We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a typical hotel room, didn't notice many frills” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelbyville
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Its a typical hotel room, didn't notice many frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Without nitpicking, it was a hotel room for me, my wife, and dog. The dog loved the comfortable beds and generous supply of pillows, and the air conditioner unit didn't keep him awake.
Breakfast was no better (or worse) than any other continental breakfast (usually a hot item - biscuits and gravy were common, but they were so-so, IMHO)
Morning and overnight staff were very friendly, the fellow who worked evenings not as much, at least he wasn't nasty.
the 2nd floor did smell of something... cigarettes? maybe, mold? probably.. wet dog? could be. a can of febreeze would do wonders.
This hotel is right next to the interstate, but that wasn't an negative, IMO, the dog and I liked to sit out front and watch the traffic go by at night, after our walks.
Their WiFi was painfully slow (when it worked), fortunately I had an aircard with me (Very good Sprint and Verizon Wireless service there) so I was online with no problems.
Their morning coffee (extra-strong, please!) was probably better than any other hotel-offered coffee I've ever had in the US
Location couldn't be beat (not on most maps, so others can't find it!), right off the interstate away from town. Nice winery almost across the street, bourbon trail not far away.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    151
    76
    62
    37
See reviews for
229
80
31
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

THE GOOD: I have stayed here many times and enjoyed my stays. Rooms are clean and relaxing and the staff is friendly. They have great rates and location is nice. THE BAD: The internet is very, very, very bad. I cannot get any buisness done. It seems to get worse every week. This is unfortunate, because my job brings me to this area and requires me to use internet. I would love to continue to stay here but don't see how. In conclusion I would recommend for anyone not needing fast internet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iworktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jettin169, General Manager at Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Let me start by thanking you for your continued business at our property. We strive at keeping service above expectations. The problem with our internet has been addressed and has recently been completely refitted with higher bandwidth routers. The internet signals have increased significantly. We are also looking into adding more lines to our service so we can provide a greater number of simaltaneous usage. We hope you continue to use our outstanding hotel for you travel needs in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

I was in town for a wedding and stayed in a studio suite on the second floor. They said it was a non smoking hotel but the room smelled like old cigarette smoke and the air conditioner had black mold around the vent. I was also surprised to find mold in the mini fridge when too! To top it all off I got out of the shower and found not one towel in the room. I will never stay there again or recommend someone staying there. The 10 other people that also stayed feel the same way.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unhappy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jettin169, General Manager at Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
As General Manager of this property, I'd like to apologize for the problems incurred during your stay. All of these issues have been addressed and are now completely remedied. It's our mission to ensure guest satisfaction is above expectations. All of our older refridgerators had a defect with the insulated glue on the coil board. Once heated, it began running down the inside of these units appearing like mold. All refridgerators have been replaced with new GE units. Our linen counts have been multiplied 3 fold as to make sure towel counts stay above par. Please take our efforts into consideration during your next trip through Kentucky. We offer an outstanding product and would like you to test us on that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

Our stay at Ramada was only a one night stay but we enjoyed it. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was helpful and friendly. Best of all was the movie theater right next door. We caught the last showing and it was fun! The pool and exercise rooms were maintained and clean. They provide continental breakfast of biscuits and gravy, pastries, muffins, toast, bagels, cereal, fruit, juice, milk, water and coffee. The breakfast was fine but I would recommend going earlier in the morning as they do not appear to restock during the duration of the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dropsofneptune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

This hotel made a good base for visiting distilleries across Central Kentucky's Bourbon Trail. It's a bit outside of Shelbyville proper (which had a cute main drag and downtown) but convenient to the Interstate without being too close to cause noise problems. Nice big breakfast included, with biscuits and sausage gravy on some mornings. Very friendly staff who made it easy to decide to stay an extra night.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidiot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

Highway noise was so bad it was like sleeping in the median. Staff response is that it's not their fault.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HazenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

We were very impressed with this hotel. Reserved online and check in was a breeze - he only asked for my name. The front desk clerk was extremely helpful and courteous. The room was large, clean and comfortable - we had a pack n play with us and there was plenty of room for it. The kids loved the indoor pool. We did not use the exercise room but they had a treadmill, bike, climber and several other pieces of equipment. The breakfast in the morning included waffles, cereal (hot and cold), assorted breads/muffins/etc. There was juice, milk and coffee as well as fresh and canned fruit. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterpan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jettin169, Ramada at Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
Thank you for your recent stay at our Shelbyville Ramada. Our hotel is designed to accommodate all levels of business and leisure guest traveling through Kentucky. Please come back and visit us on your next trip through Louisville. Keep in mind that the Kentucky Derby is just around the corner and we are offering exciting packages to the historic event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge
#4 of 5 in Shelbyville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East

Property: Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East
Address: 251 Breighton Cir, Shelbyville, KY 40065-8132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbyville Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing