We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town, but room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pikeville
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pikeville
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
735 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Best in town, but room for improvement”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Without a doubt, it's a pleasant surprise to have this basically nice hotel available in Pikeville. It's a nice, new highrise structure with plenty of free-parking in the garage next door. The facility overall is pleasant, comfortable and decorated nicely. Our Studio King mini-suite was spacious, and we especially like having two sinks and a sitting area. The breakfast is decent. There is certainly, however, room for improvement:

1. The heating/AC unit in our room was not properly sealed, letting in street noise and bitter winter cold. When we notified the front desk staff of this, including a person standing nearby who appeared to be maintenance staff, they seemed completely unconcerned by this.
2. Our bed was absolutely horrible, worn and warped. It was difficult to get anysleep and we both woke with sore backs - my husband's back severely cramped our final morning at this hotel! I would imagine the top reason people stay at a hotel is to SLEEP. The beds must be comfortable and of good quality, and these are not.
3. Overall, this hotel seems like a poor value. The cost of the room just is not in-line with what is delivered.

I would stay here again, in part because this is really the only Pikeville hotel I would even consider. Still, the Hampton Inn management would do well to make a few improvements to bring their rooms up to par vis-a-vis the nightly rate.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLadyRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    97
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
188
79
23
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
springfield,ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I went here to stay while visiting family. I have been here once before and everyone was very friendly. The person that checked us in was in Jeans and and too busy talking to her fellow employee to bother with us. The manager on duty seemed not caring and did not want to help us when we realized that our reservation was not correct. when I asked to speak to the gm, she said they were not there. hotel is clean and beautiful but I expected friendlier service from a snotty agm.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vos29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beattyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
162 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I spent a night in Pikeville recently and honestly, there isn't much to choose from. A motel that used to be a Super 8, a bunch of locally owned facilities of questionable quality, the Holiday Inn Express, and the new Hampton downtown. I opted for the Hampton because it was a bit cheaper than the HI Express. Typical Hampton quality -- clean comfortable rooms, nice beds, good wi-fi, excellent breakfast. Paid more than I would like but I really had no other options. The worst part about this hotel is the location and parking. It's located in the revitalized downtown section of Pikeville and has no parking of its own, but uses the free municipal garage for its parking facility. That means a long haul with your luggage from the car to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millenniumhwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter County IN
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Just returned form the Hampton Inn in Pikeville for a wedding. It is located in the downtown area within waking distance to some restaurants and bars. Not much going on in Pikeville but, we were very pleased with this hotel. It has nice furnishing throughout the whole facility. The rooms were a great size and very well maintained and clean. The pool and hot tub area is not very big but, we enjoyed using it. There is also a small outside patio off the pool with chairs for sitting in the sun. The breakfast was ok. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This is one of the nicest Hampton Inns that we have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Quite a nice surprise. Appears to be new. Large rooms. Very clean. Pleasant staff. An all-around great experience.

MY only complaint (in regards to the new floor plan) is intended for Hilton/Hampton Corp offices - the TV is placed too far across the room. I have to turn the volume way up to hear it and I am afraid I may be disturbing my neighbors.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TNSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield,ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

I stayed at this hotel while visiting family in Sidney. By far the best hotel I've stayed at in Pikeville ever! Great location, clean rooms, very friendly staff with a great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vos29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2009

This must be the best hotel in Pikeville. Very clean throughout. The room was large and the carpet looked brand new. The staff was very friendly. There was a large city parking garage where you could walk under roof and it was free. Very nice park behind the hotel. Was a little pricey at $122 with AAA discount. That is with all the taxes. The breakfast was very good with eggs, sausage, biscuits, etc.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waynesburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pikeville
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pikeville
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pikeville
19.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 5 in Prestonsburg
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Quality Inn Prestonsburg
Quality Inn Prestonsburg
#5 of 5 in Prestonsburg
45 reviews
23.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Clintwood
73 reviews
19.5 mi away
Brookshire Inn Prestonsburg
Brookshire Inn Prestonsburg
#3 of 5 in Prestonsburg
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pikeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pikeville

Property: Hampton Inn Pikeville
Address: 831 Hambley Blvd, Pikeville, KY 41501-9115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Pikeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pikeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pikeville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Pikeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pikeville Hotel Pikeville
Pikeville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing