We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Shelbyville (Louisville East)
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shelbyville
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hmmmm!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately this was a poor experience - took three of us an hour to check into 3 separate rooms - because each of us had a different price charged for our room by the registration computer. The receptionist was confused and it "took forever" to sort out. However, we insisted on the lowest price ($85.00) even tho' we were very tired and just needed to get to our rooms and sleep - so this was a bad start to the stay. We wanted to find another hotel - but we're told that we would be charged anyway - so we were "trapped". The original cost was outrageous due to a youth convention in Louisville - $102.00 - not including tax - per night. Even given the fact that we ended up paying $85.00 per night, this was still high IMO for very basic rooms, small bathrooms, thin towels, meager soap bar and shampoo. One of our TVs did not work.

The noise made by the young people - banging on railings, running along the balcony in front of the rooms went totally unchallenged by the hotel and led to two very disturbed nights. One of our colleagues went to a hotel a mile or so away and paid $65.00 a night - for better quality in a recognized name hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Shelbyville (Louisville East), responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Ms. Pam,
Thank you for taking the time to let me know where improvement is needed. I am truly sorry for the bad experience you received during your stay. I will re train my desk clerk to speed up check in process. She did honor your request for best rate for all 3 rooms and we did cancel the 3rd night of the reservation without any charge. There was a 30 days advance cancel policy or 1st night would be charged.
We were not aware of the disturbance from the groups or we would have took immediate action.
I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to extend our usual hospitality.
Sincerely,
Kim Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    17
    17
    18
See reviews for
21
15
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The floor had not been vacuumed; there were no toiletries except for a cake of Dial soap; not enough towels; there was a missing easy chair so the corner was vacant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Judson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
0.9 mi away
Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shelbyville Lodge
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 5 in Shelbyville
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville
15.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
24.0 mi away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#5 of 10 in Frankfort
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Shelbyville (Louisville East)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Shelbyville (Louisville East)

Property: Red Roof Inn Shelbyville (Louisville East)
Address: 101 Howard Dr, I-64 & Hwy 55, Shelbyville, KY 40065-9142 (Formerly Days Inn Shelbyville)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Shelbyville (Louisville East) 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently at I-64 Exit 32, Our Inn offers Free Deluxe Cable/ Free WiFi and Free Coffee for 24 hours. Nearby attractions include Outlet Shoppes of The Bluegrass, Horse Farms, Taylorsville Lake, Claudia Sanders Dinner House, Wakefield Scearce Gallaries and more! Located 20 miles West of Frankfort, The State Capitol, and 30 miles East Louisville. We are renovationg our property and can't wait for you to have a Delightful stay in one of our New rooms. My friendly staff await your visit! The Red Roof Inn Shelbyville offers guestrooms that all include free WiFi and a flat screen TV. Select rooms also include microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer, and in-room coffee. Enjoy our free coffee & tea available in the lobby. Free WiFi in all common areas, and expanded cable TV with Showtime in all rooms. Iron & ironing board available for guest use, inquire at front desk. One well behaved family pet per room is welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Red Roof Inn and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Shelbyville (Louisville East) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing