We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Place Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We checked in late in the evening of 10/20/13 for 2 nights. We was given our first room key and went to check it out. Since the bed bug scare we decided to check things out very closely. As we was checking the mattress and box spring we seen all of the dirt/hair. Been along time since this was cleaned. Then seen stains all over the comforter, and the chair. We got a suite so we won't have to sit on the bed all of the time. But we didn't want to sit on this furniture. I called the desk clerk and showed him what was going on. He gave us a second room. So now we start all over again, looking at the mattress and box spring. Something as before, not as bad but there was dirt and hair from other guests. Looked at the comforter and there was a big stain on it. The stain looked like someone had done their business on it, if you know what I mean. The furniture was all stained and dirty. Again I called for the clerk, he couldn't believe what I showed him. I asked him to have a manager contact me in the morning, which they never did. He got us new bedding and we ended up staying. Now its real late and we slept in. Ran down to breakfast at 9:15, the close at 9:30. No one else was in the room, but yet all of the tables were dirty. Had to wash a table so we could eat, what was left. Wasn't that great. At 9:30 the employee's come running in to eat what was left. We check out the next day and the clerk asked us how our stay was. Told them I wasn't satisfied and what had happened. The manager was got finally and again repeated my story. He did take a few bucks off of our bill, but our time there was crap. Will never go back to a Carlson chain motel again.

Room Tip: don't stay here
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lothar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Lothar K,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn and Suites standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 327 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

For years we have stayed at Hilton properties, renting 2 adjoining rooms for our family each time...In an attempt to save money on lodging, we decided to try alternatives... This was the first time that we have tried a Carlson property, and we have decided that we will stick with this chain for a while.

We chose this hotel based on price and similarities to what we receive at Hilton's Hampton Inns (cleanliness, soft bedding, free hot breakfast, indoor pool, etcetera)... We took into account the fact that this is an older hotel, and gauged our expectations accordingly.

We chose a 6-person suite (it was cheaper than renting adjoining rooms)...There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep, but we quickly discovered that our family cannot manage comfortably with only one bathroom (this was the first time that we have attempted this)... Our suite had an adjoining King bedroom, so we went to the front desk to ask about booking this room in addition to our suite... Not only did they book this room for us (just in time, as we all had to get ready for the Old Kentucky Home Dinner Train that night, and it would have been a NIGHTMARE with only one bathroom), but they also gave us a great deal!

This place was a very good, less expensive alternative for us...By comparison, the breakfast options are a bit smaller than Hamptons, but still satisfactory...The beds and cleanliness are comparable...The price is MUCH better...The staff (including management, front desk, and housekeeping) is just as friendly and accommodating as any Hampton Inn... My children loved it (my 7 year-old especially liked the red bedcovers...He said the beds looked like Minecraft beds...lol)...The teenagers said that they didn't notice any difference between this Country Inn and the Hamptons that they are used to.

This location is very close to everything, easy to get in and out of, and set back off of the main road for restful sleep...Our rooms were on the back side, with the Salt River flowing outside of our window (you can't see it from the room because of the trees, but you can see the boat ramp, and you can walk down there to go fishing)...Every day we planned to go fishing in that river, but there was just SO much to do, we couldn't find the time!...Oh well, we will carve out some time for it on a future stay. :)

We are looking forward to our next vacation, and another Country Inn to try out. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a typical Country Inn Suites in decor. The room was what we expected. Breakfast the same, Both well done. The place was very difficult to find, especially in the dark. It is also very close to the freeway making it one of the noisier places we stayed on a two week trip, Thus it went to an average rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 483TerryL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights - we attended the NQC at the Fairgrounds and we like being further out where it is quiet. We prepaid and got a rate of $87 per night plus taxes. We asked for a room on the second floor and got room207 which faced towards the back - overlooked a park-like area. It was very quiet. Room was clean, bed comfortable and sheets, pillows and blankets clean. We had 4 pillows on a king size bed. Bathroom was very clean and TV had adequate number of channels. Breakfast was good and on Saturday they used regular dishes, not the paper/styrafoam ones. Breakfast area is large with plenty of seating. Desk clerk -perhaps the manager, was very friendly and always spoke to us when we entered the lobby. Nice covered porch. Didn't check out the pool or exercise room as we were quite busy. A good place to stay. I would recommend it to all - if smoke sensitive, ask for a second or third floor room,. As others have stated, the first floor rooms used to be smoking ones. We were well pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: If allergic to smoke, choose a room on the second or third floor, facing toward the back so you don...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank findaroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a decent good place to stay. However, this motel is a bit disappointing compared to others in this brand because of the "little things."

The TV selection is pretty good - BUT, the way that you have to change channels is absurd!!!

The breakfast was below par. Beware, the walls are thin, my love, the walls are thin. The pillows are not comfortable and, for an unknown reason, the sheets do not fit the bed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherokeeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel was clean, but in need of updating and deep-cleaning. Carpets and furniture were on the older side. Pool was cloudy, which made us concerned about swimming. Hot tub water was clear though. Noticed a smoky smell in the hallways that seemed to be covered up with fragrance spray. Suite was comfortable though, with a separate sleeping and living area and small fridge. One complaint is that we could not hook the tablet up to the TV to play the kids' movies, as you couldn't access the ports on the TV. It seemed to be bolted down, so you couldn't slide the tray out on the entertainment center to plug anything in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

While it appeared clean the odor of carpet deodorizer was very heavy trying to hide the old smokey smell. The furniture was dated and our tv had fuzzy lines through it. Definitely needs an upgrade. Breakfast was good but crowded with a convention of Mormons in tow. Took 15 min to be able to make a waffle for my son. Staff was friendly and did jobs well. I have stayed at other Country Inns recently and this didn't meet their average standards

Room Tip: Don't get a room on lower level as that's where the smoking rooms used to be.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdsville
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shepherdsville
0.5 mi away
Best Western Shepherdsville
Best Western Shepherdsville
#2 of 8 in Shepherdsville
389 reviews
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sheperdsville - Louisville South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Louisville South
Fairfield Inn Louisville South
#3 of 8 in Shepherdsville
138 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
744 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South

Address: 400 N Joe B Hall Ave, Shepherdsville, KY 40165-6007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Shepherdsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Price Range: $91 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South, KY, where guests are treated to quality services, comfortable rooms and a friendly atmosphere. Located in Shepherdsville, the hotel's location is near popular Louisville destinations like Fort Knox, Churchill Downs, the Kentucky Fair and Expo Center, the Louisville International Airport, the Kentucky Bourbon Trail and Jim Beam American Outpost, and is adjacent to the Paroquet Springs Conference Center. Work out in the fitness center, swim in the heated indoor pool and browse the free high-speed Internet access during your stay. The hotel also offers meeting space, a business center, RV/bus/large truck parking and the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet. Book your stay online today to see what makes the Country Inn & Suites Louisville South one of the area's best values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Louisville South
Country Inn & Suites Louisville South Hotel Shepherdsville
Country Inn Shepherdsville
Shepherdsville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing