We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Richmond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Traveler”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Under renovation - will be great when finished
All facilities avail to make a stay comfortable. Pool, exercise, location, full breakfast, friendly staff. Carpet needs replaced and rooms refurbished to make a great motel but our stay was comfortable and would stay again and look for completed renovations. 72. Cost reasonable.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Relax629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlee16, Manager at Best Western Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review concerning your stay with us in Richmond, KY. I apologize that everything wasn't what you hoped it would be. I would like to reassure you that these issues have been looked into and will not be an issue in the future. It is our hope that you will visit this property again and give us another chance to make a great first impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    118
    53
    27
    19
See reviews for
150
123
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Located right next to the interstate. Entry to the parking lot is a breeze. Exiting the parking lot depends on traffic and can be challenging. If you are trying to get back to the interstate, you may have to turn right, go down a way, turn around in a parking lot, and come back. It sounds more inconvenient than it really is. There is a parking lot that you can turn around in very shortly down the road.

The hotel's parking lot isn't horribly tight like some hotels. People with larger vehicles (crew cabs, etc.) will probably find it easier to park close to the office, but parking farther back is doable with a minimum of "maneuvering."

The air conditioner didn't work properly. We kept turning it down before bed. Even with it set on 65, I spent the night sweating it out on top of the covers.

Cleanliness was about average. The stairwell could have definitely used a broom run over it, but it is a high traffic area. The room itself was relatively clean.

Wifi worked well at night. It had a few hiccups in the morning, but the issues were short lived. In the room that we stayed in, the wifi would be more than adequate for most business travelers. Speed test shows 6.22 Mbps down and 1.14 Mbps up.

Electrically, there are several outlets in the room, though some don't work properly and need to be replaced. Hopefully, they will catch them during the renovation.

Price was a little high for the hotel's condition, even with AAA discount. There are signs posted that state that it is going to be undergoing a major renovation in the coming months. Aside from a pile of dirt in the parking lot, I saw no evidence of current renovation, but I was basically moving between our room and the parking lot so there is a good possibility that I would have missed it.

The bathroom is in dire need of an exhaust system overhaul. The vent on the wall doesn't do much and by the time that the first person gets out of the shower, the entire room feels muggy.

The only garbage can was the one in the bathroom. That's not a major ordeal, but I found it a bit odd.

Overall, it's about average. You could definitely do better, but you could also definitely do worse. I would recommend checking the hotels on the other side of the interstate first, but don't rule this one out if you're in a bind and need a place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlee16, Manager at Best Western Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you very much for all your comments concerning this property in Richmond, KY. Feedback is always welcome as that is how we learn to do a better job for our guests.
Renovations will take care of most of those issues, and we very much hope you will return to this property after renovations are done and tell us what you think. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here in 5 rooms for a reunion and everything was great.Rooms were clean and had all we needed.the beds were a little hard but otherwise it was a great experience.we loved the hot tub after being out all day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank punkindebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlee16, Manager at Best Western Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the Best Western property in Richmond, KY.
I'm glad your family enjoyed staying at this property, and everyone felt at home there.
Please visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, KY, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The stay was ok. Some of the rooms did not smell that well. I was with my family and we came from all over to go to my nephew's graduation. The location was fine as there were a lot of restaurants and stores in the area. The bed was not that comfortable and the rooms are old. They did say they were remodeling, so I hope some of things things will be fixed soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Yolanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlee16, Manager at Best Western Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of this Best Western property in Richmond, KY. I do apologize that things were not what you have the right to expect from a Best Western property.

This property is undergoing a major renovation, and it is their hope you will come again when they have completed this process, as it is a top to bottom renovation.

Again, we do apologize, please keep this property in mind for future stays in this area, we value our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Friendly staff, nice clean room. The hotel is under renovation but it didn't bother us. Very convenient location. This is the only hotel I will stay at in Richmond. It has amenities like a microwave and refrigerator.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TopperFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlee16, Manager at Best Western Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Best Western Holiday Plaza Motel in Richmond, KY
We appreciate your response and hope we can provide excellent service for you and your family for many, many more stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I've been staying at this hotel once a year for the last 15 years traveling from South to North. Have always had a wonderful experience with the staff, hotel is very clean and breakfast has a variety of items. AAA+++

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 671deb0rahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlee16, Manager at Best Western Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your stay, we always welcome positive feedback about this property. Please come stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Basic hotel with added amenities. Free fast internet, full hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, comfy beds, clean room, in room coffee, micro &frig, Iron, hair dryer, flat screen tv, xtra pillows, and friendly staff. . The negatives are the place reeked of cigarette smoke everywhere you went. The odor DID seep into my smoke-free room a little. The pool area was nice but the water was salty for some reason. You have to get pool towels from the front desk. There was a lack of outlets in the room and the rooms were a little outdated. One of the two buildings was closed off due to lack of business. They were painting a bunch of rooms while I was there. I definitely would stay here again. I could not get all of this anywhere else for $72 per night plus tax. The smell of smoke was a big negative though so HOLD YOUR BREATH.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Antoinette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlee16, Manager at Best Western Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments on our survey, I hope you will return for future stays at this property in the Richmond, KY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 14 in Richmond
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Richmond, KY
Red Roof Inn Richmond, KY
#6 of 14 in Richmond
314 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Richmond
La Quinta Inn Richmond
#4 of 14 in Richmond
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 14 in Richmond
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Richmond Hotel

Property: Best Western Richmond Hotel
Address: 100 Eastern Byp, Exit 87-of I-75, Richmond, KY 40475-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Richmond Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western hotel is located in the historical town of Richmond, Kentucky, and is right off of Interstate 75. Our prime location puts us 0.5 Miles from Eastern Kentucky University (EKU), and 0.3 Miles from our new shopping center, which includes Cinemark Movie Theatre, great restaurants, shops and more. Besides shopping and the movies, we are also located close to many historic sites, as well as other activities such as horseback riding, water parks, or performances at EKU's Center for the Arts. Our 80 rooms hotel has two floors, and an assortment of clean, cozy room types to fit each guest needs. All rooms in our hotel are interior rooms and can only be accessed with a room key, for your convenience and safety. Also, we also provide free parking. We offer a deluxe breakfast that serves a variety of items every day such as biscuits and gravy, sausage, eggs, fresh made waffles, fresh fruit, assorted danish, bagels and creme cheese, hot and cold cereals, assorted juices, milk and coffee. Finally, our indoor pool is open from 7:00 AM to 11:00 PM daily, our hot tub/spa is also in this area, and our Fitness center opens 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing