We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fort boonsborough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Boonesborough State Park

Fort Boonesborough State Park
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richmond,ky
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“fort boonsborough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is very interesting place to visit, you can learn early pioneer's life style and Daniel Boones. They wear historic clothe and demonstrate wood work and so on.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank yummyRichmond_ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    73
    26
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Learn about the adventures of Daniel Boone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The fort is a re-creation of the original. They moved it up the hill a little way from the actual site next to Kentucky River due to flooding concerns. It is a beautiful area and fort! With paid admission you watch an informative yet short film about Daniel Boone and the original settlers of the fort. Workers wear period costumes and demonstrate how people made their own clothes, weapons, food,soap, candles,etc. and survived off of the land all the while battling the native Indian tribes. Visit various individually decorated cabins and nicely stocked gift shop. I live nearby and always take out of town guests to see the Fort. Everyone,including children, really enjoys it. You can see everything in about an hour. You can also walk a little path through the woods (or drive) down to the State Park to enjoy some time down by the river, have a picnic, play on the playground,swim at the public pool, or play putt putt golf at the campground. Very nice park! Right across the bridge over the river, and about a mile down the road, is Hall's on the River. Its a nice little restaurant that serves great regional food for dinner at a moderate price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LWehrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“History and camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've stayed here twice camping. The last time was with our 8 year old grand daughter. She loved the Fort and we spent several hours there. She also loved the water slide at the pool.
It's a great campground for families and children. The little trail from the campground to the Fort is easy enough for kids and we enjoyed the walk. Our grand daughter even got free putt putt golf by "liking" Fort Boonesborough on Facebook via her Mother's smart phone!
Bath house and facilities are fine. Unfortunately you cannot swim in the lake due to contamination.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

There is a fee 8 for adults 5 for kids. It was a very cool place to see and visit. The gift shop was neat and bought a few things in there. Not sure we will go out of the way again to see this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorilouholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice camping trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We camped here over a weekend, and really enjoyed it. Starting with our campsite #137 I'm convinced it was one of the best sites in the park. Private and well shaded. Just have to watch for the falling walnuts, but the giant tree they come from provide wonderful shade for our pop up camper. The bathroom was just a short walk away but not too far to be inconvenient. The bathrooms were well maintained and clean. There were plenty of things to do and they had an activity list for the weekend but we did not participate. We did participate in the Christmas in July decorating and put some lights up on the camper for fun.
There was putt-putt on site but we did not play and a swimming pool which was fantastic and we did use. Fishing was a bit limited in all areas except the beach because of very steep very muddy banks. The beach was clean and had adequate room to fish, but no night fishing, the park closes at 10pm even for campers and it is patrolled.
We went to see the fort from the name fort boonesborough, and first it it is a replica of a fort not an actual fort. Also I personally thought it was an army fort but it is a settlement fort. So it is a replica of how the settlers would have possibly lived. I'm glad I went to see it, but I was a little disappointed with it. There was a movie to tell the history of the fort and then about 10 small buildings that were open to walk in and a few just to look in the door to a room set up to look like a home or something of that nature. There was a couple of people in a couple of the buildings that were there to tell what they were doing and some background history and could answer questions. About 15 others people also dressed to do that were all sitting down together in the center of the fort just talking together. Maybe it was breaktime? Anyway we were there maybe 30-45 mins. And felt like we saw it all and was ready to go.
Nearby is a "civil war fort" sign so we went to check it out. It was a trail up a very steep hill, it felt like about a mile straight up. At the top there was a cannon.
Overall I liked the campground and we had a nice time. I would go back there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Outdoorspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Boonesborough State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Boonesborough State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing