We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
70
22
15
24
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
70
22
15
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit red river gorge hot tub living room daniel boone trash bags wi fi weekend stay wonderful stay beds were comfortable retreat password lakeview
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 141 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2020 via mobile

After 7 months of covid, we booked a couple’s getaway at The Haven at the Red - a cozy, romantic, secluded A-frame in the Gorge. Marketing materials said they had a fire pit, a grill, and a hot tub. They claimed they provided everything you needed but towels.

What they don’t show in photos is the steep angled driveway with no room to back out without driving off a cliff, a hot tub in the driveway (right beside the grill on the driveway) which was next to the fire pit - (adjoining the driveway).

Clearly the fire pit had never been used and for good reason. To sit by a fire you would have to sit directly on a steep asphalt driveway - chairs would fall over, otherwise - and you have the privilege of overlooking a busy street and highway with lights and engines and horns honking.

The place was clean but not kept up or stocked. We had one fork to share between us and just one bowl. There were no knives for cutting the steak - should have brought the hot dogs.

The shower curtain allowed most of the water to land on the hardwood floor and clearly gather under it, probably rotting out the floor under the shower, if one could reach such a conclusion from the sound of heaving floor trusses waiting to give way under the shower. I wondered at times if this was the time the shower would fall through to the floor below. Very exhilarating. The couch springs are completely broken through, comfy until you fall through the couch, and we never did get the TV satellite to work.

And Lying in bed in this secluded romantic destination, you can enjoy the lights of the highway and the stores which you can also see from the balcony, by the way, and you e can listen to the engines and horns of passing motorists, which is way better than the sounds of nature, I’m sure.

Finally, this zero star resort gets two stars because of the perilous thrill of driving in and out of the driveway.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank always0440
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Nancy Hamann, Owner at Scenic Cabin Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2020

Dear Alwasy0440,
We are so sorry to hear about your bad experience at Haven at the Red. We did not get these complaints during your stay and so just now saw them. We have not had previous complaints about these items from previous renters but are sending out maintenance to check flooring and the couch. Also, will discuss with housekeeping why the utensil situation is so dire, as that is so unusual. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about the location as it sits on a mountain above the Slade exit and the main problem currently with all the traffic noise is the Parkway is shut down so the traffic is routed through Slade. Once the sinkhole is fixed the highway department will open the Parkway back up and the traffic will not be routed through Slade anymore. Since most the cabins are on cliffs or mountain sides, many have narrow or tight parking areas. It is just due to the topography of the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2020

This was our first time using Scenic Cabins and we will use them again. We very much enjoyed our secluded stay. If you want rest and relaxation I highly recommend this cabin. Beds aren't that comfy but nothing you can't get past. We are very picky when it comes to cleanliness and I can definitely say this place was clean and comfortable. Smelled clean when we walked in. We decided this will be our go to cabin from now on.

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank Q444IZjenniferp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 24, 2020 via mobile

The view and the pond were beautiful. The outside of the cabin was nice and loved the huge porch. The hot tub jets were broken. The beds felt like cabin/camping beds. The washing machine was broken as well. The satellite didn’t work on the tv. Only one very small shower and a huge jacuzzi tub. We didn’t use the tub. Would maybe be open to trying another cabin by this company but, not this one.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JenHow86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 30, 2020

We checked into Peaceful Getaway, which is an adorable 2 bedroom cabin on a pond with a game room that was nicer in person than in the pictures. The master bedroom had a very comfy bed, large TV with DVD player, and antique cabinet with hangers. The upstairs bed was reportedly less comfortable, but due to AC issues we did not use that bed. Both futons were used thanks to the provided sheets, and those were good. The pool table was a huge hit with my crew, and we also enjoyed the hot tub. The owners are right next door and are very nice. They make some DVDs and games available in the cabin. Unfortunately, the AC unit experienced problems while we were there, with temps reaching up to 98 degrees, so we had to switch cabins the second night. With a properly functioning AC, I would love to return to Peaceful Getaway, though kitchen shelves or cabinets would be nice to store groceries and hooks would be nice in the bathroom.

Scenic Cabin rentals scrambled to make sure that another cabin was clean for us to move to at 9pm since we could not sleep in the super hot cabin. Ron's Big House was much larger and had a working AC so we went with it. While it sleeps 12, the beds were not very comfortable, there is only 1 TV (in the living area- none in any of the bedrooms), everything outside the living room was EXTREMELY dated (think 1970's), and there was a mouse in the kitchen. There was a bottle cap in the bathroom floor when we arrived, and neither the fridge nor freezer looked clean inside. The bumper pool table was in poor condition, as well.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Service
Thank katnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 27, 2020 via mobile

We just spent a 3 night stay in this cabin. It was fantastic. The cabin was very clean and stocked well with everything you need. The view is amazing and even though there are cabins around it felt nice and secluded. Will DEFINITELY be planning another stay. Staff very nice.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank nursenira
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews