We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Looking Forward To Staying There Again”
Review of Doolin House

Doolin House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doolin House
Ranked #2 of 4 Somerset B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2008

We stayed at the Doolin House from May 7th thru May 10th and just loved it. The place is georgous and very inviting. Allison and Chuck were very helpful and nice. Loved the food. There is no compairson to the Doolin House and a hotel you feel right at home staying at the Doolin House. We will defintely stay there again. Hope other people try the Doolin House I do not think they will regret it. Hope to see you soon. Dennis and Vicki

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BAKBAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Man O' War room which was very large and had a jacuzzi tub, flat panel tv, gas fireplace, and a very comfortable bed. There was plenty of room to spread out and have dinner in the room. We had a wonderful fruit plate and cheese plate delivered and opened our own bottle of Champagne (dry county). The food was absolutely the top select. Breakfast was complimentary with the room but was no holiday inn express deal. We had the most gourmet breakfast dishes I have had in a long time. The pancakes are exceptional with a lemon almond sauce. The house is quite new and as a result is very clean and well maintained yet has the charm of a century old manor house. The library is very comfy. We lit the fireplace and read quietly undisturbed for a couple of hours on a cold evening. It was well worth the money and the owners are worth knowing as well. Chuck and Allison were always available and very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FS2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We booked a last minute stay here for an overnight following a family event in Somerset. We were pleasantly surprised with the property, as we had not read a thing about it prior to our stay.
The house has been totally rebuilt, but it still feels very much like a period home. There are antique fixtures, furniture and rugs as well as modern and eclectic art throughout the inn. Many pictures of the original Doolin family are on the walls along with pictures of the new family; a nice touch.The parlor and library are warm and inviting, with excellent reading material and DVDs available. There is a fireplace in the library as well. The parlor has a Gulbranson upright piano which is in major need of tuning/repair. Looks nice, though. There were soft drinks and a bottle of Ky wine in the fridge, but no bottled water. Note: Somerset is still a "dry" county, so bring your own wine for convenience! The dining room is huge and very sunny and cheerful. The owners host dinners and special events in this room as well.
We met owner, Alison, when we arrived. She and her husband are chefs and are quite young to be running such a place. What they lack in experience they certainly make up for in exuberance and enthusiasm. They have 4 choices at breakfast; eggs benedict with a twist (fried green tomatoes on top), French toast filled with cream cheese and raspberry jam, omelet with fresh greens , asiago and red peppers , and a two egg option of any style. Bacon and toast are offered as well as apple or orange juice and monster mugs of delicious coffee. It was a wonderful meal and Alison's cheerfulness made it more special.
We stayed in the Go for Gin room. It was clean, the iron bed was comfortable and the linens were lovely. There was an oversized jacuzzi tub in the small, but clean bathroom. Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries were a nice addition, as were the plush robes. An iron and hair dryer were also in the room. An antique dresser held a TV/DVD combo and there were many cable channels available. We never heard any traffic or noise from other rooms. For $99 a night, we felt is was a very good bargain. We also enjoyed sitting on the huge porch on the second level sipping a glass of wine. There was a coffee maker in our room, but only decaf was offered. Save your craving for the dining room!
We look forward to staying here in the future when we return to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Doolin House for a weekend in July. Granted, we've never stayed in a bed and breakfast so we weren't sure what to expect- we usually stay in large hotels like the Hilton or Marriott, which I am sure is a totally different experience.

We found the Doolin House to be clean, inviting, with lots and lots of wonderful balconies. The bed was fairly comfortable although the pillows left much to be desired. The bathroom was adequate, although when I ran the tub full of water for a whirlpool the water was yellow and I'm not sure why. The decor was attractive and our room (Go For Gin) was nicely set back off the main hallway by a long corridor; we had no problems with sound levels during the weekend.

Our favorites: Whirlpool tub (even with weird water... I just ran it again and it was clear), good breakfast, balconies, generally friendly service (although I never met the wife), the mini fridge with drinks and snacks for guests.

Needs improvement: The drapes in the room no matter how hard we tried would NOT keep the sunlight out so we were up every day by 6am, the balconies were littered with empty coke cans/cigarettes in ashtrays/old wine glasses, and the fact that the very cool fridge for guests was stocked only with coke/diet/sprite (no water?). We also would have liked something other than decaf coffee available for our in-room coffee maker, as well as more than two packets each of splenda and powdered "non-dairy creamer".

Overall, we would stay here again... probably with our own Splenda and water :)

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Dylaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

All I'm going to say is that I hope that, since the couple that owns it is so very young and inexperienced, they will apply themselves towards learning how to better operate a B&B and rely less on their admittedly impressive culinary skills. The place is gorgeous but it is new and built to look old, so the historic ambiance is not there. There are wonderful porches. The rooms are nice, but need more amenities. And, this is not fault of the inn owners, the rail line runs right across the next bluff and when those trains (yes, plural) go thru at night, buddy - you know it.

I say give it a shot and I wish them all the luck in the world. However, I'm trying the Raintree next time.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MorningMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doolin-Owner, Owner at Doolin House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2007

I am so sorry that you had a bad stay with us. I'm just now reading this review or I would have tried to make amends earlier on. Though you may try another Somerset location in the future, we hope to find you back at the Doolin House as we have made many changes since your stay here (we we're newly opened when you stayed). Thank you,
Allison Sobieck, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Somerset, KY
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Somerset
Red Roof Inn Somerset
#7 of 11 in Somerset
159 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Somerset Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 11 in Somerset
106 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Somerset
Best Western Somerset
#2 of 11 in Somerset
229 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn of Somerset
Comfort Inn of Somerset
#6 of 11 in Somerset
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolin House

Address: 502 N Main St, Somerset, KY 42501-1434
Location: United States > Kentucky > Somerset
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing