky Cooperage, where 95% of the barrels are produced - they offer and informative, behind the scene tour of how the Bourbon Barrels are made - it's fascinating! Not to mention, all the small crafted distilleries around us, such as Limestone Branch, Willett, Wilderness Trail, among others. Please just let us know when you are ready to return - we would love to have you back! Until then, continue enjoying that Kentucky Bourbon! Thank you again! Todd & Tyler, Owners/Innkeepers, Maple Hill Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at Maple Hill Manor in March '14. The rooms are exactly as promoted on the site and the overall location is perfect for a getaway. The manor is situated just off the beaten path, which makes it feel special --- yet still close to regional attractions. We will definitely be back and soon! Also, the breakfast and desserts are fantastic!!!!! Todd makes everyone feel so welcome and goes the extra mile to ensure every guest feels warmly welcomed.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd A, Owner at 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for sharing such a glowing review of Maple Hill Manor! We appreciated your comments and helpful advice for other travelers. Our off the beaten path, does serve us well in that we are centrally located among the Bourbon Trail, Wine Trail, Lincoln and Civil War Heritage Sites...and one feels like they truly escape to a peaceful and relaxing country setting after a busy day of touring the local attractions and shopping the quaint gift shops and antique stores. We are so very glad you had such an enjoyable experience! We look forward to having you back soon! Thank you again! Todd & Tyler, Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews