We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!”
Review of Hemlock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slade
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hemlock Lodge
Reviewed August 13, 2009

I now know why this is rated one of the 10 Most Amazing Spots in the USA. It is also rated one of the Top 25 Hiking Trails in the country, one of the top 25 Bird Watching Spots, and one of the top 100 Family Campgrounds. I'm here with four of my kids for a wedding, but I can't wait to kidnap my wife and bring her here (SHH - Don't let her know)
MZ from MI

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GoHurons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 98 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2009

Enjoyed staying at Hemlock Lodge. The room was average, well cleaned and quiet. My showers were a bit dicey, the water went hot and cold unexpectantly and had me yelping! I mentioned it was my partners birthday and they gave us a room with a terrific view - not blocked by trees. The mists coming off the mountain early in the morning were lovely. Ask for a room on the lower level with a view of the mountain and pool.The service was very good, everyone was friendly. The restrurant was good and resonably priced - we skipped the buffet, going for a lighter fare. We tried local dishes and the catfish was yummy.
The trails really are right outside the door! Dont take the stairs down to the pool. Go out into the main lobby, around the back of the building and the trails slope nicely to both the pool and the trail head to Natural Bridge and the other trails. Be sure to check out the swinging bridge by Ho-down island. We saw huge snapping turtles in the river! My partner had a nice swim in the pool - go early, as it gets taken over by kids at lunch time. They also offer ranger guided tours everyday in the summer. Most are free! We went on the cave tour, a $5. fee but worth it. We saw bats, frogs, spiders, salamanders, spiders and more spiders. Many of the caves in KY are closed to protect the bats, so we felt lucky to get into this one. The ranger was very informed. Sky lift was fun!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kthulhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We arrived in the late evening and the front desk clerk was very accommodating. Our room was very basic: 2 double beds, toilet, shower, sink, coffee maker, but our rate was great. This was in late March so the price was less than in the summer. I can't comment on the state park as it rained all night and into the next morning so didn't check out the hiking trails. The hospitality at the lodge's restaurant was top notch and the food was awesome! We will definitely return to the lodge, hoping for better weather.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TweetybirdMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We stayed at the Hemlock Lodge and our experience was a plesant one. The room was clean, we had a private balcony (all have one) and the view was beautiful. This is a state park in Ky. with 26,000 acres. The trail to the natural bridge was steep at first and then easily walkable however there is a sky lift if you do not want to walk. The man-made lake/pond was nice, however it does become stagnant if there has been no rain. Paddle boats were not available in March. Overall service was good.
The food was excellent with breakfast, lunch and dinner at specific times. My one complaint is there was no snack machine available, there were however pop machines.
The trails can be dangerous with cliffs in certain areas and the nearest hospital is 45 minutes away.
There are no stores or outlets available and there are very few stores for travelers
Overall there is not much to do, but if a person wants to get away from city life....this is for you.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SteveWard3928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We had high hopes for the lodge, since we had stated in other lodges in Kentucky. We were celebrating our anniversary and naturally wanted something special. The room itself was very average, consequently overpriced. It would remind you of a lower scale Days Inn. The room smelled awful! We finally resulted to purchasing a combination of air fresheners and candles to help the smell. The view that we had hoped would be breath taking, left much to be desired. Nothing could be seen through the trees. The chairs in the room were horribly stained, and we were afraid to use them

We attempted to visit the Hoe-down Island, which we were under the impression that it was free, and when they tried to charge us, we decided it was not worth it. The pond was full of scum, consequently, we decided not to use the paddle boats. The pool was closed down when we went to it, and we were told that someone had put to many chemicals in it, but when we got back to the resort later in the day, after driving an hour to another park to use their pool, there were people in the pool, ironically it was after hours.

When we checked in, no literature was made available to us regarding what the hotel had to offer or what was in the area. We had to go back on various occasions to ask for information.

The food at the lodge, however, is very good. However, the service was deplorable, and everyone was complaining about it.

All and all, don't waste you money at this lodge. Either find a cabin to rent in the area, or go to a state resort like Lake Cumberland State Park Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reviewer-IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

The room was beautiful and clean. Reataurant was great, scenery georgeous. Quiet setting. Much to do. Fantastic climbing routes. Great hiking trails. I would recommend this lodge to any of my friends who like nature and the outdoors. Fall is an absolutely perfect time to visit. A drive around the top of the gorge is unforgettable.
The service was great as well. Southern hospitality at its finest.

Stayed: October 2002
6  Thank ThomI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Henryville, Indiana
115
Reviewed August 6, 2004

I have stayed at the lodge twice now and plan to keep going back every year.
My first visit was in the fall and I can honestly say waking up and going out on the private balcony and watching the fog and mist lift off of the mountains was gorgeous.
Not even a two minute drive to the lifts up to the top of natural bridge,and WOW what a view from there.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slade
6.5 mi away
Cliffview Resort
Cliffview Resort
#1 of 2 in Campton
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Natural Bridge State Resort Park
0.9 mi away
Black Bear Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemlock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemlock Lodge

Address: Natural Bridge State Resort Park, 2135 Natural Bridge Road, Slade, KY 40376-9999
Location: United States > Kentucky > Slade
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Slade
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Hemlock Hotel Slade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing