We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Nighter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Louisville South
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very satisfied with this stay. Greeted by a friendly front desk. Needed two rooms both were clean and meet the very stringent once over by the wife. She did question one of the beds as she found a hair and flecks of dirt on the sheets, but she decided we would stay as she did notice a mild odor of bleach from the sheets which said they were cleaned. Had breakfast at the complimentary breakfast, typical food no wow factor but the gal taking care if the area Jean was very nice,friendly and you could see she enjoyed her job,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn Louisville South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 138 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in the Louisville, KY area on business & was very glad I chose to stay at Fairfield Inn Louisville South in Shepherdsville, KY. This was one of the nicest Fairfield Inn's I have stayed at, particularly nice was the small room fridge & microwave. There are not a lot of dining selections nearby, so a grocery store stop stocked me up for light meals when I worked late but didn't want to eat a full dinner.The breakfast selection was pretty decent - usually a good variety - during the week more so than the weekend. The staff was very friendly & always glad to assist. The location is a bit remote but it was lovely to look at the beautiful green hills of Kentucky & listen to birds sing!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWofMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arrived at the Fairfield Inn exhausted after flight delays and wrecks on the Interstate. We discovered there were over 60 teens and preteens in town for a contest staying here.

Kaitlyn and Amanda were super. They gave us a room at the end of the second floor and promised the kids’ noise would not disturb us. Amanda explained the next morning she had asked the sponsors to keep that end of the hall quiet, and they did!

The room was quite large and the bed was very comfortable. The directions to the hotel on their website were complete and accurate.

This is a good place to stay with a friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this Fairfield Inn in late February. After driving for 13 hours I came to this exit and this hotel and the Comfort Inn were the only hotels with rooms. We skipped on the Comfort because we just don't like Choice Branded hotels.

Hotel itself: This was a standard older Fairfield Inn prototype hotel built in the late 90's early 2000's. I've seen and stayed at a few over the past few years and they were identical to this. All public areas were clean and free of any maintenance issues. Try avoid parking at the rear of the hotel, there is a dumpster with overflowing trash. The lighting in the parking lot was good, it felt safe and we had no problems going out to the car at night. The front desk was smoking right outside the front door when I walked in and left a trail of smoke I came inside. Real turnoff, because I don't smoke and have severe asthma.

Pool & Hot Tub: The area was clean, but it was late and the front desk offered to keep it open. It was clean but had a heavy smell of the chlorine sanitizer.

Rooms: We had only one option when we checked in and it was a king whirlpool suite. The price was $134. The room was large and you can tell it had gone through the funky color Marriott renovation. I wish mid level hotels like this would turn down the colors. A monochromatic or even not so vibrant colors would make the place more inviting. Our room was on the first floor so water pressure was good and water temp was hot. The room was clean, but we did find lots of hair on the top sheet. I went to the front desk and got two fresh sheets and changed them myself. This is a limited service hotel, so they don't have 24 hour housekeeping. Slept comfortable, beds were Fairfield Inn brand standards.

Free Internet: The wireless portion you might as well skip it. The bandwidth was really slow, this seems to be the norm in mid-level hotels like Fairfield Inn. I couldn't find the hardwire connection, so just ended up calling it a night.

Staff: This was disappointing. It started with the night audit smoking right in front of the main door under the porte cochere. Then in the morning, we heard housekeeping yelling at each other from different ends of the hallway. Then we went to the breakfast area and found housekeeping eating in the breakfast area. The two housekeepers were getting breakfast with latex gloves that they clean their rooms with. This was very gross. Then one housekeeper suggested items and she had headphones with loud music. This is very unprofessional and just very disappointing. Check out clerk was friendly, but when told about the staff and breakfast she didn't say anything. Management really needs to have a sit down with their staff and explain professionalism.

Breakfast: Skip it. We ended up going to McDonald's.

The bottom line is this hotel is brand standard Fairfield Inn. The staff had many short comings and if they are going to charge $134 a night, then I would skip on it. The rooms and physical property are fine, but service seems to be missing. If this hotel was in the $80 to $90 range it would be fine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samswildworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a pretty average Fairfield Inn, nothing fancy at a reasonable price. Marriott is our hotel chain of choice but Fairfield Inns are kind of low-end, and can go either way. This property is clean and well-maintained, but definitely an older property, with very basic decor. Passing through on a road trip, the hotel is right off the highway with several restaurants within walking distance. Everything you need if just staying for a night. What made our stay above average, was the guy at the reception desk. He could not have made us feel more welcome, and I'm sorry I forgot to get his name. He was accommodating in honoring our request for a room on the top floor, along with extra towels in the bathroom. All were waiting upon our arrival. Very good service, a decent hotel, and a good night's sleep on a comfortable Marriott bed. (On the other hand, our son, who slept on the pull-out sofa bed, reports that it was very uncomfortable.) Complimentary breakfast was hot, and ample. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjhc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Louisville South, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hello and thank you for your response of how your stay went for your ovenight stay in April. I'm very glad to hear our front desk staff, Jeff, was able to provide our family friendly service. We appreciate your comments and hope to provide future accommodations when traveling through.

Respectfully,
Chris Spears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We phoned on our way to this hotel and were able to reserve a room with everything we needed for our three young children and they even took off a bit of hte price because the hotel was slow that evening. When we arrived, the front desk was "expecting" us and were very kind about the rollaway bed request that we had made. I felt I had stayed there before and they knew who i was. It was good service. The rooms had been updated completely and looked nice and were very clean and had all the same furnsishings you find at other Marriott Fairfield Inn properties. The bed was comfortable. The hotel was quiet, the breakfast was good. All the staff were professional and accomodating.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Louisville South, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our property. I'm very glad your stay went smoothly and we went above your expectations preparing for your arrival. We always try to treat our guests like family and look forward to the opportunity to provide accommodations for any future travels our way.

Hope to see you soon,

Chris Spears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have traveled many places in the U.S. and abroad...this is by far the best place we have ever stayed. The accommodations are always in excellent shape and very comfortable. The staff members are so helpful and looking to our every need. They know us by name and are always happy to see us. They NEVER have not helped us with any request...down to maintenance and housekeeping. Our stay is always so pleasant and we start each morning off with a wonderful and filling breakfast, provided by the hotel. Fairfield Inn should be very happy to have Amanda Goodin and her excellent staff attending to the public like they do. This attention to our needs and to us is what brought us back to this hotel. We have stayed there 5 times now and will continue to stay with them for our needs in the Louisville area.
Respectfully,
Friends from Alabama

Room Tip: Third floor is the most quiet...any room is good!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Louisville South, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hello and Thank You for your continued patronage of our hotel. We appreciate the acknowledgement of you choosing our hotel for over 5 times your accommodations when traveling through! We always try to treat our guests like family from check-in until the time they take that last step out the hotel lobby. Hopefully, I have met you during one of your stays but do stop by the front desk and ask for me personally the next time you travel so I can met you and your family.

Hope to see you soon!
Chris Spears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdsville
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sheperdsville - Louisville South
5.0 mi away
Best Western Shepherdsville
Best Western Shepherdsville
#2 of 8 in Shepherdsville
389 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shepherdsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Louisville I-65 @ Brooks Rd.
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Louisville South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Louisville South

Address: 362 Brenton Way, Shepherdsville, KY 40165-9226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Shepherdsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Price Range: $125 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Louisville South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn Louisville South is conveniently located just South of Louisville only minutes from the airport. We are in close proximity to downtown venues, SDF airport, Sheperdsville distribution centers, and the Gateway to the Bourbon Trail - Jim Beam Distillery. We have completee a recent renovation of entire property inside and out. Each room is complete with flat screen television, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn Louisville South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Louisville South Hotel Shepherdsville
Fairfield Inn Shepherdsville
Fairfield Shepherdsville
Shepherdsville Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing