We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveler rating
131
147
78
32
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
147
78
32
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleansausage gravy and biscuitsstay there againsmoking roomvalue for the moneydonutspleasant staydesk clerkbreakfast bargreat valuewaffle makermini fridgeabove averageback homenice breakfastgreat place to stayone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 425 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Thinking this had a great rate, and also got good reviews, how could one go wrong. Oh my my my... one could go VERY wrong here. First off, "Karryl", the clerk refused to give me the online rate, telling me to "go book it, but it'll take 15 to 20 minutes for me to get it". Now *there's* some customer service. I did book it, and got the cheap rate. Then, it's off to the room. Right off the bat, spotted a cockroach in Room #221. Back to the front desk, ask for another room. I'm given Room #135, a handicap smoking. This room was filthy, and smelled like musty towels. Back AGAIN to the front desk, where Karryl dismisses this as "well, old people stay in those rooms". Really? All handicap people are old, or are just to be dismissed? Nice.

Ask for a refund so I can just move on. Nope. Since it was booked online (which SHE forced me to do, and after 6pm), I could not get a refund. ...so, another room. This time Room #227. This room was barely passable, and only because I can't get my money back. THIS room has holes in the dirtiest carpet I've ever seen, has deep gouges in the toilet seat (who's going here, a wolverine?!?), nasty reddish streaks of mildew on EVERY wall in the bathroom, especially behind the door. The lamp next to the bed is leaning. Trying to straighten it, I notice that the socket is coming apart, exposing the wiring. Nothing like a little electrical hazard to make things nicer. Turning on the heat, it sets off the smoke alarm because the wall unit starts to give off a smell not unlike when a hair dryer sucks in and starts burning hair. Nice. Trying to watch TV to forget about some of this wonderfulness, I notice the top 1/8 of the screen is nothing but scan lines (distortion), which is completely distracting.

Now, I stay in tons of motels in the course of a year, and I'm no prima donna who requires 5 star lodging, but this place is a craphole. How the heck it's gotten so many good reviews so far is totally beyond me. I am posting photos to prove what I say, so that any owner friends can't just try to "out-review" me. Honest folks... pass right by this place. It's a dump. Now off to send Wyndham a nice email about this dump. (As if they'll care.) Next, I'm calling the Richmond, KY building dept and let them know what I've found here. Perhaps *they'll* care.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

While doing research at EKU, I stayed at this motel for six days. I intentionally chose a downscale accommodation. I did not want the distractions of pools and saunas and so forth. I only wanted a clean, quiet place to stay when I was not in the library.

Unfortunately, this was neither. Of the five days (M-F) I returned to my room from work, there had not been any maid service whatsoever on two of those. On the other three days, maid service was lacking: no coffee/soap/shampoo two of those days, and wet towels on one. I know that there were maids in this place--they began vacuuming the hallways at 8 each morning, ending a fairly quiet night (the main reason I'd stay here again: silence)--but they disappeared before coming into my room.

What didn't work in my tiny room? TV remote control, clock, air conditioner (though the thermostat seemed to work, the room got no cooler when I lowered the temperature). One of the dresser drawers was knocked off track, and the microwave was slow (it took more than one "popcorn" cycle to make popcorn).

I went in with very low expectations, and this place failed to live up to them.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jds27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

we were traveling to tennessee and had to stop for the night because of snow and this just happened to be where we pulled into off the interstate and i am glad that we did. the room was clean with a microwave, fridge and large tv. very comfy bed. front desk clerk was very nice and the breakfast was great, it included gravy and biscutis and waffles you made yourself. they even called ahead to one of there other hotels to check on the weather where we were heading. you couldnt beat the price as it was under 50.00 a night. thanks

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pawws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I was stuck in Richmond for two days when my transmission blew up on I75. The people that run this hotel could not be nicer. They watched my things while I went to the mechanic, they made good recommendations for food and drink. Now this is a budget hotel, so its no great shakes, but the room was clean and the breakfast was good. Would highly recommend for a inexpensive stay while traveling, or God forbid, you are broke down.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hector64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Friendly and helpful staff. I felt very secure at this motel. Air conditioner worked great and beds and pillows were very comfortable. No problems with TV reception. Did not experience the wireless internet. The Super Start Breakfast includes sausage gravy and biscuits. Cleanliness was good, except that a towel from a previous guest was left hanging on the shower. At check in, I was going to be charged a $10 pet fee. Informing the clerk that the internet cited $5.50, he said, "5.50 it is!". (I believe the person serving me was a manager - the reason for the quick response.) Quick service restaurants within walking distance. Some shopping nearby to pick up incidentals.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chisenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews