We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful staff and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Somerset
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Somerset
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I work at a red roof inn in Indiana and stayed her for 2 nights and it was great the staff was so nice even give me a late check out, The room was spacious and clean with a safe in room which was very nice to have so our belongings were secure not that we needed it..lol I was very impressed with everything about this location

Room Tip: We had a king smoking room it was great
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAIOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset702, Manager at Red Roof Inn Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for such wonderful comments. We are glad you were satisfied and enjoyed the time you spent at our location. Thank you very much for your business and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Somerset
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 151 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Ive stayed in this hotel before with some friends and had a wonderful stay so I decided to stay there for myself because of the pleasant stay before. I was only going to stay for one night, but decided to come one day early and went ahead and made another room reservation. Upon arrival I was checked in with ease and the clerk was able to make sure I didn't have to change rooms the next day due to a separate reservation. Due to being fully reserved with regular king size bed rooms they gave me the ADA handicap room which is fine. I spent the first night in this room, but that night when I went to take a shower the drain would not drain and resulted in a flooded bathroom floor. If anyone has ever stayed in a handicap accessible bathroom you know how the showers are and any slight of a slow drain will cause chaos. So I went to the front desk told the clerk and he wrote it down to have maintenance check on it in the morning, but after almost 12 hours later maintenance never showed up and the shower of course still wouldn't drain. After a full day of activities and not a full shower the following day I was ready for a nice hot shower. I then called the front desk and talked to another young gentlemen who was quick to respond and quickly moved us to another room and even upgraded us to a jacuzzi room for our troubles. He even went so far as to help us move our luggage to the other room. I've stayed in many hotels and have never had any staff go to the lengths he did to correct the mistake. I believe his name was Rudi and if any of the management from this hotel reads this, this guy is the real deal and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was great!
This hotel has been remodeled and is actually super clean and tastefully decorated. The beds are fairly comfortable if you like a more firm bed. Pillows were nice and bedding was clean. The price is great and this is probably the best budget hotel in somerset. Thus being why is rated so high on trip advisor. It's a little noisy during the day due to traffic and being right off one of somersets busiest roads, but it quiets down during the night. They offer a small continental breakfast which consist of doughnuts, different breads, muffins, bagels. Cereal, coffee, milk, apple juice and some fresh fruit. Which is perfect for a quick grab breakfast when heading out the door. All of the staff are super friendly and even housekeeping were very helpful with making sure we had fresh towels, enough pillows and the trash changed in our room. I will definitely be visiting this hotel again in the future. My only issue the entire time is the shower drain in the handicap accessible rooms which will be avoided the next time. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ADA handicap accessible rooms they're located in the front end of the hotel so...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalownsyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset702, Manager at Red Roof Inn Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your day to write us a review. I would like to first start off with an apology for the drain not running properly. I’m very pleased to hear our staff was accommodating and went above and beyond to make you feel comfortable during your stay. We hope you will come see us again next time you are in Somerset. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you soon. Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is in an accessible location very easy to get to .. People are great , customer service people are very friendly, rooms are nice size but could use some updating .. Carpet in my room was very dirty and really needed a deep cleaning , and my room door did not lock properly you had to slam door to make sure it was closed, not a bad experience but wouldn't stay again or recommend it either.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Dustin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset702, Manager at Red Roof Inn Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel. We hope you will give us another chance next time you are in Somerset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Needed two rooms for the weekend so was looking at good rates. Pictures looked good ( but who really knows if recent or not? ) so booked two king rooms of which one was ADA. The rooms were spacious, very clean and looked as if recently remodeled. Beds were very comfortable and believe me, I am a picky sleeper! The ADA room easily accommodated my Mother with her walker and wheelchair. It is a pet friendly hotel and no pet fee charged. My dog sniffed a couple of times then settled down, so that told us the room had been thoroughly cleaned. Breakfast furnished was adequate with coffee, juice and an assortment of pastries, cereals and breads. Rooms have microwaves, refrigerators and coffee pots. Only negative was street traffic sounds but that was just early in the evening. We will definitely stay here on future trips.

Room Tip: Booked online
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset702, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We greatly appreciate you taking time out from your day to write us a review. I am pleased to hear that our accommodations were a perfect match for you. We look forward to having you back with us at the Red Roof Inn on your next trip to Somerset, KY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff including Mr Martin always has a room ready for me. Also have plenty of room for my truck and usually gets me a room right across from it. They also recommended a restaurant that I can sit and enjoy dinner before I call it a night

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank negrete69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset702, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your nice comments about our hotel. We are happy to know that you were completely satisfied with our location, and the service provided. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were in Somerset for the Labor Day weekend and decided to stay at the Red Roof Inn because of the GREAT price per night. We had our reservations at first, but were hopeful given the reviews on Trip Advisor. I am happy to say that this was a great room for the price.. This Red Roof Inn has been recently renovated and the rooms are VERY nicely done and clean. The staff was excellent as well. My wife left her Ipad in the room, and the staff called us about it, and shipped it to us promptly. Great room, Great Staff, Great Stay!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My stay at Red Roof Inn in Somerset was very nice. I checked in at shift change and was greeted by two genuine smiling faces. Becky and Rudy made the check in experience a great beginning to my stay. I was pleased by the cleanliness and newness of the room. The only thing I would suggest is that the air conditioner be turned on before entering the room. But it took no time for the room to cool down. I was tickled with my entire stay, ending with Dunkin Donuts was very nice. Thanks for a nice night!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beth sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 11 in Somerset
101 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Somerset
68 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Somerset
Super 8 Somerset
#10 of 11 in Somerset
158 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Somerset
0.8 mi away
Best Western Somerset
Best Western Somerset
#2 of 11 in Somerset
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Somerset

Address: 1201 S Highway 27, Somerset, KY 42501-3526 (Formerly Landmark Inn)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Somerset
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range: $49 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Somerset 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Somerset in Kentucky! This hotel is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. Red Roof Inn Somerset is near beautiful Lake Cumberland --one of the largest man-made lakes in the nation, nestled by the Daniel Boone National Forest. While Lake Cumberland’s 1255 miles of shoreline serves as a great place for boating, fishing, and skiing, Red Roof Somerset’s southern hospitality makes guests feel right at home. Also while in Somerset, enjoy the fun recreational activities at Rocky Hollow Park and other state parks and national recreational areas nearby. For car buffs, catch the Somernites Cruise Car Show! This hotel is also conveniently located near Lake Cumberland Regional Airport (SME), Lake Cumberland Regional Hospital, Somerset-Pulaski Airport, Somerset Community College and Mill Springs Battlefield Visitors Center. Enjoy continental breakfast (served 6:30am - 9:30am) at Red Roof Inn Somerset! All rooms offer free WiFi internet access, in- room safes (for a nominal fee), and also feature microwave & refrigerators. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. Our outdoor pool is open Memorial Day Weekend through Labor Day Weekend (weather permitting). One small pet per room is welcome. ***MEETING ROOM IS CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE.*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing