We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Weak LaQuinta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Richmond
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Very Weak LaQuinta”
Reviewed May 15, 2006

Wow, I never thought I would need to investigate or check reviews for a La Quinta, but I wish I had read the posts before I stayed here.
When we arrived, the desk clerk was too busy eating a sandwich to help us out. Once we received our key, we discovered we would be on the 2nd floor with no elevator. The stairs are STEEP.
Since the hotel does not provide a crib, we had to bring our own. We were juggling a baby, our bags and a portable crib. The clerk just looked at us, didn't even attempt to hold a door open for us. That's just courtesy for anyone. Finally I asked to change our room to the 1st floor to avoid lugging our stuff up the stairs. The clerk was able to do this quickly.
We were given the world's DIRTIEST room. This was obviously the PARTY room with beer stains on the walls and mold on the ceiling. Since we were just passing through staying one night we dealt with it. The next morning, an older woman working at the hotel was standing outside talking to another employee, complaining, complaining, complaining about anything and everything about her job. She set up the breakfast and complained the whole time. When I was checking out she was complaining that she has to do EVERYTHING around there. She complains so much, but can't make eye contact with anyone. I bit my tongue, but almost said "SHUT UP LADY, I DON'T CARE!"

We did encounter one very friendly woman, I believe she was a maid. She stopped and chatted with us and was very friendly.

But on our way out, once again the employees just stood there watching us struggle with the baby, our luggage, the crib and the door. They could care less. They just complain the whole time they are there. If the employees hate the hotel, I can't imagine a traveler enjoying the stay. I wish I had taken photos to post.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graciediane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    141
    66
    34
    31
See reviews for
166
116
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

i stayed here on apr 28th on my way from atlanta to cincinnati. stayed in room 205 this place gets a good rating on all of the discount websites. surely no one from any of those sites has actually stayed here. if this a a two star hotel, i'd hate to see a one star. the bed was absolutely the worst bed i've ever tried to sleep on. the box springs sagged so much that if you laid down, your fet were higher than your head. even turning the mattress around didn't help. we ended up sleeping at the end of the bed with our feet up against the headboard. and if you laid near the edge, you would roll off. the only good thing i will say about this place was the bathroom appeared to be clean and the shower head and drain worked. of course you expect them to work, but given the bed, i was surprised they worked as well as they did.
as for the continental breakfast, the one banana and two dried up danish i saw didn't make for a very good appetite.
all in all, i would not recommend this place for anyone

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Herman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

I've stayed in this hotel twice, once in October 2005 and again in January 2006. I stayed there a second time because I thought I was remembering the original stay in an overly critical light. I wasn't. We often stay at LaQuintas as they're sort of like the McDonald's of the hospitality industry.... not fantastic, but generally reliable and clean. Not this one. The auxiliary doors don't lock, the rooms are filthy, with wallpaper peeling off the walls, broken heat and ventilation units, carpets water damaged and pulled away from the walls.... its not at all up the chains usual standards. The breakfast (which is SUPPOSED to be like all the other LaQuintas) is inedible, with poor quality ingredients and lackluster presentation. The staff is disinterested and often absent. I had to wait more than ten minutes for someone to appear to check us out... at 8:30 in the morning. It wasn't an extraordinary hour! I can't recommend this motel to anyone, despite its reasonable rate. If you stay there, you'll be sorry.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2006

We were just passing through but the hotel was perfectly adequate for travelers on a budget. Nice continental breakfast, high speed internet and easily reached off the interstate.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lethargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Richmond Hotel
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Richmond, KY
Red Roof Inn Richmond, KY
#6 of 14 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 14 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 14 in Richmond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Richmond

Property: La Quinta Inn Richmond
Address: 1751 Lexington Rd, Richmond, KY 40475-2803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Richmond 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laquinta Inn of Richmond is conveniently located right off I-75 at exit 90. We are 15 minutes for Lexington. Richmond has many local activities and home of Eastern Kentucky University. We are close to downtown historic district and close to shopping and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn - Richmond Hotel Richmond
La Quinta Richmond
Richmond La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing