We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms nice people, bad hot tub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here one night after watching my brother run a marathon in louisville, kentucky. Got there a little after 3 check in and they give you a goody bag a check in with chips and some candy. went up to room and was supposed to have two queens but got in and had a king did not say anything because it had a couch with a bed for a child. went to pool and tried to get hot tub to work and couldn't get it i tought so went and ask person at desk she said to hit button fast and it would work if not call her and she would come down. so did that and wait for it and it started to blow alittle then the lady from the desk came down and said i see you got it working and i am tanking in my head really that is working so you get a tub blow hardly at all. so you get just a tub with hot water. Breakfast was usual hotel breakfast with waffles fruit bagels donuts biscuits and gravy. I would stay at again tough but would not try hot tub again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshua1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 327 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

The problems at this hotel snowballed after first check in. We checked in with the assistance of a very sweet front desk clerk, who seemed to be micromanaged by the manage/owner. We had stayed at this hotel previously in a room that was directly above the main doors. All night we heard the door opening and closing. We asked not t be assigned that room and found that was the room we were going to get, so she changed us to a different room. Upon entering that room, there was a dirty cleaning towel in the fridge and there was an air cleaner left on the desk. The room had a musty smell. I called the front desk and we were assigned a third room. the manager ran the keys up to us as we waited in the hall. Our final room was ok, but nothing special. Everything was ok until we were returning from the provided breakfast and as we stepped off the elevator, a housekeeper and female manager were coming out of our room. I said to my husband, "Did they just come out of our room?" The manager replied yes and mumbled something about checking the couch. I was absolutely astonished that they would enter our room while we were at breakfast. As soon as the door opened and they could see that we were not checked out, I feel they should have closed the door an waited for us to check out. I felt very uncomfortable with the response we received and I their sheepish behavior. It was all kind of weird. We stay at Country Inn and Suites on a regular basis, but we won't be staying at this particular one again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanatbrdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We experienced an excellent wo day stay at this Country Inn & Suites. We arrived early on an afternoon and did not really expect to see a room ready, nevertheless the room was ready and the reception was professional and courteous. The room was on the third floor thus we had to use the elevator. The lobby was clean, the elevator was clean as was the room. We had a suite which had a sitting are and two flat screen TVs. The breakfast was good however we were there at spring break and there ewer a lot of kids our first mooring. On the second morning we avoided the kid crowd by arriving early before they got up and that worked out great. There is a newspaper avail and there were fresh apples and bananas in the lobby when we checked in as well as being there when we checked out. Parking is right outside the front door although I could envision a parking issue if there was a convention event as the convention center i locate adjacent to this hotel. There was absolutely no road nice from the Interstate as the hotel is several years away from the Interstate. There are many restaurants within a 2 to 5 minute drive from the hotel. The staff at the desk housekeeping and breakfast area were all very nice to us. Could not have ask for better service. While we did not use the pool or any other amenities we did notice many families using them. The TVs worked great and there are adequate channels available for the whole family. One final TIP---If you are member of their frequent guest program you can use award points and cash which will greater reduce the cost of your room. One of the best hotel programs around. AND membership is free.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Maybe there is something in a name. Their themes that play out in their advertising of how much better it is in the Country seem to be true at their locations throughout the mid-west. this is true of the Country Inn and Suites Louisville, South (this one is just a few miles south of Louisville on interstate 65 - It is on the west side of the Shepherdsville, Kentucky exit). We were on the way to Georgia to pick up some things in Athens, and return to Indianapolis. We stopped at this Inn for the overnight. Room was great, staff was very kind, professional and helpful. Breakfast the next morning was more than adequate, and we were then on the road south. All was good.

Room Tip: It is far enough off the interstate, and away from the local traffic pattern, that most any room sho...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on a trip south. We made reservations ahead of time. The hotel was off the highway and our room faced the highway. The highway noise was okay almost a soothing white noise. The hotel is outdated expecially the room. The tv was LCD but actually had a VCR bolted to the table. The channel selection was minimal. The front desk was very pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mezzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I took a weekend get away and wanted somewhere close to the bourbon trail. This hotel was a wee bit outdated but they made up for it in cleanliness!!! It was quiet, clean with a good breakfast in the mornings. The staff was friendly and welcoming. We were able to rest and relax and were only 15 min from the Jim Beam distillery. I was a wonderful weekend for us and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor near the stairs and elevator so we were concerned about the noise b...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here to attend an event nearby. Nice large clean rooms, fresh decor. Nice but small indoor pool area. Fairly priced, room had two queen beds and pull out sofa, microwave and mini fridge. Would and will stay here again. Convenient location, close to interstate and Bourbon/Whiskey distillery tours.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gkhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdsville
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shepherdsville
0.5 mi away
Best Western Shepherdsville
Best Western Shepherdsville
#2 of 8 in Shepherdsville
390 reviews
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sheperdsville - Louisville South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Louisville South
Fairfield Inn Louisville South
#3 of 8 in Shepherdsville
138 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
744 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South

Address: 400 N Joe B Hall Ave, Shepherdsville, KY 40165-6007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Shepherdsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Price Range: $93 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South, KY, where guests are treated to quality services, comfortable rooms and a friendly atmosphere. Located in Shepherdsville, the hotel's location is near popular Louisville destinations like Fort Knox, Churchill Downs, the Kentucky Fair and Expo Center, the Louisville International Airport, the Kentucky Bourbon Trail and Jim Beam American Outpost, and is adjacent to the Paroquet Springs Conference Center. Work out in the fitness center, swim in the heated indoor pool and browse the free high-speed Internet access during your stay. The hotel also offers meeting space, a business center, RV/bus/large truck parking and the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet. Book your stay online today to see what makes the Country Inn & Suites Louisville South one of the area's best values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Louisville South
Country Inn & Suites Louisville South Hotel Shepherdsville
Country Inn Shepherdsville
Shepherdsville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing