We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Shepherdsville
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Outstanding Customer Service”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our group made arrangements to stay with this hotel for the state marching band finals. I had called many different facilities before getting to this one. This was the only one who was willing to work within our price budget and time constraints. The manager Doug went over and beyond his duty when it came to our arrangements. The staff was well prepared for our arrival of 60 plus. The rooms were clean, fresh, well stocked and all promised amenities were provided. The hot breakfast was pleasant and the over all presentation was almost as good as a sit down restaurant. I would definitely stay at this establishment again for both personal or business occasions.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsilvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    118
    48
    19
    20
See reviews for
111
120
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BAKER
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

we stayed at this hotel 9/27/13-9/28/13. we booked at this hotel because it was listed as a PLUS. there is nothing plus about this hotel. The girl in the office didn't have any knowledge of the area . we booked here because it said breakfast was at Denneys which it wasn't. The room had a musty odor and the bathroom was dirty and we killed 2 live spiders. To get to the office or to the breakfast area, we had to walk down this long hall which wreaked of cigarette smoke. I don't know if this is a hotel for dogs but while sitting outside the back door a man brought in his large dog to his room and then left. I don't believe I'll stay at BEST WESTERN anymore because the ads are not truthful and I certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DONNA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Best Western Shepherdsville, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to bring your issues to my attention. There is no question that our hotel did not live up to the guaranteed satisfaction that we strive for. On behalf of myself and my staff, we apologize. Since you stayed during the same day as the prior complaint, I want to reiterate to you that as of November 15, 2013, this property will be 100% non-smoking hotel. Reviews such as this, and the seriousness that we take them, has been the deciding factor.
I am hoping that through this move, and through strict enforcement, this problem will properly stopped. I want to further assure you that this hotel has a monthly pest control contract per State regulations, and is fully treated and inspected every 30 days. We make every attempt to eliminate any insects, but no treatment can fully guarantee 100% eradication.
Denny's breakfast was removed by Best Western in August, and we are making every attempt to eliminate this advertising from all websites. To our knowledge, no such verbiage still exists.
I want you to know that we stand by our product and its quality and want to keep you as a loyal Best Western guest. In that spirit, we have given you a full refund on the cost of your room as our apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrero, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I do not know how this hotel became listed as a "plus" hotel. I have stayed at "plus" hotel and this one was nothing like the others. The rooms did not feel clean - we had a non-smoking room and had to walk out of the non-smoking area down a very long hall through the smoking area to get to the lobby. The hall wreaked of smoke - it was disgusting. The hotel advertised that breakfast was at Denny's - when we got there it was in a room at the hotel. We asked the desk clerk where a certain restaurant was and she could not tell us - come to find out it was right across the interstate - she was not familiar with the area. We would not stay there again nor would I recommend it to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Best Western Shepherdsville, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
would like to thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding the problems you had at our hotel during your recent stay. The smoking room issues you raise have brought a serious problem to light at our property, and due to reviews such as this one, as of November 15, 2013, the Best Western Plus South will become a 100% smoking facility. This move will effectively end problems such as the one stated in this review, and will further ensure the continued health and safety of our guests. In the past, smokers still comprised a large part of our occupancy. In a spirit of fairness toward all concerned, we attempted to keep some rooms available for smokers. Unfortunately, as we have learned, confining cigarette smoke to specific areas is impossible. Therefore, ownership has decided to end smoking on this property.
We take reviews seriously, and strive to fix problems as they arise and to protect our valued guests. I have forwarded an email to this guest, to please contact me for a full refund of their stay with us.
To our knowledge, all references regarding “free breakfast at Denny's” have been removed from our websites. I apologize that this service is no longer available. Per Best Western policy, this service ended on August 1. Best Western has no affiliation with the Denny's restaurant. We now serve a full hot deluxe breakfast on property, and so far it has been received almost entirely positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was good bargain to book inline, but two of our four rooms were musty smelling and had to go to 2 new rooms to find on that wasn't smelly. Faucet in one room poured water from underneath it. Beds were comfy. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. When we arrived and went to our room we discovered that we did not have a Microwave and refrigerator which when I made the reservations I was told our room would have these items. I called the front desk and was told I could change rooms or they would get us these items the next day which they did. Room was cleaned and our bed was changed every other day. Room was a good size with flat screen TV. Hotel had a small lounge area. Lounge have special between 4 and 6 pm. The breakfast was standard for hotels. However the food could have been warmer and could have been kept better stocked. They have just open the breakfast room so maybe they will get better as they go along. The carpets in the rooms and hallways really should be cleaned. Making a left hand turn from this hotel is a bit tricky. If we were in the area again we would stay here again

Room Tip: Room in back of hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boopsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Heights, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Large, comfortable rooms. Breakfast was good. Rooms are supposed to come with a refrigerator and Microwave, but you might have to ask for them as we did. This hotel was at about the halfway mark in our projected vacation stops (1 hour from most attractions in Kentucky) which is why we chose it, We were happycwith our choice. It also was easy-on and easy-off the highway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Best Western Shepherdsville, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments regarding our property. Several of our valued guest's have mentioned the lack of refrigerators and microwaves in certain rooms, so your comments are well founded. I would like you to know, and all our guests, that we are working very hard to rectify this problem. The ownership of this property is committed to a great product, and we want to perform beyond brand standards and brand compliance. We are steadily purchasing these for every room in the house and hope to have this project completed shortly.. Please bear with us as we move through the current economy and perform this, and numerous other upgrades, as quickly as budgets allow. I promise, when we are done, you will love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had a 1 night stay at Best Western Plus South which is just off the interstate south of Louisville. Both of our rooms were clean and nice. The hallway is dark and dingy, however. The housekeeping staff and front desk staff were great. Very nice and helpful. Couldn't figure out the kitchen staff and the lady didn't believe me when I alerted her to an empty coffee pot, until the next person told her about the empty coffee pot, then she went to get some more brewed....it came out a few minutes later and was about as weak as could be. The parking lot fills up with truckers and one even blocked access to parking spots at the end of the building when we returned from dinner. Great convenient location for just off the freeway overnight stays. Close to airport without being right underneath the flight pattern. Internet was non-existent...up one minute completely gone the next and next and next. We finally gave up on internet access.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WifeofEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Best Western Shepherdsville, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your valuable comments. I would like to personally apologize for the items in your review that you found unsatisfactory such as the internet and inadequate hallway lighting. This is our first negative comment regarding the hallways, and I will certainly address this issue with ownership to see if upping the brightness of bulbs is warranted. Although we showed no report of internet outage on the date of your stay, many times the problem involves specific laptops, and their inability to lock onto our IP address., We do have a 24 hour support network that helps guests to troubleshoot problems. I always encourage guests to immediatly report problems to the front desk. Once we know of an issue we will move promptly to solve it. Regarding your comments about the breakfast and the lack of coffee, I have personal knowledge of that situatiuon as I beleive " I " was the one who alerted the breakfast hostess to an empty coffee pot. Because of your comments, our training has improved. Comments from guests such as yourself, truly make a difference. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdsville
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shepherdsville
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sheperdsville - Louisville South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Louisville I-65 @ Brooks Rd.
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Louisville South
Fairfield Inn Louisville South
#3 of 9 in Shepherdsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Brooks
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shepherdsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shepherdsville

Property: Best Western Shepherdsville
Address: 211 S Lakeview Dr, Shepherdsville, KY 40165 (Formerly Best Western Plus South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Shepherdsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Shepherdsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Shepherdsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shepherdsville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing