We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty campground”
Review of Renfro Valley KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Renfro Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Renfro Valley KOA
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed in 1rom cabin with 2 teenagers. Plenty of room. Beds were surprisingly comfortable. From driving around area, seemed to be the best camp around. We stayed 3 nights and went geode hunting in the area. Lovely, very peaceful area. Everyone at the campground was friendly and helpful. Cabin had air conditioning, which I was very thankful for as it was 100 degrees in the shade while we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barb65615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Renfro Valley KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at Renfro Valley KOA again this year. As always, we had a blast! We stayed in a one room kabin . The pool is always clean and very refreshing during the heat of the day. the bathrooms were very clean and well stocked with toilet paper at all times. The Staff were always willing to help in any way they could with any requests or questions we had. We brought our own food to cook on the grill but next time we will purchase the all you can eat breakfast in the KOA Cafe for $5.00 per person. The office and store were open during the day but closed way too early at 8:00 pm. and the pool closed at this time as well. We suggest that they stay open a little later At least until 9:00 or 10:pm The playground area was nice . We have a one year old Daughter and there is absolutely NOTHING for small children to do in the play area. Over all it was a great trip and we have a blast each time we visit the Renfro Valley Ky. KOA We can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: "Choose a Kabin in the shade." The corner ones are very hot and even with air conditioner...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed at Renfro Valley KOA while our daughter played in a state soccer tournament, While others on the team thought that a hotel was the way to go, we can honestly say we chose the best option! It was very clean and the staff was super courteous. The place was packed and there was plenty of family activites to keep our children entertained (as well as my husband and I.) As a parent we felt our children were safe at all times. Being able to watch them at the Bouncing Pillow and the Playground from our cabin (while we had a nice fire going) was nice. They are pre-teens so they did not feel over burdened by parents, yet we could hear everything being said. Would defiantly stay here again and suggest to anyone looking for a nice family friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our favorite KOA. Beautiful grounds, super clean restrooms, clean kabins with portable heaters. Our only disappointment was the camp store didn't open at 8am like their brochure stated. We left at 8:50am and there was still no one there to open the store/gift shop. We would like to stay there again sometime when they make their all you can eat pancakes and maybe visit the Cumberland Falls.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chercarlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is our second year going to the KOA in Renfro Valley and both times we had a great time. Love how clean EVERYTHING is, the activies for the kids, breakfast, the pool area and the bouncing ball. Our kids had a blast and cannot wait to go back next year. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The staff is always very helpful too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Renfro Valley KOA is the cleanest campground I have ever been to. The new owners and their kids go out of their way so you have fun. Halloween was a blast! They had site decorating and many people really went all the way with this. There was pumpkin decorating, a haunted hay ride through the back wooded area, trick or treating, a barn dance with dj and snacks, and a costume contest. There was probably more but our kids and us had a blast. Obviously the bad some of the lower reviews on here were from folks that don't camp. The owners were involved in every aspect and that included leading most of the activities, and it looked to me that they were having fun too. We are going back this Halloween and will be making it a tradition. And on another subject the bath houses are the Taj Mahal of all the campgrounds we have traveled to. They are air conditioned and heated, no open windows or screens to let the bugs in like most places, and are not half way cleaned. The staff really does a good job and care about the place.
Jeremy Vicars and family
Lexington, KY

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JEREMY V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed over the weekend with my family. Got a one-room cabin for $58/night. It was HORRIBLE! The mattresses were about 3" thick over a wood base--we woke up EXTREMELY sore the next morning--even the kids! The camp doesn't provide ANYTHING--no TV, no sheets...nothing. It was just big enough to turn around in. For $58 dollars, I expected a LOT more!! The owners, especially the man, was barely friendly. Oh, and if you plan on having someone come to visit you, they charge $5.00 PER PERSON just for your visitor to come for a few hours. I will NEVER be back there again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank barbieddoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renfro Valley
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Renfro Valley Mount Vernon
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Renfro Valley
Econo Lodge Renfro Valley
#3 of 4 in Mount Vernon
24 reviews
0.9 mi away
National Heritage Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Boone Tavern Hotel
Boone Tavern Hotel
#1 of 10 in Berea
547 reviews
13.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn and Suites
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renfro Valley KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renfro Valley KOA

Address: 184 Koa Campground Rd, Renfro Valley, KY 40456-6244
Location: United States > Kentucky > Renfro Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Renfro Valley
Price Range: $25 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
Renfro Valley Koa Hotel Renfro Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing