We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We and our dogs loved it!”
other travelers have booked this property
Big Rock Log Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Rock Log Cabin
Enjoy a Cozy Fire in the Great Room At Big Rock Log Cabin. Master Bedroom At Big Rock Log Cabin Features Pillow Top Queen Bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Big Rock Log Cabin
Enjoy a Cozy Fire in the Great Room At Big Rock Log Cabin.
Master Bedroom At Big Rock Log Cabin Features Pillow Top Queen Bed.
Main Bathroom at Big Rock Log Cabin With Shower/Bathtub, All Linens Are Provided.
Kitchen at Big Rock
Kitchen At Big Rock Log Cabin With Refrigerator, Stove and Dishwasher, Fully Equipped.
Big Rock Log Cabin Decorated For Christmas!
Loft At Big Rock Log Cabin has 2 Queen Beds.
The Loft At Big Rock Log Cabin Is Furnished With Jacuzzi, Sink And Toilet Closet.
Front Porch At Big Rock Log Cabin, With Cricket.
Side door of Big Rock
The Cliff Line and Rock Shelter 100 Feet Out The Side Door Of Big Rock Log Cabin.
Rock Shelter During Winter At Big Rock Log Cabin.
Clifty Wilderness At Big Rock Log Cabin
Camp fire in the Rock Shelter 100 feet out the side door.
Enjoy A Unique Experience With A Camp Fire In Big Rock Log Cabin's Own Rock Shelter.
Big Rock Property
Iron furnace in the local area
Water fall in Red River Gorge
Sky Bridge in Red River Gorge
Owners: John & Anne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Slade, Kentucky

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
an0nym0us...
Villa Hills, Kentucky
1 review
“We and our dogs loved it!”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My wife and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary at the cabin with our two dogs. John was quick to answer all of our questions in advance of our stay. There was several inches of snow on the ground and long icicles on both the porch roof and the big rock ledge when we arrived, but the long driveway to the cabin was well-cleared. The inside of the cabin was clean, warm and inviting, filled with interesting art. The tv worked well so we were able to watch UK win another game. It was a short drive to take the dogs hiking at one of the gorge trails, which they loved! It was a bit treacherous getting to the trailhead for the Rock Bridge Loop in the snow, but luckily we had 4-wheel drive and made it fine. We cooked our dinners at the cabin both nights of our stay, and the kitchen was well-stocked with pots, pans, etc. There seemed to be a number of restaurants nearby to eat, but I think some are closed in the winter months. The campfire area was probably the highlight of this property. It was a perfect spot, providing shelter if needed and already set up with chairs around the fire. All-in-all, we loved the place, and hope to go back when it's warmer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The decorations and campfire area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cujosmom1...
Payneville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed out visit and was very pleased with the cabin. The kitchen was well stocked and the beds were very comfortable. And the entire place was very clean.. Thanks so much for sharing your place with us.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hdc12079
Titusville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect, feels like home”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

I know I am late to the review. I could have sworn I did...anyway. I was just thinking about this cabin the other day. We went for three days and it was fantastic. Clean, inviting, beautiful property. The location is perfect. Center of Natural Bridge and Red River Gorge. No noise. Love the rock cliff shelter with the chairs. Very spacious also. We would go back no question.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As described, but better. Clean.
Liked least: Nothing it was a great stay.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton OH
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cincinnati
Reviewed February 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheryl V
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
“Everyone wanted to stay longer”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

What a wonderful place. The owners have made this a place anyone could enjoy. They have books, games, local maps and information and their own rock shelter!!! This cabin made our trip special. And the fact that it is pet-friendly was the cherry on the sundae!

We are all looking forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the rock shelter
Liked least: no wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing