We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely updated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Somerset
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, OH
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nicely updated!”
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We were in town for a family reunion. This hotel was conveniently located on SR 27 making it quite close to restaurants, shopping and other attractions. The hotel was newly updated as evidenced by the pleasant exterior and lobby. The room was very nice, quiet, and clean. Nice, new fixtures accented the room and the beds were very comfortable. The pool was good but the hot tub only had one working water jet. The breakfast bar was average but apparently was understaffed as food was frequently empty or areas were in need of being swept or the trash being emptied. The staff was friendly but apparently needs a bit of help!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimbusthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    41
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
69
42
6
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

My wife and I stayed two nights after Thanksgiving. The desk staff was friendly and outgoing. However, the room itself, while relatively clean was not made up or restocked after our first night. Upon returning late Friday evening and discovering that the room had not been serviced, I went to the front desk and explained the situation and got more towels. The desk person apologized and quipped, "This happens sometimes."

Later that evening, we went to the pool to relax in the hot tub. We soon discovered that the pump did not work. Beleiving that we must have been doing something wrong, I inquired att he desk and was told, "That thing only works some of the time. It's been like that ever since I have worked here."

On a positive note, the breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. Management, however, left a lot to be desired.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank KyBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

This is a relatively new hotel in Somerset. Room was clean with typical layout. No automatic door into lobby. Hotel is adjacent to Lowe's and Walmart so good parking for large vehicles or those with trailers. Starbucks, Ruby Tuesday, and Cracker Barrel also adjacent. Golden Corral (very popular) and Waffle King across the 4-lane highway. Pedestrian crossing button installed at traffic light but not working at time of our visit. You'll have to run to make it all the way across if the button does not work! Will stay here again if I need a place to stay in Somerset.

  • Liked — Relatively new and near several restaurants.
  • Disliked — No automatic lobby door.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caneyfork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 7, 2006

Our car club visited Somerset, KY over Memorial Weekend 2006 and stayed at the Best Western. The hotel was very clean and the complimentary breakfast was great. But I was most impressed with the staff. After traveling 5 hours in our street rod to get to Somerset, we were all tired and stiff from the ride. Upon checking in, the lady at the front desk was extremely helpfull. When one person in our group asked about the hot tub, she said as long as we were not rowdy, we could stay in the hot tub past the 10:30 closing time. She told each couple in our group that she was working until midnight and if there was anything we needed to let her know. The staff member in charge of the breakfast bar was constantly re-stocking, making coffee, and cleaning. While checking out, the gentlement on the front desk took the time to look up my Best Western point number and made sure I got credit for my stay. I highly recommend this hotel. The cost was resonable and was within walking distance to Ruby Tuesday's, Walmart, and a strip mall.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 15, 2004

This is a GREAT hotel. Clean, nice staff, quiet as can be. This hotel offers the ONLY wired high-speed Internet access at ANY hotel in Somerset, the only other has Wireless and they admit it doesn't work well in many rooms. The wired Internet works great, too. The location is great, right next to a Wal-Mart supercenter open 24 hours, and a Lowes, and MANY resturants and stores within WALKING distance of the hotel. Four floors, nice views, well appointed rooms and VERY VERY reasonable rates for the area. I would recomend this hotel to anyone who travels to Somerset Kentucky.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Somerset Central
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#1 of 11 in Somerset
356 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in Somerset
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#5 of 11 in Somerset
17 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Somerset
Red Roof Inn Somerset
#8 of 11 in Somerset
141 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Somerset

Property: Best Western Somerset
Address: 103 Jefferson Drive, Somerset, KY 42501-2940 (Formerly Best Western Mid-Town Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Somerset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing