We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to Replace the Key Machine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Needs to Replace the Key Machine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. I stayed here for 3 weeks and have no complaints other than the keys to the rooms and the entrances to the hotel. Literally would have to swipe your card 10-15 times to get into your room. Even an employee with the master key couldn't get into the pool because his card wouldn't work. Other than that it's a great hotel. Just need to update the keys so their customers can get into their rooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jpaschal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Jpaschal1,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is nice to know that you had a commendable visit. Please accept my apologies however for the condition of the keys to the rooms. Your feedback will be used for upgrades needed.

We hope to have an opportunity of hosting you again in the future should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    56
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
88
47
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just needed a room for the night while travelling. Chose a king suite and was fairly impressed. Very comfortable clean room. Very quiet considering the hotel was full and the room was opposite the elevator. Was a little odd that there was a semi separate room with a pull out couch but no TV but we were just here to sleep. And a very comfortable sleep it was.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Sunday night and was very pleased with this property the rooms were clean and updated. Next time I'm passing thru this will be one of my first choices if I need to spend the night.

Didn't try to breakfast but will on my next trip.
Stayed at the Harrison Ohio location a few days before and was not impressed at all.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Billy M,
We are glad that our service and rooms were to your liking. Our staff works very hard to ensure that each room is handled with the best care. There is no higher compliment then one of a repeat guest and we are thrilled that you will return.
Sincerely,
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while attending Family Weekend at EKU University. The hotel staff were very welcoming. Our room was comfortable and very clean. The bed was very comfortable too. They serve a great breakfast buffet choice of pancakes, cereal, sausage, biscuits, egg, breads, wonderful cinnamon buns. The breakfast area is roomy. It also has a comfortable sofa and TV is you want to just get out of the room and sit in a very pleasant common area to talk with friends or other family members. Very convenient to the University. If you are visiting the University on big activity weekends it would be wise to make your reservation way ahead of time. We will stay at this hotel again for sure when in Richmond.

Room Tip: Suggest a top floor room (3rd Floor) just in case you have heavy footed guest above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nangefv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear nangefv,
Thank you for the wonderful review! Guests have many choices when choosing a hotel and we are glad that you chose ours and had a great experience. Our goal is to provide a relaxing and comfortable environment. We love being a university town as it gives us the opportunity to meet people from all areas of the country and share in their experiences! Maybe we will see you again around EKU's Homecoming.

Sincerely,
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here for about a month and a half when I first moved for work. The rooms are clean as is the hotel. The staff was very friendly and courteous, even though they didn't follow through as well as they could. For example, when I first arrived I was only booked for two weeks, but wanted to extend. The woman at the desk said she would put a note so that the staff would keep checking. When I went back a week later, they said there was no note and they had no available room for one night and then would have for the rest of the time I wanted to stay. I told them that if I left I would not return and would stay at a different hotel. Magically an hour later they had room for me to stay the duration.

Breakfast was good and the attendant was very nice.

The wifi is ok. They change the password each week, which is fine. But they also use a log in website, which makes you re-log in every 24 hours, just a slight aggravation.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Looked at my travel plans and discovered that I had to stay....somewhere....along the interstate in Kentucky, and started searching both on TA and Google Earth to find a place to stay.

The results weren't particularly encouraging. But when you find a solidly-rated property that goes out of its way to dare customers to respond back here, you take the challenge.

I'm a solid HIX guy and most of the time they've got the routine down tighter than McDonalds does hamburgers. So it's really hard to tell one good one from the next good one, but you'll certainly know when 'well, THATS not right!'. And in this case, the only, single, minor issue was that it's got the wrong address on it for Google Earth, and the signage needs help on how to get into the place. Drove right past it looking for a driveway.

Other than that, once inside, perfect execution, no issues at all. The last oasis of an excellent rating in Kentucky, perhaps. Worth the search on TA to find it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randgust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear randgust,
First off let me apologize for the difficulty you had when locating us. My assignment today is to make contact with someone at Google Earth to rectify this situation :) Secondly, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for letting us know about the incorrect address. Your feedback and comments are very important to us, and for the quality of our service and product. I hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable and that you will come see us again should you be in our area.
Sincerely,
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Was so impressed how clean the place was the room was very clean no doubt will be staying again in September for family weekend at EKU breakfast was hot and several things to choose from staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Brad M,

We are thrilled that you are impressed with our hotel. We love getting feedback from our guests because that is the only way to make ourselves even better. Our goal is to provide the type of service that keeps guests coming back and we are excited to know that you will visit us again. See you in September over Family Weekend!

Sincerely,
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Richmond Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 14 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 14 in Richmond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Richmond
La Quinta Inn Richmond
#4 of 14 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lexington - Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond
Address: 1990 Colby Taylor Dr, Richmond, KY 40475-8844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Richmond, KY. If you're looking for a place where friendly people and smiling faces are the hallmark of a city, where the blend of historic places, modern conveniences and Southern hospitality are vibrant, we welcome you to look no further and stay with us. Located off I-75 at exit 87, with 81 spacious rooms, a free 'hot' deluxe breakfat bar, wireless Internet and an indoor pool. With just a short drive to downtown enjoy the scenery of historic buildings, shopping, and dining. At Lake Reba Recreational Complex, you will find, a beautiful fishing lake, walking and running trails, playgrounds, Gibson Bay Gold Course, Adventure Falls Miniature Golf and Paradise Cove Pool. Visit Hummel Planetarium on EKU's campus for a trip to outer space! If you decide to drive around you will see places such as Ft. Boonesborough State Park, White Hall Historic Site, Valley View Ferry, and the American and Civil War Battlefield sites. At Bybee Pottery, located on HWY 52E, among the southern hills of Madison County, you can still watch pottery being made, this tradition has been going on there for 200 years. Our new Richmond Center, located across the street has stores such as, Belk, JC Penny, Hastings Entertainment, Logan's Steakhouse, Culvers, Cinemark Movies. Acres of Land Winery has delicious dining and remarkable home grown wine. Galaxy Bowling and Champions Sports bar is fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing