We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great state park, mediocre fort”

Fort Boonesborough State Park
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great state park, mediocre fort”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stopped by with two families of teens and small kids. Cost my family of four $25 to get into the park. Most of the exhibits were standalone in a room with only 2-3 having a person there to explain things.

We were done in under 2 hours. This is a very poor man's Colonial Williamsburg. Stick to the original.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcrane03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    76
    29
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hodgenville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Road Trip#1”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Bathrooms were clean, campsites were well taken care of.great park area.will be back soon this place even had a huge swimming pool.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmagigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Day trip with the boys”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family took 5 boys ages 10 and under to the Fort and enjoyed the knowledgeable staff and the reinactors at the various stations in the park. Jump in and ask questions of staff to get the best in depth understanding, otherwise you might miss the details of the jobs/life and times of the fort dwellers. Park was not busy and I am sure state parks can benefit from families realizing we have local treasures to be discovered in Kentucky so vacation local y'all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Calico4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Loved walking around and watching the kids marvel at how things were done in pioneer days. It was great for me as well, Wish they had the ability to make the cabins an overnight excursion after the park closed. Spending the night like a pioneer would be awesome!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritz Creek, Alaska
Level Contributor
348 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Always something new to learn”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

There is always something to learn in these recreated, interpretive villages. The amount of time you spend depends on how much information you want and how engaged you want to be. The bwoprking displays are excellent as well as the interpreters. All in all a great place to visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Boonesborough State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Boonesborough State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing