We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cabin for a RRG visit”
other travelers have booked this property
Outside of cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside of cabin
Living area Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Outside of cabin
Living area
Living area
Living area
Upstairs bedroom
Downstairs bedroom
Kitchen (pots/pans, fridge, microwave, stove top, coffee maker, toaster)
Bathroom (linens provided)
Cabins tucked away in the trees
What you can see as you walk our maintained trails
What you can see as you walk our maintained trails
What you can see as you walk our maintained trails
Fire pit area
The middle fork of the Red River meanders through the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Slade, Kentucky

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
300hollyh
Powell, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect cabin for a RRG visit”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our first visit to the RRG area. It is always hard to figure out where to stay but the positive reviews of this cabin were spot on. It is a 5 min drive to Natural Bridge trails and not very far from the other RRG trails. We hiked the Natural Bridge area before we checked in. Once we checked in, we ventured back out to Red River Rock House, a cute little restaurant with locally sourced foods. It was close and a perfect way to relax. The cabin has so may nice features tucked into a small space. We used the cook top to make breakfast and dinner. There is also a gas grill with each cabin. They supplied linens. There was a small bottle of cooking oil, olive oil, salt and pepper, coffee filters, and some soy sauce there. The pots and pans were nice as were the cooking tools. The hiking trail were took on the property was nice. The drive way is steep and I was glad we didn't encounter another car coming or going. Oh, there is wifi available and a fabulous communal fire pit. We will stay here again when we return.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you as a future guest. Thanks for the great review :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise_At...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming cabin in the woods”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cabin is located only a couple of miles from Natural Bridge State Park in Slade, Kentucky. The whole area is breathtakingly beautiful, and dozens of well-maintained trails are available within a very short distance, including on the Red River Outdoors property itself. The cabin itself was clean, comfortable, airy and pleasantly decorated, with many amenities available, including a full-sized gas grill and picnic table right outside the cabin door, as well as a firepit just a few steps away. While there is no wifi in the cabin, a reliable connection is available in the yurt (yes, yurt!) next to the firepit. The owners of the property, Wendy and Craig, were helpful and friendly, as was their dog King :-).

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The natural beauty of the surroundings
Liked least: The road to the cabin was pretty steep in places.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2016
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was wonderful to meet you. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Red River Gorge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie S
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Great cabin for a weekend stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cabin was great - clean, had everything we needed, was in a quiet area and was close to the area we were visiting. We didn't have the opportunity to check out the hiking trails much, but were glad to have them available.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities of the cabin
Liked least: wifi access was not very strong
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. You will have to come back to hike our property trails. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue D
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RRO was peaceful, clean, and so friendly!”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin was clean and cozy, the property was secluded and inviting, and the owners were so friendly and helpful - they seemed like old friends.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So clean.
Liked least: Could hear some traffic on the highway.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Thank you for the kind words. I am glad you had a great time and got in some good R&R. I hope your travels find you back in the Red River Gorge in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherrb
Plainfield, Indiana
1 review
“Really Cozy, Cute, Clean Cabin”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Great location for really wonderful hiking trails. The owners are very nice. I would stay again. Loved it!

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny Sut...
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to relax !!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nice and cozy .. close to all activities... . If you dont want to be bothered and like hiking there are trails on sight.. and the stars seem so close..we loved it

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had everything we needed food and clothes was all we had to pack
Liked least: the little road
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and explored the trails on the property. Come back and visit us again anytime. We enjoyed having you as a guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing