We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the outside fool you”
Review of Sonny’s BBQ

Sonny’s BBQ
Ranked #4 of 129 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside fool you”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The outside of this place doesn't seem like much but the inside is a different story. The food is very reasonably priced and delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KyBlondeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    51
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our visit to Sonnys BBQ”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The food was great and the service was great the food was hot and was very full when we left. We eat at the one in Richmond ky. at least once a month

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“finger Licking good”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went to Sonny's yesterday. Hadn't been to a sonny in a while. Richmond is one of my favorites. The service there is great along with the food. My husband got barbecue chicken,
baked beans and fries and garlic bread. He likes the all you can eat . I got sliced pork, baked beans, and Cole slaw. they make the best slaw. Drink of choice was water.
The hostess was nice, offering drinks as he took us back. Waitress took order very quickly returning with slaw. All you can eat sometimes don't get go service but did that day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathyhstanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, KY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great barbecue”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The portions are a great size. Enough to take home leftovers. The food is great. The servers always pleasant.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JillandDavid2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Pulled Pork; Good Value”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Sonny's has the leanest pulled pork we've ever found. Their portions are good-sized and their side are delicious. I am partial to their cole slaw, but my husband likes their macaroni and cheese. The cornbread (sweet) is yummy too. We have always had good, quick service there--which makes for a quick stop when traveling through.

I just wish they'd open a Sonny's in Louisville!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REC_23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny’s BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny’s BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing