We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living history and storytelling”

Fort Boonesborough State Park
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Living history and storytelling”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place is exotic and full of inspiration. I really like the way they recreated the architectural setting of pioneers in an authentic way. At first, the Aprk staff offer a 20 minute orientation movie to provide you with an overall understanding of the hostriical context and contribution of the Fort. From there one has the opportunity to explore their gardening system of the community. You will see the vegetable grown is simlar hostirical ways and even have the chance to plant some seeds with Mr. Brooks the gardener. Not only the garden, but there are a wide variety of activities that characterize a well-organized historical community such as carpentry, forgery, leathery etc.

From my own experience, I believe that this site provides the visitor with inspiration and understanding of early development of our modern technology. This is an illustration of technology and applied design. The entire community is a living illustration of a sustainable community. While our community is concerned by the sustainability of our economic system, it is important that we often look back at previous living system to inspire ourselves with new ideas, and Fort Boonesborough is just the right place to do so.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hackbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    79
    29
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Vernon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Richmond, KY State Park”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We enjoyed ourselves here and the park is very clean and the sites are nice and large. If you want a quiet site, don't choose sites way in the back, as on the other side of the fence is a quarry, and they load asphalt trucks on Saturday mornings. It gets quite noisy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mommacatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Have been to many historic forts and wasn't sure what to expect from this one. I was very impressed with the number of costumed interepreters... it almost reminded me of Williamsburg. Nice displays in the different buildings about types of work early settlers of Kentucky did. Museum building was less impressive... too many displays and too much information made it a little overwhelming & I wasn't sure where to start. Admission price of $8 seemed a little high. Overall, a nice reconstruction and worth a stop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GozerTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good time”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

It's a pretty cool place. They usually have demonstrations in the blacksmith shop and other buildings on site. The day we went was kind of slow. It is worth a look. It won't take you long to go through it.

Helpful?
1 Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another treasure”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Ft. Boonesborough is another Kentucky treasure. The fort (although a replica) is very well maintained and the interpreters do a very good job. The rest of the park can be a little boring, with little to do other than swim, play putt putt, or walk along the river. The beach at the river is kept fairly clean, but there is no swimming. The campground at Halloween is a must see!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 4berea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Boonesborough State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Boonesborough State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing